Baked Eggplant Parmesan

I pulled the eggplants from the garden today–so sad to yank their roots when violet flowers are still blooming. The poor little plants sure wanted to keep growing, but with the cooler weather and with my fall seedlings needing a home, it was just time.

The okra met its maker too.

In honor of the end of eggplant season (oh, don’t worry, I’ve got eggplants to use up in future MoFo recipes!), I cooked up a little Baked Eggplant Parmesan. Strange twist, I only had half the bread crumbs I needed so I used half panko, half unsweetened coconut flakes. It totally worked. In that weird slightly coconut-y way (definitely recommend using all panko if you make the recipe).

It’s a simple end of summer dish–that trust tomato sauce I can every few weeks, fresh eggplant, a cashew cream instead of mozzarella, and a dash of basil to garnish. Compared to all the authentic recipes, this one is light but still filling and takes half the time. No frying and then baking–just baking, stacking, and enjoying–perfect with a deep pinot noir!

Baked Eggplant Parmesan

1 large eggplant, peeled & sliced into 1/2″ thick rounds
2 c panko bread crumbs
1/4 c almond milk (or non-dairy milk of choice)
1/4 tsp black pepper
Salt

1 c cashews, soaked overnight and drained
1/4 c nutritional yeast
1/2 tsp salt
Almond milk, as needed

1 pint tomato sauce of choice (I used this recipe)

Place the eggplant rounds on a cooling rack over a plate or baking tray. Sprinkle liberally with salt on both sides. Let sit 30 minutes. (This draws out the water from the eggplant and makes it not turn to mush when you cook with it.)

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees Fahrenheit. Place parchment paper or silpat in a baking tray.

Rinse the eggplant slices and pat dry with a towel. Place the almond milk in a dish and the panko in another dish/pie tin. Mix 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp black pepper into the panko.

Using one hand, dip each eggplant slice into the almond milk and coat all sides. Using the other dry hand, place the coated eggplant in the panko and cover completely with panko. Place on the prepared baking tray. Repeat with all eggplant slices.

Bake for 15 minutes, flip, and bake for another 7-10 minutes, until golden brown. Once browned, remove from oven.

Meanwhile, prepare the cashew sauce by combine the soaked cashews, nutritional yeast, salt, and a dash of almond milk in a blender/food processor. Blend until smooth. Add as much almond milk as needed to achieve the right consistency. Adjust salt and nutritional yeast to taste.

Serve with tomato sauce of choice and garnish with fresh herbs.

Serves 4

Comments
7 Responses to “Baked Eggplant Parmesan”
  1. Renae says:

    You make the prettiest layered meals! Eggplant parmesan was the first thing I learned to cook and was my specialty until I became vegan (it was really the only thing I knew how to cook before I went vegan) and I haven’t had it in sooooo long. This looks so much more appetizing than the gooey mess I used to make; I can’t wait to try it.

  2. AJG says:

    Your eggplant parmesan looks amazing!

  3. FoodFeud says:

    It looks fantastic! my friend and I tried to make something like this the other night, just sort of winging it with no recipe…haha it tasted okay but yrs looks so much nicer.

  4. poor okra : (

    Eggplant – or aubergine in the UK – is one of the best veg I think, if you get it right that is..which I’m sure you did. Really nice idea, like de-compartmentalised parmigiana.

  5. That crust looks so crispy and perfect! I definitely need to get my hands on some eggplant so I can bust out a pan of this soon. 🙂

  6. Ooh yum! I always like trying eggplant parmesan recipes and I really like the idea of adding nooch to cashew cream/cheese!

  7. annierie says:

    I have to try this recipe. Have all but the cashews. It looks interesting to make it vegan.

    Between this and Rebecca’s ajvar (from Eating Floyd), my SSFC sisters have given me new goodies to make.

Leave a Reply

