Fermentation Workshop

A few weeks ago, a group of us gathered to discuss and try out different fermentation techniques. The class was led by my friend R and the topics ranged from kombucha to sourdough to kimchi and sauerkraut–more than enough ideas to bounce around when you’re just getting started. Although I knew a little about fermenting, I came away with an entirely new understanding and urge to start fermenting. And, to boot, I just tried our take-home krautchi (kimchi-esque sauerkraut) that was fermented sans caesin (thus, vegan!) and it’s the bomb! It’s in my fridge and ready to be spooned out a minute’s notice. Love it. Many thanks to R for teaching us! My copies of Wild Fermentation and Nourishing Traditions just arrived in the mail–I’m super ready to get my fermentation on now.

















Comments
11 Responses to “Fermentation Workshop”
  1. eileen says:

    Excitement!! Is that second picture a vinegar mother, or maybe a kombucha one? And check out the huge vat of proto-kraut! Yes, internet fermentation party is definitely a go!

  2. FoodFeud says:

    Yah, wow, what a huge tub of kraut!! Radishes are so good in sauerkraut. Looks like a ton of fun. Um, except for maybe that slimy skin off the top of the kombucha. Eeeee! But I bet it’ll be worth it.

  3. mskristiina says:

    This sounds amazing! I would love to take a class. I used to make my own kombucha that came out great but my saurkraut was a disaster by the looks of your pictures I missed a step or two.

  4. That looks like so much fun! The only time I’ve attempted fermentation is with beer brewing, and it came out pretty well. I’ve been meaning to attempt sourdough bread forever. You’re so lucky to learn about all of this in a group setting, and to take home some tasty things! Keep us updated on your fermentation adventures. 🙂

  5. India-leigh says:

    if I could teleport..oh, and turn back time – and have known it was going on….I’d have so been there. If you’d of have me of course! Fun..bottled! I’ve added those books to my list. THanks for such an inspiring post.

  6. chow vegan says:

    What a fun class! Wish there was something like that around here. I tried going to a canning class once only to find out it was canceled when I got there. 😦

  7. How fun! There’s a fermentation workshop offered in Chapel Hill fairly often, but it never seems to work with my schedule. I make a lot of sauerkraut, and have many things tagged in Wild Fermentation that I’d like to make. My husband is a little bit freaked out by fermented foods, though – he accidentally swallowed a small glob of scoby when he tried kombucha a year or two ago, and his inner drama queen has made it out to be the most traumatic event of his adulthood.

  8. Renae says:

    Now that is my type of workshop! I’d love to go to something like that. You have fun friends!

  9. Monica says:

    Man I would have so loved to go to this, if only for my love of sauerkraut. I’ve been meaning to pick up Wild Fermentation for a while now… but I am on cooking project overload at the moment. Which reminds me – it’s time to start sprouting chilli seeds!

  10. I meant to add that I also have a few recipes bookmarked in Rawsomely Vegan – they aren’t nearly as long and drawn out as Sandor’s recipes in Wild Fermentation. Which means that my husband may not figure out what I’m up to if things are out on the counter for weeks on end!

  11. Helen says:

    Wow — I am so terribly jealous of this experience! Fermenting scares me a little, but it’s something I so want to learn how to do. What great pics too — I love shots of people in action making food.

Leave a Reply

