Vegan Mofo 2012 – The Ultimate Cookbook Challenge

Happy Vegan MoFo 2012 you guys!  Can you believe it’s my 5th MoFo?  Time really flies.  Faster than it should. MoFo, to me, is a special time of the year–one in which we, as vegan (or sometimes vegan) bloggers come together and cheer each other on to celebrate vegan meals one day at a time. It’s a ruthless month–posting every weekday for an entire month is exhausting–but it’s also rewarding. I love meeting new bloggers, finding out about dishes I’d never dreamed existed, and learning the ways we all approach ingredients and cooking. This looks like it’s going to be a huge MoFo numbers-wise, so I’m thrilled to get started and join the awesome vegan mass!

(A quick word for new visitors–please read this post from 2010’s MoFo which explains my blogging philosophy and why, during other months, you’ll find non-vegan restaurant reviews on this site.)

So, MoFo 2012–what’s my plan? To cook through the stacks of cookbooks and zines accumulating on my shelves. I love cookbooks, I collect the dickens out of them. But do I remember to actually use them? Rarely. I have gems like Marcus Samuelsson’s Soul of a New Cuisine and Olive Trees and Honey to standards like Veganomicon and My Sweet Vegan. Soy Not Oi, Swell’s zine, and Leigh’s first zine, Down Yonder, also grace the collection. It’s a mishmash of international and American flavors, vegan and decidedly not vegan–but all with something to offer for the vegan palate. I’m excited to work my way through them & try out recipes I’ve never made before, figure out what’s actually lurking in the gorgeous books’ pages.

I’ll also post vegan restaurant reviews and a bit on the garden here and there.

Again, happy first day of MoFo ya’ll & I can’t wait to get this party started! Check back tomorrow for a look at the vegan cookbook that probably got a lot of us started–Vegan with a Vengeance!


On This Day in MoFos Past:
2008:Cashew Butter Cookies
2009: Vegan MoFo 2009
2010: The Compassionate Choice
2011: Vegan MoFo, My Fourth?!

Comments
11 Responses to “Vegan Mofo 2012 – The Ultimate Cookbook Challenge”
  1. Nice theme! I am tackling bookmarked recipes… from blogs and cookbooks. I love that we have similar cookbooks, though, and hope you find some winning recipes for me to bookmark. 😉 I really should cook out of Olive Trees and Honey more.. I really like the Ethiopian split pea puree!

  2. Caitlin says:

    yay! so excited to see your posts for mofo. i’ve been cooking a lot from veganomicon lately. it’ll be good to see recipes from other cookbooks as well 😉

  3. Lindsay says:

    I’m also not a full-time vegan but I like eating vegan and am blogging vegan for October and Vegan MoFo. I’m glad I found you — we seem to have similar cookbook tastes. I am so happy for the nudge to cook from my cookbooks I love so much 🙂

  4. Happy Vegan MoFo 2012 to you too, Jes! It’s hard work, but it’s a lot of fun too! 🙂

  5. Renae says:

    I’m the same way: own tons of cookbooks, hardly ever use them. Looking forward to being inspired to crack them open!

  6. FoodFeud says:

    You make such incredible stuff on yr own, it makes sense that you don’t NEED to cook from the cookbooks, but it can be fun and inspirational.
    I love that you have cooking zines as well as full books! I’m a total zine fanatic.

  7. I love your cute corner shelf! Looking forward to your mofo-ing.

  8. celine says:

    Looking forward to reading your MoFoing, Jes! I love the look of your site.

  9. Hi hi hi!! I was so happy to see your comment pop up, I haven’t visited in so long 😀

    This is such a good theme – can’t wait!

  10. Sihi says:

    How awesome, its your 5th VeganMoFo! What a lovely theme. This is my first Vegan MoFo and I am quite undecided on what theme to go with each week. Went through your recipes and you do such an awesome job at it. Loving your blog.

    Best,
    Sihi

Leave a Reply

