Monday Archive: Pumpkin Swirl Brownies

Oh my goodness gracious–is it the last night of MoFo? I can’t believe it’s actually over and, even though I was getting a little tuckered out, it seems like it flew by. I’ve met so many new bloggers and filed away so many recipes, tips, and techniques for the future, and, to some extent, even fallen back in love with cooking again–it’s been a fantastical Vegan MoFo for sure!

Tonight I’ll close out with a seasonally-themed Monday Archive: Pumpkin Swirl Brownies. While I might not be the most holiday-themey person, I do love pumpkin and it’s hard not to get swept up in the Halloween magic for a bit. Just seeing all of my neighbors out either trick-or-treating with their kids or decorating their lawns and having fun with it all amazes me–in a society where we’ve boxed off our lives and compartmentalized everything, apparently we still love giving away candy to strangers and neighbors. It’s pretty fantastic.

And who doesn’t love a good sugar high, especially when it’s not super sugary but more dark and decadent? I first made these brownies during MoFo in 2008 (on this very day actually!) and, while I wasn’t swept away by them, they were good enough to try again. I (vaguely now) remember the first batch being a little too cakey and not chocolatey enough, but this batch…oh my goodness…dark and moist and rich and melt-in-your-mouth with just enough crumb to it so that they aren’t runny-fudgey. And while the pumpkin swirl isn’t as pronounced, the taste comes through like none other–almost like peanut butter or caramel, but different. And that might be attributable to the fact that I used roasted local pumpkin puree I froze last year, so the color probably isn’t as intense and the texture is a little runnier than the canned stuff.

And just as some notes–the original recipe called for 4 eggs, which I found to be a little problematic. While in 2008 I used En-er-G egg replacer, I don’t think it helped the texture very much. This time I decided to use flax eggs since I had a bunch of flax seed on hand. Sayward’s (Bonzai Aphrodite’s) Flax Egg Tutorial couldn’t have come at a better time. (smile) That tip about putting the flax mixture in the fridge for 15 minutes? Seriously serious. It’s the golden ticket for the “eggs.” AND I also found out this time that those Magic Bullet type blenders work magic for flax eggs. Throw the flax seed in and grind, then add the water and mix, then put just the cup in the fridge to cool, and voila, flax eggs without mixing anything by hand! Plus just fill up the cup with water to the brim after you’re done and the eggs won’t set and get hard–easy clean-up too. Hooray! Thanks Sayward!!

Pumpkin Swirl Brownies

Originally posted October 31, 2008

1 c Earth Balance
6 oz bittersweet chocolate, chopped
1.5 c all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/4 c turbinado sugar
4 eggs-worth of these perfect flax eggs
1 tbsp vanilla extract
1 1/4 c canned pumpkin
1/4 c vegetable oil
1.5 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Spray a 8-inch square baking pan or dish with vegetable oil spray & sprinkle with flour to coat the oil.

Make the flax eggs.

Melt chocolate and Earth Balance in a skillet placed on top of a pot of simmering water (or in a double boiler), stirring occasionally until smooth.

In a mixing bowl pour half the flax eggs. Add 1 1/8 c sugar, 1/2 tbsp vanilla, and the vegetable oil, whisk to combine. Add the pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice, whisk to combine. Add 1 1/4 c flour, 1/2 tsp baking powder, and 1/4 tsp salt. Whisk the batter until it is smooth.

Pour into another bowl the remaining flax eggs. Add the remaining 1 1/8 c sugar and 1/2 tbsp vanilla. Add the melted chocolate and whisk to combine. Add the remaining 1 1/4 c flour, 1/2 tsp baking powder, and 1/4 tsp salt. Whisk the batter until it is smooth.

Transfer half of chocolate batter to prepared pan smoothing top with a rubber spatula. Top with half of pumpkin batter. Repeat to make one more chocolate layer and one more pumpkin layer. Work quickly so batters don’t set.

With a small spatula or a table knife, gently swirl the two batters to create a marbled effect.

Bake until set, 40 to 45 minutes. Let cool in pan on a wire rack. Cut into 16 squares.


Posts of MoFos Past
2008: Pumpkin Swirl Brownies
2009: Dark Wholemeal Bread with Flax Seeds

Comments
7 Responses to “Monday Archive: Pumpkin Swirl Brownies”
  1. Way to end Vegan MoFo with a bang- I think you saved the best for last here. These brownies look drool-worthy!

  2. FoodFeud says:

    I totally stocked up on pumpkin today so this sounds awesome. They also look so huge and chunky! Great stuff. Thanks for the tip on the flax eggs, too. So glad I found yr new blog!

  3. I have a hard time getting the perfect brownie, but this recipe looks amazing. Can’t wait to try it!

  4. Sal says:

    these sound delicious!

  5. these sound so good!! I don’t care that it’s November, I still can’t get enough pumpkin 😀

  6. Oh my, pumpkin brownie you say?! Yumo!

  7. Mandee says:

    That brownie looks perfect and I love those little pumpkins too, adorable!

Leave a Reply

