Strawberry Champagne Vinaigrette

I seem to always forget how wonderful strawberry season is (and I’m now terrified to lose it) and, for the time being, we’re enjoying drowning in strawberries right now. We both snack on them by the handful, I’ve been throwing them in salads for days now, the Balsamic Chipotle Roasted Strawberry Brownies were rockin’ under scoops of ice cream (we had mint on hand which, surprisingly, tasted really good with the brownies), but I knew I wanted to try something new (for me!) which didn’t involve baking.

Last night, staring at a fridge mostly cleaned out of leftovers and a freezer full of gluten-based things we had previously stocked up on (which I eat for lunches and such every now and then–hey that tortellini from Sam’s Club is really good, don’t judge me!), I landed on a pack of frozen Sweet Potato & Black Bean Burgers. (They probably have bread crumbs in them, but, since G isn’t celiac, there’s sometimes only so much you can do before you say, screw it, there’s some gluten in it.) A quick run down the hill to the co-op for buns and a tomato and we were in thrown-together-dinner-business!

But the strawberries, I digress. You have to eat something with a veggie burger. I mean, people can’t live on veggie burgers alone (though heaven knows I’ve tried over the years). So I threw together a quick market salad with an Asian greens mix from Betty over at Catawba Meadow Farm, some radishes from a new farm whose name I’ve forgotten, strawberries, and a simple strawberry & champagne vinegar dressing. The champagne vinegar hails from Oil & Vinegar in Charlottesville (a gift from a thoughtful friend) and it’s so light and fresh and bright, I just had to pair it with Thistle Dew Farm’s fresh strawberries (which were huge and luscious this week, mmm!). With just the strawberries, vinegar, and a neutral oil (safflower), it feels like I’m cheating to list it as a recipe. But you need to make it ASAP if you have fresh strawberries around–it brightens up every salad I’ve had since making it and makes the old side salad a centerpiece!

Strawberry Champagne Vinaigrette

1/4 pint fresh, local, ripe strawberries
1/4 c champagne vinegar
3/4 c safflower oil

Place the strawberries in a blender and process until liquefied. Add the champagne vinegar and oil and blend until emulsified.

Makes 1.5 cups

Comments
6 Responses to “Strawberry Champagne Vinaigrette”
  1. monica says:

    I too need something with a veggie burger – and fries don’t really count. I usually go for cole slaw but this salad looks so fresh and delicious. That vinegar has such an amazing colour! I’m thinking maybe a few poppy seeds on there wouldn’t hurt? Gosh. Now I want a veggie burger.

  2. eileen says:

    Oh man–I don’t know if I can summon the willpower to put our beautiful new season strawberries in the blender! Maybe I should give it a couple weeks, until we get used to the bounty. I also think the poppyseed addition sounds wonderful.

  3. The strawberries haven’t quite reached us yet, so I’m terribly jealous. Probably another 2 – 3 weeks still… Although with all the warm weather we had early on, I’m hoping for sooner!

  4. Ellen Johnson says:

    Will Olive oil work? I can’t do safflower oil. Looks yummy

Leave a Reply

