The Craft of the Cocktail: Stone Fence

At my office we honor beer o’ clock–the magical 4 pm hour when we tromp the fridge in the back of the office and pull out a cool one, a craft beer of our own, to sip until we head home for the weekend. I don’t work at Facebook or Zynga or some cool tech start-up, just at a little executive search firm with a boss who knows when to chill out and have a good time. I’m pretty lucky, no?

But this isn’t to rub it in, I swear. Even if you don’t have the privilege of a 4 o’ clock drink, let me at least tantalize you with the option of a 5 o’clock drink–after all, it’s Friday and we all need a good time!

Today’s recipe book is one for cocktails–one of the most respected books in the market right now–The Craft of the Cocktail by Dale DeGroff. It’s sleek, it’s rather pictureless, and it has a horrible index that doesn’t index ingredients (how the hell do you find a new cocktail to try without an index of ingredients?!), but as far as the recipes go, it’s golden. One of my favorite restaurants here, Lucky, uses it to base their cocktails off it and I’m really glad I took their recommendation and bought it–I’ve yet to make a bad cocktail from it.

Inspired by a quart of local cider I picked up at the Whole Foods in Richmond and in love with the cider cocktail I drank at Pasture, I knew I wanted to play around with cider as the ultimate cocktail ingredient. But where to start? I didn’t want mulled cider or some other cider punch; I wanted something classy and crisp, hopefully with whiskey involved. I wanted the taste of swirling leaves and mountain air. In a glass. You know, nothing tough about that.

Thankfully, The Craft of the Cocktail, pulled through for me. The Stone Fence is a classic of a cocktail. Dating back to the 1700s, this utterly American drink combined the very available apple cider with liquor of choice–sometimes rum, sometimes whiskey. Though the original probably combined hard cider (they byproduct of bazillions of wild apples that didn’t taste so swell until fermented) and an additional liquor, The Craft’s calls for fresh apple cider (the other boozier alternative might be a bit much for me anyways). Combining bourbon, cider, lemon juice, and a dash of simple syrup, the cocktail couldn’t be any simpler or, frankly, more delicious. It’s chill and crisp with a bit of warmth from the bourbon, a bright zing from the lemon, and it’s neither too sweet nor too tart–just toes the line between both. It’s autumn in a glass. The recipe called for a bourbon cherry garnish in addition to the apple, but I forgot it–I’m sure it’d be delicious with that as well. It doesn’t feel like any less of a drink without the cherry though–and, happily for me, it’s almost dead-on for Pasture’s drink. Awesome!

While I can’t bring in a jug of these cocktails to work (or can I…hmmmm….), it is the perfect drink to sip on a warm fall evening. America, you did us right by inventing this cocktail, and DeGroff, your version is red-white-and-blue blooded enough for me.

Stone Fence

From The Craft of the Cocktail

2 oz bourbon (I used Eagle Rare 10)
5 oz fresh apple cider)
1/2 oz fresh lemon juice
3 dashes of simple syrup, optional
Apple slice, for garnish
Bourbon cherry, for garnish (I forgot that one)

Build in a tumbler with ice. Garnish with an apple slice and bourbon cherry.


On This Day in MoFos Past:
2009: Gluten-Free Buckwheat Crepes & Cinnamon Spice Apples
2010: I Love ATL, Part I
2011: Pumpkin Cornbread

Comments
5 Responses to “The Craft of the Cocktail: Stone Fence”
  1. Yes, you totally should bring it to work. I’m sure you coworkers wouldn’t mind at all…. hint, hint.

  2. It’s apple cider season! Yay! 🙂 Cider and bourbon has to be one of the best drink combinations of all time. I really like the extra punch of lemon juice here!

  3. FoodFeud says:

    You KNOW I would be all over that beer o’ clock. Loving this recipe too! I will definitely try to make it soon. Did you see Jess Scone’s fall cocktail today? Cinnamon tincture! Fall flavors really lend themselves so well to booooooze and I am happy about that.

  4. lazysmurf says:

    I keep seeing beautiful cocktails like this now that it’s fall and I want them all. This one sounds perfect and that book sounds great.

  5. Mandee says:

    I am a fan of cocktails because I don’t drink beer/wine/champagne and I love that this is apple based, it looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

