Gary Johnson & Lentil and Eggplant Curry

Before I get to the Lentil and Eggplant Curry recipe, I’d like to do something that I normally don’t do: get all political on you. It’ll just take a moment and if you aren’t interested, feel free to scroll down to the recipe.

Today, I’ve been getting more riled up than normal about the 2012 Presidential (US) elections. The candidate that I support, and who I’ve supported since May when he appeared on Wait, Wait, Don’t Tell Me, is Gary Johnson. He’s running for the Republican ticket. Republican. I’m not a Republican. At all. I’ve always voted on the more liberal side of things–I believe in clean air and water for the generations to come, I believe in women’s rights (especially in regards to reproductive rights), I know climate change is a fact (and so is evolution–how the hell did that even become debatable), I am against the death penalty, pro-Palestine, and a supporter of immigration. That, beyond a shadow of a doubt, casts me outside of the Republican party’s lines.

Gary Johnson, however, has made me rethink what our two-party system means. As a man running for the Republican bid for Presidency, Johnson is hardly a Republican. He gets slated as a Libertarian, but he goes beyond that tag: he is a humanitarian. Even more than that, he’s someone who doesn’t play politics–he’s kept the same campaign promises and same political stance throughout his entire campaign (which is amazing given the fact that Cain and Perry and Romney can’t seem to keep a straight thought regarding climate change, immigration, or taxes). But saying that is useless without saying what he stands for.

Gary Johnson stands for:

  • Simplifying legal immigration
  • Resorting to military action as a last resort & leading by example
  • Cutting spending, cutting taxes, and reducing federal involvement in the economy
  • Balancing the federal budget and for transparency of the Federal Reserve
  • Keeping the government neutral on personal beliefs (a woman should be allowed to chose what to do with her body, the government should not interfere with marriage and should allow for civil unions for all people)
  • Keeping the internet censor-free
  • Reforming our current drug laws to make America safer (i.e. making marijuana legal, changing laws that send drug offenders to prison, etc.)

You can read more specifics about his political stance on his website.

So why am I so incensed? Because even though Gary Johnson polled ahead of Rick Santorum and John Huntsman and tied with Herman Cain in August (at 2%), he has been excluded from 8 out of 10 national debates this year. Additionally, after the CNN poll where Johnson tied Cain and proved to have more support than Santorum or Huntsman, Johnson was not one of the candidates included in the following debate and was even dropped from CNN’s poll. If you check the Gallup polls and the Real Clear Politics polls, you’ll find nary a stat for Gary Johnson.

I’m upset by this: even if people (especially people at the networks) don’t agree with Johnson’s political positions, they have no right to stanch democratic debate by excluding a valid candidate from nation debate. The media block on Gary Johnson is outrageous.

I don’t necessarily agree with Johnson’s stance on everything, but I find him to be a candidate worth listening to, and I believe that everyone’s voice should be heard, especially when they are supported by the same percentage of voters as other well-represented-by-the-media candidates.

If you’re interested in learning more about Gary Johnson, visit garyjohnson2012.com, and if you’re interested in helping get him in the upcoming Michigan CNBC debate, please tweet to @CNBC2012 and use the hashtag #cnbcdebate. Free and open democratic debate is important, no matter what you believe–let’s the keep the field level for all candidates.


So, about the curry.

Sometimes I’m jonesing for a curry, but a curry without the effort. This super easy and simple lentil and eggplant curry really did the trick. I borrowed the recipe from several I found online and changed it to fit what I had in my own pantry, then scooped out some delicata squash, lathered them in olive oil, filled them with the cooked curry, and baked them until soft. Perfect one dish dinner!

Not really much else to say about it, execpt that it really hit a good note–lots of curry flavor, a little bit of spicy heat, and a perfect use for the red lentils I had sitting on my pantry shelf. Plus, anything baked in a squash is 1000x better than without the squash.

Happy Friday all!

 Lentil & Eggplant Curry

1 large yellow onion, chopped
3-4 cloves garlic, minced
2 tbsp curry powder
1 tbsp hot curry powder
1 large eggplant, skinned and diced
1 cup dried red lentils
2.5 c vegetable stock
salt and pepper to taste
olive oil

Over medium heat, saute the onion in a tablespoon or so of olive oil in a dutch oven or medium size pot until translucent, 5-7 minutes. Add the garlic and cook until fragrant, 30 seconds. Add the curry powders, stir to combine, then deglaze with a few tablespoons of water.

Add the eggplant, lentils, and vegetable stock to the pot, bring to a boil, then lower to a simmer and cook 30 minutes or until the lentils are soft.

(Note: to serve like in the photo above, I scooped the seeds out of two halved delicata squash, brushed them with olive oil, scooped leftover curry into them, and baked for 30-35 minutes until the squash were soft).

Comments
5 Responses to “Gary Johnson & Lentil and Eggplant Curry”
  1. Monica says:

    I made almost the exact same thing today for lunch, but with cauliflower instead of eggplant, and tomatoes. Ok so not exactly like yours, but very close. Just sayin – I’m totally feeling this dish. And feel free to politicise anytime. 🙂 Off to listen to Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me…

  2. wow! i never even heard of gary! that’s sad. he definitely is someone i would vote for. why is the only sane republican candidate not included in the debates?? i will definitely be looking into him more. thanks for the heads up!

    and the curry looks delicious!

  3. FoodFeud says:

    I haven’t been following the election stuff too closely (horrible, I know) so I haven’t heard of him either but I definitely feel like everyone should be included in debates.
    The curry sounds wonderful and I’ve got some red lentils to use up too! You’re right about the squash adding so much to a dish.

  4. chow vegan says:

    Another person that’s never heard of the guy, politics today is just maddening. Anybody that’s halfway decent and sane gets brushed off and never heard while the nuts get all the press and support. It’s just crazy. I’m going to comfort myself with your curry. Thank you. 🙂

  5. It’s totally curry season, so I’m all over this! Swap out the eggplant for zucchini, and it sounds like dinner tonight. 🙂

Leave a Reply

