Dark Days: Collard Greens Casserole

Happy 2012! Feels like forever since I’ve been here, no? I can’t believe it’s a new year again and I’m not used to typing/writing January xx, 2012 yet, but I guess I’ll come around to it sooner or later. I hope everyone’s holidays were spectacular and I’ll be catching up on my blog reading/commenting very very soon.

While I may be a few days late on the jam, nothing rings in the new year like collard greens and cornbread–so why not combine the two? I obviously didn’t come up with the idea (I first saw the concept over on The Kitchn) and it feels like a cheater recipe since I just took two recipes already on here and combined them, but, hey, it was tasty and it went amazingly well with some black eyed peas. Health & wealth all around! The collards came from Franklin County and the corn meal was milled up the way, so it’s a fairly local dish for me, and one that’s easy to adapt to whatever greens you have on hand–kale, spinach, mustard, turnip, what have you. Win-win all around for sure!

Collard Greens Casserole

1 recipe Good Ol’ Southern Collard Greens
1/2 recipe Cornbread batter (not baked yet)

Preheat the oven to 375 F.

Pour your collards into a baking dish. Spread the cornbread batter on top.

Bake for 20-25 minutes, until the top is golden and an inserted knife/pick comes out clean.

Let cool for 10 minutes before serving.

Serves 8

Comments
14 Responses to “Dark Days: Collard Greens Casserole”
  1. FoodFeud says:

    This sounds so great! Still loving this Dark Days series. I know collards are traditional on New Years, do you know why cornbread is?

  2. eileen says:

    Ooh, that is a good idea. Crispy corn crust and dark damp greens? Yes plx!

  3. This is so going on tonight’s table! Thanks Jes!

  4. Beth says:

    What a great idea to combine collards and cornbread like this! My parents used to soak cornbread in the collards (or turnip greens) cooking juice and eat it with a spoon. They always called the liquid “pot liquor.” I love both collards and cornbread, but never quite warmed to the pot liquor idea. 🙂

  5. Jessica says:

    What an excellent idea! I have a pile of collard greens I need to use and have been trying to think of something creative to do with them…..going to be trying this out very soon! Thanks!

  6. I really like to do that with chilli. Good, heartening food for the cold.

  7. Jes – that looks amazing. I will try this one with some of my chard or kale (or collards from my neighbor!). I also like David’s idea with chili too.

  8. Looks absolutely delicious! Love casseroles ;)) Just found your blog and love it!

  9. Victoria says:

    This looks great – love love all dark greens. Just sourced local cornmeal yesterday and cannot wait to use it!

  10. chow vegan says:

    I was just thinking that topping looks like cornbread when I first saw the photo. What a great idea to combine the two! It looks so yummy! Happy 2012! 🙂

  11. Susan says:

    Simple, elegant and I’m sure delicious. This is getting me thinking about all sorts of fun stuff to do. Need to go buy some individual casserole dishes!

  12. amandatrombley says:

    This looks excellent as always! I hate to admit it but collards challenge me and I was loathing my farm share last year because they had collards every week..but..this recipe could change that. I also loved the Vegan Yum Yum tofu and collards recipe..sooo good!

  13. Collard greens are one of those ingredients that I’ve really been pushing myself to make more often. I always love the way they turn out, but for some reason it always takes a lot of convincing that the effort will be worthwhile when I’m beginning prep. This recipe looks like a great way to turn an average side into something truly memorable!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] (VA) from Eating Appalachia made a simple and wonderful Collard Greens Casserole. This looks like a great casserole for a main […]



Leave a Reply

