Monday Archive: Oreo Cookie Cookies

Ahhh Monday–I’m really trying to focus on liking Mondays these days. Yup, the weekend was wonderful and waaaay too short (we went to G’s engineering group 26th annual pig roast on Saturday–too much fun, meant to take pictures…but, oh well), but I really need to get my butt in “adult” gear and starting living my life every day (even if that means 9+ hour work days). Breathe in, breathe out.

 Dorian watching me take photos on the patio

Tricks I’ve found to keep me on track? Swimming at least three times a week during lunch–not only are my arms getting all muscle-licious again, but I’ve lost five pounds, gotten a better outlook on life, and found something enjoyable and “free” to do during lunch (I pay for my Y membership anyway, so it’s “free” to use it at lunch as opposed to after work). Another trick is starting to bake again. (smile) It’s actually been awhile since I baked, years really. After growing up with a massive sweet tooth and baking a ton during my first two/three years of the blog, I’ve been a bit silent on that front. I just don’t crave sweets anymore. BUT sometimes they’re super nice to have and a cookie here and there is keeping me a’float.

So to get back into baking, what’s better than a cookie in a cookie? I mean, that’s all-out, right? All-out sugar overload. A friend commented yesterday that I’d be the most popular mother in the PTA if I 1) were a mother and 2) in a PTA. When I made these back in 2009, we all agreed they rocked the house. Guess what, they still do! I didn’t change a thing (except use apple butter instead of apple sauce this time since that’s what I had on hand) and they still match the cookie-on-cookie, chocolate, sugar overload we all sometimes want out of a cookie.

 Oreo Cookie Cookies

First posted August 6, 2009

1 c all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/3 c Earth Balance
1/2 c packed brown sugar
1/4 c white sugar
1 tbsp vanilla extract
1/4 c apple sauce(or apple butter)
1 c semisweet chocolate chips
10 oreos, crushed

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

Sift together the flour, baking soda and salt; set aside.

In a medium bowl, cream together the Earth Balance, brown sugar and white sugar until well blended. Beat in the vanilla and applesauce/apple butter until light and creamy. Mix in the sifted ingredients until just blended.

Mix in the chocolate chips. Add in the crushed oreos. Beat on low speed for just a few seconds to break up the oreos in the dough.

Drop cookie dough in 1-2 tbsp balls onto the baking sheet and slightly flatten to desired size (they don’t spread much).

Bake for 8-10 minutes in the preheated oven, or until the edges are lightly toasted.

Cool on baking sheets for a few minutes before transferring to wire racks to cool completely.

Comments
4 Responses to “Monday Archive: Oreo Cookie Cookies”
  1. Monica says:

    What cookies are to you, bread is to me. This was a breath of fresh air. I have the Monday blues and having just written my own version of how do I keep on track?, it was comforting to read that someone else has had the same thoughts. Though I confess, I find your approach to dealing with this so much better than mine. So sensible and SANE. But man, here’s to swimming, eh? My goal is to swim every day this week, even if it’s just a few laps. It does keep me sane and level-headed. Trouble is, I slip in the evenings. How do you deal with THAT? This really hit home, though: “starting living my life every day”. Even the 9+ hour work day bit. I’m trying to start a business and it just won’t happen if I’m not 100% all the time. I can’t afford to have hangovers or be too full of dessert to work. It’s just not on. I need my mind and body IN TUNE. And today has been like the culmination of too many days of overindulgence and I feel totally useless. Tomorrow’s a new day, a new start. Thanks for this dose of optimism. And for giving me this form to rant in. =)

  2. I used to eat a whole sleeve of Oreos when I got home from school, back before I understood things like “sugar” and “health.” I will definitely be trying this recipe – in moderation, of course! 😉

  3. Chuck says:

    So should I leave you my address here so you can send me some or should I email you? ; )

  4. On man, I remember these bad boys… Seriously brilliant and evil, all wrapped up in one ball of dough.

Leave a Reply

