Enchiladas Verde with Cashew Crema

Magically, it’s been a few posts since I wrote about zucchini. I can sense the questions–did they eat it all, did the plant finally die–and, no, unfortunately neither is the case. There’s still about twenty pounds of zucchini hanging around our kitchen and more popping on the plants. Again, I reiterate: if there are only two of you eating said zucchini, DO NOT plant more than one seedling. Or rip out all but one. For all things good in this world, you don’t need more than one zucchini plant to feed two people!

Enchiladas, however, are a perfect way to use up zucchini and highlight other seasonal produce. With tomatillos now popping up at the farmers markets around town, salsa verde is begging to be made, and nothing is more authentic than corn, tomato, and zucchini enchiladas. While not the most photogenic, these enchiladas verde pack a zingy punch with the sauce and the cashew crema is a perfect, cooling drizzle (you wouldn’t be able to tell that it’s vegan from tasting it, it’s somehow a dead ringer for dairy-laden crema). Composed of almost 100% local ingredients, it’s a satisfying summer dinner and it’s perfect for eating outside with a fresh squeezed lime margarita or two. Ole!

Enchiladas Verde with Cashew Crema

Adapted from Food & Wine

For the Cashew Crema:
1 c raw cashews
2 tbsp fresh lime juice
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
1 tsp hot smoked paprika
1/2 tsp salt

For the Sauce:
2 lb fresh tomatillos, husked and quartered
1 medium red onion, coarsely chopped
2 garlic cloves, chopped
1 jalapeño, seeded and coarsely chopped
2 c vegetable stock
1/2 cup chopped parsley
Salt & pepper

For the Enchiladas:
1 medium zucchini, chopped into 1/2″ pieces
2 ears of corn, shucked with the corn cut off the cob
1/2 pint cherry tomatoes
12 corn tortillas
Olive oil
Salt & pepper

On the morning of the day you decide to make the enchiladas, place the cashews in a non-reactive bowl and cover with water two inches above the cashews. Place in the fridge for 8+ hours.

When you are ready to make the enchiladas, start with the crema. Drain the water from the cashews and place in a blender/food processor with the remaining cream ingredients. Blend until creamy. Pour into a non-reactive bowl and set aside.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

Place the zucchini, corn, and tomatoes in a large bowl and drizzle with 1-2 tsp olive oil. Add a pinch of salt and pepper and toss to coat with the olive oil. Spread the vegetables in an even layer on a baking sheet (or two) and roast for 10-15 minutes until the zucchini has softened and the corn is beginning to brown. Remove and set aside.

While the vegetables are roasting, make the sauce. Place the tomatillos, onion, garlic, jalapeno, and vegetable broth in a sauce pot and bring to a boil. Lower to a simmer and cook until tender, ~15 minutes. Transfer to a food processor/blender, add the parsley and a pinch of salt and pepper, and process until smooth. Set aside.

Now that all of your components are ready, assemble the enchiladas. Wrap the corn tortillas in a dampened paper towel and microwave 45 seconds. This steams the tortillas and makes them pliable. Pour 1/3 of the sauce into a 9×13 baking dish. Fill each tortilla with ~1/4 c of the vegetable mixture, roll up, and place, seam side down, in the baking dish. Once filled, pour the remaining sauce on top of the enchiladas. Cover with foil and bake 25 minutes, until heated through.

Remove the baked enchiladas from the oven and discard the foil. Pour the cashew crema on top of the enchiladas and serve.

Serves 4-6

Comments
15 Responses to “Enchiladas Verde with Cashew Crema”
  1. FoodFeud says:

    Wow! This looks and sounds so lovely. I bet the lime juice in the crema was a perfect complement. I can only wish I were overrun with zucchini 🙂 Also, tomatillos are so fun to work with – I only did for the first time this past summer!

  2. Oh wooow! Your enchiladas look scrumptious!

  3. adam keen says:

    hey we just made this too – but with tofu as the stuffing! You’re right to call them ‘zingy’. That’s exactly how I would describe them with the tomatillo sauce! Fantastic. When we were living in Vancouver tomatillos were plentiful, now you know we have to travel about 2 hrs round trip to get fresh ones! Can you believe that? So I puree and freeze them, which is not quite the same but go figure..

  4. what a truly amazing meal! i love that cashew cream!

  5. eileen says:

    ENCHILADAS! What do you mean, those aren’t photogenic? That salsa looks amazing–I really need to get my hands on some tomatillos soon. 🙂

  6. Oh yum! These sound delicious!

  7. Jessica says:

    What a great use of zucchini! I learned that same lesson last year and only planted one seedling this year….we were still drowning in it most of this summer with just the one plant.

  8. Mel says:

    Great advice about the zucchini plants, I haven’t had the guts to plant any since being totally overwhelmed by them a few year back. Your enchiladas look delicious, I’m fairly new to tomatillos as they are hard to come by over here but I have enjoyed them in a sauce like this paired with cashew cream!

  9. jessy says:

    oooh, these look awesome, Jes! never thought to add hot smoked paprika to cashew cream before – brilliant and tasty, indeed!

  10. adriennefriend says:

    Thank you so much for the idea and recipe. My fridge is packed with summer produce that I seem to be using in the same old ways. Enchiladas would never come to mind… without this post!

  11. ohhhhhh god, this looks so amazing, I want to eat this right now…… also, I know, I know – the whole point of this post is a warning not to overplant zucchinis – but I’m kinda enamoured with the idea of tons of produce nonetheless! Paired with corn & cashews, it could never be a bad thing.

  12. I never, and I mean never cook Mexican foods or flavors for myself. It’s just not my natural palate of flavors… But this? I’m breaking out of my normal approach and definitely making it asap. It looks absolutely incredible- I have a feeling I could just eat that cashew crema as a dip with veggies, or let’s be honest, on a spoon. Craving it already!

  13. Amazing! Mexican food is definitively my favorite and your enchiladas will be my dinner today!

  14. chow vegan says:

    I wish I was over run with zucchini. 🙂 Those enchiladas look amazing!

  15. Oh YUM! I love zucchini and still wish I lived close by. I would load up and take some off your hands. Your enchiladas look fantastic,

Leave a Reply

