Monday Archive: Best Salad Ever

The other night while we were eating yummy veg food & listening to some great music in Blacksburg (the topic of tomorrow’s post–hooray for Gillie’s!), our friend R came up in the conversation. R is that person who, even in the face of cell phones and facebook and everyone knowing everyone else’s business, still manages to disappear. I haven’t heard hide nor hair of him since March of this past year, but it’s good to know he’s still alive and kicking somewhere (possibly in southwest Virginia).

The mention of R, though, sparked my plan for this post. I had intended to make pumpkin pie bites for yesterday’s vegetarian potluck, but after an afternoon and evening of sanding at the house, I just couldn’t do anything other than sit on the couch, eat pirogies, and watch my beloved Falcons bite the dust after a first great half. Damn you, Green Bay. Anyway. So, I didn’t have an archive post for today because I never made the pie bites because I knew that I wouldn’t make it to the potluck when we hadn’t made it to the house to sand until the afternoon.

Thus, I had nothing to write about. I debated posting a non-archive since I’ve got plenty of posts up my sleeve, and I debated posting an archive that I didn’t redo (as I’ve done before), but, in the end, I remembered R and I remembered this salad. The Best Salad Ever. And it is. And I keep forgetting it is. It’s simple and it’s just as good as it was before (except with romaine lettuce and a dash of balsamic vinegar this time). And plus it’s easy to make and absolutely filling and nutritious. So, R, I’ve no idea where you are or what you’re up to, but I hope you’re doing well, and thanks for teaching me to make this rather recipe-less salad. It’s damn rockin’ and it sure saved my hungry belly tonight.

The Best Salad Ever (For One)

Originally posted on October 8, 2009

3 or 4 leaves romaine lettuce
1/2 carrot
handful of cashews
handful of sunflower seeds
handful of dried cranberries
salt
nutritional yeast
balsamic vinegar
olive oil

Coarsely chop the lettuce into biteable pieces. For the carrot, cut in half, flip 90 degrees and cut in half again (to quarter it). Then chop into small squarish pieces.

In a large bowl, toss together the lettuce, carrots, cashews, sunflower seeds, and cranberries.

Then sprinkle a pinch or two of salt, some nutritional yeast (enough to give a thin covering), and drizzle the olive oil and a dash of balsamic vinegar on top. When you mix it together with your fork, the oil will bind the nutritional yeast to the salad.

Voila!


Posts of MoFos Past
2008: Crack Cookies
2010: Pop’s Ice Cream & Soda Bar

Comments
9 Responses to “Monday Archive: Best Salad Ever”
  1. LazySmurf says:

    I bet the “secret” ingredient is nooch, it isn’t something I usually put in salad but when I do it’s 97% tastier. That could just be ’cause I really like nooch though.

  2. i love sprinkling nutritional yeast all over my salads. this looks delish!

  3. Vanessa says:

    that DOES look like the best salad ever =)

  4. this looks dreamy and crunchy and definitely yummy.

  5. FoodFeud says:

    Cashews AND sunflower seeds already wins my heart. Cranberries take it to the limit, def. Looks gorgeous and I can take it already.

  6. chow vegan says:

    Nooch in salad? that does sound good! 🙂

  7. Mandee says:

    I always forget to add nuts or berries to salads and this looks so bright and fresh, I have to try it!

  8. Barbara says:

    I love nutritional yeast on salad, Jes. This combination looks delicious!

  9. That does sound like a fabulous salad!

Leave a Reply

