Monday Archive: Smoky Split Pea Soup

A day late and a dollar short, Merry Christmas to everyone! G & I enjoyed a very relaxed holiday, with plenty of movie watching, couch lazing, and mixed drink making (Sazeracs are just ohsogood with Fee Brothers Bitters!) Dorian, while still not super interested in the Christmas tree, did decide to model in front of it before she wandered off to nap in a corner behind some boxes. If only I could have stuck a bow on her… (smile)

Somehow it’s Monday already and, since I haven’t done one in awhile, it’s high time for a Monday Archive–this time, Smoky Split Pea Soup. The split pea soup made its appearance as part of our Very Merry Slovak Christmas Eve meal (of which several more recipes are to come this week) and was a great addition to the very merry cabbage-ness of the night. Smoky and salty and chock full of split pea goodness, it’s hard to beat–just be sure not to add any salt until you’re ready to serve. I used a vegetable bouillon and added salt early on which made for a mad rush to calm the overly salted soup. (If it happens, peel and chop a potato to throw in the pot to soak up some of the salt–it really works!)

I hope you all enjoyed the long weekend holiday and are having a good time being with family, enjoying vacation, or getting back into the swing of things. I’m off to see family later on in the week, so look for some updates in Atlanta!

Smoky Split Pea Soup

Originally posted February 4, 2010

2 tbsp olive oil
1 large onion, diced
2 large carrots, peeled and diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tsp ground thyme
1/2 tsp dried marjoram
1 tsp aleppo pepper (or 1/2 tsp chipotle pepper)
2 bay leaves
1/4 tsp hickory liquid smoke
salt to taste (add at the end of the cook time)
pepper to taste
2 c dried split peas
7 c vegetable broth

In a large pot, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onions and carrots and saute until tender, 6-7 minutes. Add the garlic and spices and saute for 1 minute, until fragrant.

Add the split peas, vegetable broth, and liquid smoke and bring to a boil. Once boiling, lower to a simmer and cover.

Cook for 1-1 1/2 hours until the peas being to break down and thicken.

Serves 6

Comments
7 Responses to “Monday Archive: Smoky Split Pea Soup”
  1. Beth says:

    This looks wonderful, Jes…just the thing for our cold N.C. mountain nights. And I love the generous garlic.

    Happy New Year to you and all those you love!

  2. That kitty is the cutest! What a stunner. And Merry Christmas to you too! You know, split pea soup is a favorite of mine but I’ve never made it myself. For shame!

  3. chow vegan says:

    Never been a big fan of split pea before but I’m slowly coming around. 🙂 But I do like the idea of it being smoky. And awesome Christmas cat photo!

  4. Victoria says:

    Sounds great. I’ve never cooked with liquid smoke, but I remember my Nana using it. I’ll have to look through her cookbooks to find out how 🙂

    In our SPS we used yellow split peas and added a bit of garam masala…it was a fun alternative.

  5. Mel says:

    Split pea soup is one of my all time favs. Your recipe sounds great and I love how thick it looks. This recipe has a few subtle differences with one I usually make so I will have to try yours when our weather cools down. 🙂

    Dorian looks really cute too!

Leave a Reply

