Gingerbread House Party

 Photo Credit: Susan J

This past Sunday I hosted a lovely group of ladies (and one young gent) for a gingerbread house making party. It’s one of those things that sounds amazing on paper, but once you get elbow deep in Crisco and sugar, you realize it’s kind of a big deal. While I’ll never make the parts for 7 houses ever again, it was incredibly fun to decorate them and hang out with some awesome OCD women–seriously, you find out how anal you are when you decorate one of these things. I, for one, should never be allowed to build anything since I only think of aesthetics and not necessarily the physics of things (my roof completely slid off after I weighed it down with gum drops), but everyone else did a fantastic job of keeping their houses together and decorating them with amazing flair. While it might be 60 degrees outside these days, icing always makes a great wintery alternative to snow!

 Candy Spread w/ some “real” food in the back for balance–vegan pigs in a blanket, yes!

 Sangria! From this recipe.

 Gingerbread house expert

 Sugar/icing gets everywhere–my god we had to scrub the entire dining room afterwards

 My janky icing job

 Mine turned into an A-Frame w/ a big skylight after the roof fell down

 Check out those Hershey Kiss shingles! Mad skillz.

 I’d be cool with living in a house with a M&M roof…

 OCD Awareness Night

 Apparently she used to make 30 of these a year to sell for her Girl Scout troupe. This is why!

 When life hands you a busted roof, make a tightrope for a little gummi bear. Then give him a beret. All’s well then.

 Fini!

Comments
8 Responses to “Gingerbread House Party”
  1. this looks like so much fun! what a great way to spend time with your friends by doing something festive for the holidays 😉

  2. chow vegan says:

    Such a fun holiday party! Those are some fancy looking gingerbread houses! 🙂

  3. Chuck says:

    Oh man, I would totally dominate a gingerbread house!

  4. Beth says:

    What a great idea for a Christmas party—I love it! And, wow, what a wonderful party favor to take home. 🙂

  5. Renae says:

    That looks so fun! I love your tightrope-walking gummi bear.

  6. Becky says:

    Oh my goodness, this looks like so much fun!!

  7. Mel says:

    Wow, there are some gorgeous creations going on! It certainly sounds like a fun way to spend a day with friends. Your tight-rope walker is so cute.

  8. Monica says:

    I made gingerbread houses aaages ago. Like when I was 12 or something. Good memories, but I appreciate how candid you are about the work it requires! Looks like such a fun party.

Leave a Reply

