Roasted Red Pepper Burgers

Given that my newest issue of Garden & Gun arrived in the mail yesterday, you can assume that I’d rather be drinking a gin & tonic and flipping through the pages than be responsible and write a blog post, but, hey, I’ll be a consistent blogger if it kills me. (I hope it doesn’t kill me…that’d be one of the strangest causes of death yet…) All joking aside, anyone else fans of Garden & Gun? I swear, it’s the silliest named magazine, but there’s something so incredibly awesome about a magazine that focuses on the best chefs, artists, and cultural figures in the modern South. Makes me miss Atlanta all the more…

Summer definitely feels different this year, now two summers out of grad school and three summers away from Atlanta, but some things never change. One of those things is the quest for a fantastic veggie burger. I have fond memories of making Anarchy Burgers with my friend K, toting the burgers and a George Foreman Grill on my bike to the anarchist/artist collective to watch films during the summer; hanging out on porches, eating my latest trial and drinking beer. Veggie burgers are a definite reminder of where I came from and what I love, and although I’ve moved and now eat meat, I wouldn’t dare try to get by without a new vegan burger recipe to try.

I’m not going to lie and say this one is hands-down the best vegetable burger ever, but it is pretty darn close. Loaded with roasted red peppers, olives, and mid-east spices, it conjures up a little bit of an adventure when you’re grilling or dining al fresco. (Though if you want to grill these, I’d recommend an oiled grill basket.) I cut to the chase and used store bought roasted red peppers and I’d recommend buying pre-pitted olives, so they’re definitely easy to throw together at a moments notice–easy to freeze and use up in the future too. Love me some veggie burgers for lunch!

Roasted Red Pepper Burgers

1 15 oz can chickpeas, rinsed & drained
2 roasted red peppers, 1 whole and 1 chopped
1/4 c olives, chopped
1/4 c parsley, chopped
1 c cooked cooked millet
1/2 tsp cumin
1 tsp sumac
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp aleppo pepper
1 tsp salt
non-dairy milk as necessary

Place the chickpeas and 1 red pepper in the food processor and pulse until grainy. Pour into a large mixing bowl and add the remaining chopped pepper, olives, parsley, millet, and spices. Mix to combine. Add non-dairy milk as necessary to form into patties.

Measure out 1/3 cup of the mixture and form into a patty. Wrap in saran wrap and set aside. Repeat with the rest. Place in a ziploc bag and freeze until ready to use.

Cook on a George Foreman Grill or in an oiled grill basket on the grill.

Makes 10

Comments
6 Responses to “Roasted Red Pepper Burgers”
  1. my oh my those look delicious! such vibrant colors!

  2. FoodFeud says:

    Haha, I hope it doesn’t kill you either – you’ve been making some incredible stuff lately and this is no difference. I Loooove roasted red pepper – never would have thought to make a burger out of them. How fragile are the burgers? I don’t have a grill – would they hold together flipping in a pan?

    • Jes says:

      I think they’d do great in a pan–especially a cast iron one that’s lightly oiled. Just be sure to cook until seared on one side and then flip to finish the other. You might have to be a little gentle with it, but they should do fine. You could always bake them too!

  3. chow vegan says:

    Never heard of Garden & Gun before, I wasn’t sure what kind of magazine that was with a title like that, but I do like looking at cultural magazines. 🙂 Then I was totally distracted by the awesome looking burger!

  4. eileen says:

    This combination of ingredients sounds like an ideal veggie burger! Now to get over the “I actually don’t own a food processor” hump–it’s a good thing we have decent knives. 🙂

  5. adam keen says:

    It’s funny how the roasted pepper binds the mix. I’ve been doing a recipe similar to this for years from an English book from the cookery schools “Leiths”. Well worth a tea if you can get your hands on it. In the meantime, I’m going to try your version on these few days of summer we get here in London, UK.

Leave a Reply

