Monday(ish) Archive: Eggnog Cupcakes

It’s Monday somewhere, right? (ok, ok, I’m pretty sure it isn’t…but things derail occasionally and we’ll just pretend it’s Monday).

I know most of you guys have been posting Holiday-themed goodies for the past week or so, but I’m running a little late in the game. Better late than never, yes? So here’s some goodness from life around Casa G, as we’re calling it (G’s 1st name obviously starts with a “G,” my last name starts with a “G”).

The Sunday after Thanksgiving, G & I drove out on a weird Roanoke county adventure to Hamill Christmas Tree Farm to pick up our Christmas tree. Turns out that Hamill Tree Farm is the only tree farm in the city of Roanoke, even though it toes the line with Vinton, and an acquaintance-friend of mine is one of the next generation of tree farmers in his family, so we just had to get a tree from there–if only because I’ve never been able to actually cut down a tree at a farm in the city I live in!

I had hoped to cut down a tree since that’s what we always did when I was growing up, but we fell in love with a pre-cut tree in the end. More tromping, less arm work with the saw. After trucking it home, G got the pleasure of learning how to put it in a stand for the first time, and then I put out a spread of leftover Thanksgiving hors d’oeuvres & beers (Smuttynose brown ale is our favorite lately), and we trimmed the heck out of it.

Over the past few months I’ve been stocking up on ornaments at antique stores–I just can’t bear to put tons of new looking ornaments on a tree–and we ended up having quite a few due to my thrifty efforts. We did invest in a few new ones awhile ago–some pickles, a cabbage (that whole Slovak thing, remember?), and a sushi roll (because who doesn’t want a sushi roll on a Christmas tree?)–and the lights were all new LED C-9s (cheap cheap cheap at Sam’s!).

The tree trimming, apparently, just tuckered Dorian out, though. She’s shown little interest in the tree, which is good since I don’t want her climbing up it, but it does seem a little unnatural–not caring about a tree all of a sudden being in the neighborhood. Chances are she’s too lazy with all the radiators now to notice anything.

Speaking of Dorian, her new favorite past time is watching nature shows on the big tv these days. Wild Russia has got her all in a tither, and when she’s not attacking large birds or reindeer on the screen, she’s perched on the back of the couch anxiously watching the action. Now if only she’d hunt the crickets in the basement…

Anyway, so the cupcakes. A few years ago, I tried out a few eggnog-related recipes, the cupcakes being my favorite, but I haven’t made them since. G’s work is having some sort of lunch potluck for the holidays on Thursday, so I figured it was the best excuse to whip out the mini muffin pans and make a batch.

I tweaked a few minor things, but it’s really the same recipe as before. Silk soy eggnog is my vegan eggnog of choice (I’m not too impressed with the coconut-based one), but feel free to use your favorite (is West Soy eggnog still out there? That stuff was good when I could get it in Atlanta…) I dipped the tops in melted chocolate instead of drizzling them with it, and gosh knows sprinkles would have been cute on top had I had them, but they work nice and simple too. Oh, and definitely enjoy with a glass of spiked eggnog–throw that bourbon in (as I would have in the melted chocolate if it weren’t for a work function)!!

Eggnog Cupcakes

Originally posted December 21, 2007

1/3 c vegetable oil
3/4 c granulated sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp almond extract
1 c vegan eggnog
1 1/4 c all-purpose flour
2 tbsp arrowroot powder
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
3/4 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp cloves

Preheat oven to 350

In a large mixing bowl, mix the oil, vanilla, almond extract, and sugar together until combined. Add the vegan eggnog, combine. Add all dry ingredients. Mix until smooth–you don’t want lumps.

Pour batter into oiled or lined cupcake tins. Bake for 15, or until an inserted knife comes out clean.

Makes 3 doz. mini cupcakes

Comments
10 Responses to “Monday(ish) Archive: Eggnog Cupcakes”
  1. Chuck says:

    That tree looks really good! Nice job decorating

  2. chow vegan says:

    Those look adorable! I don’t think I ever had eggnog cupcakes before, they look delicious and I can just imagine the flavor. 🙂

  3. That is a perfect specimen of a tree! And those cupcakes are definitely on my list for Christmas. Yum!

  4. FoodFeud says:

    All over it. I have a couple So Delicious coupons begging to be put to use. I just saw a recipe for Eggnog biscotti too! I might sneak some rum in mine and still bring em to work, heh. God knows we need the cheer there.

  5. NashVeggie recently did a taste comparison between 4 varieties of nog on the market: Silk, Rice Dream, Earth Balance and So Delcious. He said previously that Silk had been the stand by even though it was thinner than nog should be, but after the taste test, he says Earth Balance ended up being the favorite. The coconut one (IMO) tastes really artificial and like coconut; and while I do like Coconut milk, nog shouldn’t have that flavor.
    Just sharing what I’ve read recently 🙂

  6. P.S. : I’m curious: how come you stick to vegan baking though you’re not vegan anymore? I really am just curious 🙂

    • Jes says:

      Curiosity is always good 🙂 I think that a vegan lifestyle is the most sustainable for many areas of the developed world. Since in most cities the only affordable animal products are from factory farms or from really big organic companies that are better than CAFOs and such but still not the best, I think that vegan cuisine is the way to go for sustainable food. I also just like cooking vegan food–it’s what I crave and what most of my diet is. I do occasionally bake and cook non-vegan foods (my pies for Thanksgiving weren’t vegan this year, for example), but I prefer the vegan side.

      Thanks for the vegan nog reviews! I can only get Silk here in Roanoke, but maybe one day I’ll get a wider selection!

      • Thank you for taking the time to answer, I really appreciate it! I’ve gone back and forth about veganism lately (though I haven’t strayed), because I have access to so many local/humane products that have way less food miles and that are less processed than their vegan counterparts; but I, like you, feel like if I ever did stray from veganism, I’d still stick to being primarily vegan. It took a substantial amount of time to perfect vegan baking, and it’s not a skill I plan on giving up 😉

      • Jes says:

        No joke! I’m still learning about vegan baking–let alone vegan gluten-free baking–every time I open a flour jar! Figuring out the local-vegan-sustainable thing is tough–it took me a long time to reach my decision–and if you ever want to chat more about it, I’m around!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Eggnog Cupcakes – nog is a new year’s party staple, and these vegan cupcakes only take about 30 minutes to make! Top with vegan chocolate ganache or your favorite frosting. […]



Leave a Reply

