The Savory Way: Quinoa Salad w/ Dried Fruits & Pine Nuts

So far so good on the storm front, but I’m queuing this post up a day ahead of time, so we’ll see. I have to admit–so glad not to be on the coastline, my thoughts go out to anyone on the seaboard–this storm is terrifying. My biggest concern: all of the summer vegetables I froze. I swear, if it doesn’t get cold enough to preserve them outside, I’ll be more than upset. All that work and love…just to potentially lose it. Fingers and toes crossed that the power stays.

This second-to-last Vegan MoFo post comes courtesy of Deborah Madison’s The Savory Way. Originally published in 1990, The Savory Way is a fantastic vegetarian cookbook that focuses on the simpler (yet flavorful) ways of preparing vegetables, legumes, and grains. My copy lacks illustrations which is great because it focuses solely on the recipes–all 400 pages of them–and I’m once again ashamed to admit that I’ve rarely cooked from it.

Plenty of recipes are on my to-make list–a simple yet fantastic looking Mushrooms on Toast, Olive Bread, Fig and Rocket Salad, Winter Squash Soup with Cinnamon, Cloves, and Mint, Twisted Noodles with Olive Sauce, Red Cabbage Braised in Red Wine, Celery Root Gratin, Spiced Peaces in Syrup–the list goes on and on.

When I was in Atlanta, I spent the evening with my brother’s family in the ‘burbs and cooked up a quick family meal featuring this quinoa salad. Always a bit tricky, trying to figure out what a 4 and and 2 year old will eat, but, thankfully, this salad passed everyone’s palate and was a home run. (I’m seriously thrilled that those kids will eat qunioa–how cool is that?!) A simple salad with a mix of quinoa, apricots, currants, chives, and pine nuts tossed in a lemon spiced vinaigrette, it’s an easy side dish to serve with any protein or casserole. Though I rarely cook with dried fruits, I’m a convert after this salad and I think I’ll need to start experimenting more with apricots–I loved the bright sweetness they added to the dish. While we enjoyed the salad warm, it would be fantastic at room temperature as well, and you can even make it fat free by replacing the oil with a bit of water.

Once again, I’m glad that this MoFo theme forced me to crack open this book (which I bought over 2 years ago at Kitchen Witch in New Orleans). Madison’s take on vegetables and fruit–how to seasonally and freshly prepare them–is a great resource for the beginner and the more experience cook. The recipes are also a great reminder that sometimes the best dishes are the simple ones and that the ingredients themselves should be the star, not the technique or the oddness of the combination. I think The Savory Way is Madison’s first cookbook, so I can’t wait to check out others to see how her ideas changed over the years, but I’d also put money down that they haven’t changed all that much because it seems like something good is going on in this first book.

Again, much love to everyone out on the coast and, assuming all fares well here, I’ll be back for the final post of Vegan MoFo 2012 tomorrow! Twenty-one posts and counting–I think that’s a record for me!

Quinoa Salad with Dried Fruits & Pine Nuts

From The Savory Way

For the Quinoa:
1 c quinoa
2 c water
salt
6 dried apricots, finely diced
2 tbsp snipped chives
1/4 c dried currants, softened in hot water & squeezed dry
3 tbsp finely diced yellow bell pepper
3 tbsp pine nuts

For the Vinaigrette:
Grated zest of 1 lemon
1 tbsp lemon juice
2 tsp chopped parsley
1/4 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp ground cumin
1/4 tsp ground coriander
salt
4 tbsp olive oil

Rinse the quinoa thoroughly in a bowl of cold water, then pour into a fine-meshed strainer and rinse again under running tap water. Bring the water to a boil, add salt to taste (about 1/4 tsp), and stir in the quinoa. Lower the heat to a low simmer, cover the pot, and cook for 15 minutes. Taste the grain–there should be just a little resistance and the opaque spiraled ring of germ should show. If necessary, continue cooking until done, then pour into a strainer and set it to drain over a bowl. Save the liquid, which can replace the oil in the dressing if you prefer.)

While the quinoa is cooking, cut the apricots and vegetables, keeping everything as fine and even as possible. Toast the pine nuts in a dry pan over medium-low eat until they are golden brown.

To make the vinaigrette, combine the lemon zest, juice, spices, herbs, and salt together in a bowl. Stir to combine, then whisk in the olive oil. Taste and adjust the balance of the flavors, adding more lemon juice if necessary.

To compose the salad, toss the warm quinoa with the fruits, vegetables, pine nuts, and dressing.

Serves 6


On This Day in Posts of MoFos Past:
2008: Perfect Split Pea Soup
2010: Mad Mex–Pittsburgh

Comments
6 Responses to “The Savory Way: Quinoa Salad w/ Dried Fruits & Pine Nuts”
  1. Becky says:

    Yum! I love a quinoa salad.

  2. FoodFeud says:

    I hope you guys made it through alright! For yr sake and the vegetables. I never eat nearly enough quinoa. It’s especially great like this as a side dish with dressing.

  3. eileen says:

    I hope you guys are doing ok-post storm! It does seem like inland areas are doing relatively well, considering. The Savory Way is one of my favorite cookbooks, but I don’t think I’ve ever made this particular salad–must try. 🙂

  4. I hope your power stayed on, hearing about this storm is horrible 😦

    And what a lovely looking salad! It’s not something that I’d ever have thought to make but it looks too good to pass up.

    Also, thanks for the lovely comments on my last post! 😀 I love your posts as well!

  5. Renae says:

    It looks so festive – looks like a great salad to brighten up drab winter dishes!

    I’m glad the storm didn’t hit you too badly and you didn’t lose any of those vegetables – I’d have been devastated in your place as well.

  6. Monica says:

    Well now… you know this is right up my alley. I have persimmons I need to use up and I think they have found their destiny.

Leave a Reply

