Monday Archive: Roasted Parsnip Hummus

There are a lot of cool perks about my job–a low key office that’s very un-PC (in all the best ways), beer o’clock on Friday afternoon at 4, the fact that no one cared how I found all the extra monitors and set them up in my cube–but one of the newest awesome things is the office puppy: Ash.

Dear world, meet Ash, my boss’ wee little Pudelpointer puppy. He’s going to grow big and hunt one day, but for now he’s mostly interested in shredding cardboard, untying my shoes, and snuggling into your lap if you sit on the floor. He’s pretty much the best. And the fact that he’s going to have a beard/mustache when he’s grown only seals the deal.

Oh, and he’s obsessed with our personal heaters. He’s been known to find a hoodie or something he’s allowed to nest in and drag said soft item in front of the heater and then pass out. Seriously a puppy after my own heart. And I really wish I could do what he does, but then I guess I wouldn’t get paid. Oh the trade offs.

Office puppy aside, but work related, I mentioned briefly that G & I are trying to be mostly gluten-free these days (gastro-intestinal issues, probably bacteria related, but we’ll see), so some of our favorite go-to fillers for meals are limited (I just don’t have it in me to make a fresh loaf of gluten-free bread every week, or gluten-free buns, or even buy pasta all that often). With fewer carb-laden meals, it’s definitely good for the waistline, but occasionally we want a snack. And what makes a better gluten-free snack than hummus with some gluten free crackers or fresh veggies?

During 2010’s MoFo, I cooked up a batch of roasted parsnip hummus and, in the melee that was Thanksgiving, I was glad for it’s easy, simple, and healthy fix. The same holds true this time–the sweet, nutty flavor of the roasted parsnips pairs perfectly with chickpeas, and with a few other ingredients, the entire dip shines with fresh, winter-inspired flavor. Delicious without being too heavy as so many dishes are this time of year, the hummus makes a perfect snack. Perfect even for the Superbowl (oh, hey look, this post is accidentally “holiday” themed!).

Roasted Parsnip Hummus

Originally posted November 23, 2010

1 c dried chickpeas, soaked overnight
3-4 medium parsnips, peeled
1/4 c tahini
2 tbsp lemon juice
1 tsp salt
2 tbsp olive oil
water
olive oil

After the chickpeas have soaked 12-24 hours, drain the water, and transfer chickpeas to a pot with water covering the chickpeas by an inch or two. Bring a boil, then lower to a simmer. Cook 30-45 minutes, until the beans are soft when speared with a fork tine.

Meanwhile, set the oven temperature to 400 degrees F. Chop the peeled parsnips into equal sizes, place in a baking dish, drizzle with olive oil, toss to coat, and bake for 20-25 minutes, until soft when speared with a fork tine. Set aside.

Once the chickpeas are cooked, add the chickpeas, roasted parsnips, tahini, lemon juice, salt, 2 tbsp olive oil, and 1/4 cup water to the bowl of a food processor. Process for 1-2 minutes. Add more water as needed, process another 3-5 minutes until smooth. Adjust tahini, lemon juice, salt, and water as wanted for taste and texture.

Let cool, then refrigerate.

Makes 3 cups.

Comments
10 Responses to “Monday Archive: Roasted Parsnip Hummus”
  1. Drew Buzik says:

    NO FREAKING WAY! I love parsnips. Can’t wait to try this.

  2. FoodFeud says:

    Holy crap! Genius. I love parsnips too and now that you say this it sounds so obviously wonderful. Wow. On it, soon.
    Also, gorgeous little pup.

  3. Mel says:

    What a cute pup!

    It never ceases to amaze me how many different hummus variations there are. Yours sounds awesome, parsnips are something I haven’t really eaten enough of.

  4. Becky says:

    Aaah that puppy face is killing me!!

  5. Renae says:

    Ash is adorable! ALMOST makes me want a puppy. Having an office puppy would be perfect: all the fun, none of the responsibility!

    I didn’t remember the original parsnip hummus, but I DO happen to have parsnips in my fridge that I need to use up soon, so thanks for revisiting it.

  6. Oh, my, is that one cute puppy or what! I don’t know how you manage to get any work done with that darling around. 🙂

    Parsnips are one vegetable I’m not enamored with, but since hummus makes everything better, I have no doubt I’d love it! Gotta try this, since it’s hard to get parsnips into the daily diet when they’re plain. So smart!

  7. dinamarti says:

    I wish I could bring my pups to work! The hummus sounds delish – I just found a recipe for sweet potato curry hummus, too. Could I have a more favorite combination?

    I have also gone GF recently for digestive purposes, and am really enjoying it… best of luck with the snackies – that’s definitely the hardest part, boo.

  8. I have no idea what recipe accompanies this post, because I got as far as PUPPY. PUPPYPUPPYPUPPY! PUPPY!!!

  9. eileen says:

    PUPPY PUPPY PUPPY PUPPY

    Oh, and the parsnip hummus sounds great as well! I will have to get ahold of some parsnips at the next farmer’s market…

  10. Puppy – parsnip hummus – puppy – parsnip hummus.
    love the puppy
    love the idea of adding parsnips to the hummus. genius. seriously!
    I add black beans to mine on occasion, now going to have to try parsnips. I meant to grow them this winter – ahhh forgot! dang it

Leave a Reply

