Potato, Bean & Kale Soup

Ohmygosh cold front coming! Seriously you guys, it’s soup weather, even though, for the next hour or so, it’s still going to be 70 degrees here. The high tomorrow is…(drum roll please)…46, with lows in the mid-30s. And rain. Ew, ew, ew. I will wear the first sweater of the year and boots for the first time and I will eat lots and lots and lots of soup. And drink hot cocoa. Laced with whiskey. Because that’s how I roll. 🙂

Unfortunately, though, I won’t be eating any of this magnificent soup since I already wolfed it down last week. But that’s ok, I might just have to make it again! This particular soup–potato, bean, and kale–comes from the genius cookery of Jessy over in Richmond (who I randomly ran into back in 2010 while getting my hair cut–btw, I still think fondly of those chocolatey-coconuty cookies, yum!). I bookmarked her recipe last MoFo and meant to make it for months, but never got around to it until now–and what a mistake that was! The soup is creamy and hearty and somehow, at the same time, light–it’s the perfect autumn soup as we dip towards winter (and, yes, I know, I can’t complain, parts farther north than me are expecting snow this weekend and Colorado already got clobbered–it ain’t too bad here!). I especially loved the smooth miso and the green goodness of the kale. Pretty much everything about it is spot-on terrific!

 Potato, Bean & Kale Soup

Adapted from Jessy’s Creamy Butterbean, Potato & Kale Soup

1 large bunch of kale, destemmed & chopped
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 lb potatoes, peeled and diced
1 15 oz can cannellini beans
1 15 oz can coconut milk
1 tbsp miso (I used barley miso)
2 tsp rice wine vinegar
salt & pepper to taste
olive oil

In a large skillet over medium heat, warm 1 tbsp olive oil. Add the kale and saute until wilted, 4-5 minutes. Remove from heat and set aside.

In a dutch oven or stock pot over medium heat, warm 1 tbsp olive oil. Add the onions and saute until translucent, 5-7 minutes. Add the garlic and cook until fragrant, 30 seconds.

Add the potatoes and enough water to cover the potatoes (I used approx. 6 cups of water). Increase the heat to high and bring to a boil, then lower to a simmer. Cover and let the potatoes cook for 20-25 minutes, until soft.

Transfer the potatoes and water to a food processor. Add the beans, coconut milk, and miso to the food processor. Process until smooth and creamy.

Pour the pureed soup back into the pot and add the sauteed kale. Cook for another 5 minutes over medium-low heat to allow the flavors to meld, then add the vinegar and any salt & pepper to taste.

Serve with fresh baked bread.


Posts of MoFos Past
Apparently I never posted anything this day from 2008-2010. Weird!

Comments
9 Responses to “Potato, Bean & Kale Soup”
  1. LazySmurf says:

    I’m not ready at all for the cold weather but that soup (and hot cocoa with whiskey) would make everything better! Could you taste the coconut milk?

  2. Renae says:

    Not to rub it in, but I’m heading to LA tomorrow night and it’s supposed to be in the 80s there this weekend. Which I was extra happy about when I saw the forecast for Virginia. But this looks really good and I’ll have to try it out when I return home to soup weather the following week. (Although I consider any weather soup weather.)

  3. jessy says:

    aw, Jes…… you are too awesome, my friend! thanks for the kind words and for making our soup! your take on it sounds most delicious – next time we make it i’m totally using coconut milk. mmmm! the weather’s been crazy here in rva as well. like yours, tonight’s gonna drop into the 30’s/40’s, i think, and tomorrow’s gonna be something around 50 (i’m just bummed because we haven’t turned the heat on yet and i don’t wanna! dan’s kinda a wus with the cold so i have a feeling i’m gonna have to budge. ha!) – despite the fact that today was almost 80. virginia does have some seriously nutty weather and i know it’s even nuttier in your area, fo ‘sho. my parents live in goode and it’s sooooo much cooler there and it’s only 2.5 hours away. might i add, i want hot cocoa with whiskey. how come i never thought of this?! brilliant! thanks again, Jes!

  4. Ugh, it is serious too cold all of a sudden! This soup would really hit the spot- There is nothing better than a hearty potato soup, really. Digging the addition of kale, and I’m thinking about mixing it up with some spinach now, too.

  5. Becky says:

    OMG I am so making this.

  6. chow vegan says:

    It’s starting to get a little chilly around here too. This soup looks perfect for the cooler weather and I have just about everything to make it. And hot cocoa and whiskey! I know I have some whiskey around somewhere, time to dig it out. 🙂

  7. Mandee says:

    That soup looks perfect for cold weather and I have kale in the garden just waiting to be used up!

  8. eileen says:

    That soup looks perfect for a cold snap! Besides, I’ve had half a can of coconut milk in the freezer waiting for just such an occasion as this. ONWARD TOWARD SOUP!

Leave a Reply

