Seven Days Till Thanksgiving…

::edit::
Apologies for the broken links & apologies for the bevvy of posts you’ve had pop up in your RSS feeds–I had to migrate many of the recipes from a “page” format to a “post” format, so it puts them all up as new posts.   Hence you have a million new posts from me right now.  Anyway, hopefully all the links are fixed now!


Apparently Thanksgiving is a week away–for serious??!! I have to admit, it has been on my mind as I’m hosting a small get-together of friends who also won’t be going home for the holiday, but somehow it still managed to sneak up on me. (I think the neurotic warm weather hasn’t helped matters either, though tonight it’s getting downright nippy again.) For the first year of contributing to and hosting the meal, I will be cooking a turkey (locally raised, free range, heritage, etc.), so there’s a bit of anxiety there, but for the other parts of the meal that I’m responsible for, I’ll be falling back on old stand-bys: stuffin’ stuffed squash and gravy for our vegetarian guests, pecan topped sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, and, of course, pies (life is not life without a chocolate bourbon pecan pie, my friends). Below you’ll find a collection of Thanksgiving ideas from years past–some simple, some fancy, all downright good. Be sure to let me know what you’re cooking up this year–I’m still in the planning phase!

Sides

Better Than Your Mama’s Mashed Potatoes (GF)
Cornbread Stuffing (GF)
Cranberry Orange Relish (GF)
Good Ol’ Southern Collard Greens (GF)
Garlicky Kale (GF)
Green Bean Casserole Redux (GF)
Maple Mustard Glazed Butternut Squash (GF)
Maple Pecan Roasted Sweet Potatoes (GF)
Maple Sriracha Sweet Potatoes (GF)
Sumac Roasted Butternut Squash
Turkey Stuffing, Turkey-Free
Vegan Gravy
Vegan Gluten-Free Gravy (GF)

Mains

Pan Roasted Hen of the Woods Mushrooms with Maple Pumpkin Polenta and Tatsoi Spoon Mustard Greens (GF)
Quinoa Stuffed Acorn Squash (GF)
Stuffed Acorn Squash
Stuffin’ Stuffed Acorn Squash
Stuffin’ Stuffed Squash (GF)

Bread

Coconut Milk Dinner Rolls
Cornbread (GF)
Gluten-Free Dinner Rolls (GF)
Potato Rolls
Sauerkraut Buckwheat Rolls
Southern Mayo Biscuits
Sundried Tomato and Herb Buckwheat Rolls
Sweet Potato Rolls
Sweet Potato Yeast Biscuits
Whole Wheat Rye Rolls

Pies

Perfect Vegan Pie Crust
Gluten-Free Pie Crust (GF)
All-American Alternative Apple Pie (Can be GF, as shown)
Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie (Can be GF)
Pumpkin Pie (Can be GF)

Comments
12 Responses to “Seven Days Till Thanksgiving…”
  1. FoodFeud says:

    Thanks for the round-up. Besides my mom calling and e-mailing on an almost daily basis this last week, we are still looking for dishes to make especially since there will probably be more people than originally anticipated. I’d way rather have a laid back something with friends who couldn’t make it home.
    Have a good holiday!

  2. It’s crazy how fast time flies… I wish I had more time to prepare, because now I want to include just about everything on your list in my Thanksgiving dinner! It all sounds so good.

  3. eileen says:

    Thanks for the roundup, especially as we’re also still in the planning phase! I know for sure we’re doing Veganomicon cassoulet, roasted veg, and mashed potatoes, but everything else is kind of up in the air. Pie should also be making an appearance.

    (I did notice that several of your links are broken, though! I think it’s just the ones without date strings in their filenames. Just letting you know.)

    • Jes says:

      Oh shoot. They all worked last night. I’m having issues because they were originally “pages” on Cupcake Punk and I can’t find them on my “Eating Appalachia” site since I don’t have them as pages anymore. Thanks for pointing it out!

  4. Chuck says:

    Definitely trying those sweet potato recipes!

  5. Vanessa says:

    Is it really only 7 days!?

  6. thank you for the roundup. it just occurred to me yesterday that thanksgiving is next week and i was like, “what to make?!” now i know 😉 i love your recipes 😉

  7. Eselpee says:

    Jes,

    I loved all the recipes – I now have got the big day organized!

    You are the crowned queen of Thanksgiving!!

  8. Barbara says:

    Thanks for all the ideas for Thanksgiving, Jes! I want to make them all. I hope you and yours have a wonderful feast!

  9. Beth says:

    Hi, Jes…just stopping by to wish you a Happy Thanksgiving. Quite a mouth-watering list of tastiness you have here! I’m making pecan-topped sweet potatoes for the first time this year for my new son-in-law, along with the other essentials like mashed potatoes. Good luck with the turkey!

Leave a Reply

