Pickled Cherry Tomatoes

G is home. (smile) Life’s pretty good. I also got to play around on the Windows 8 tablet/PC of insanity–so much coolness, can’t wait for Microsoft to get further along in development! Can’t wait to hone my html skills (mad skillz, I will have them) and try building an app (since that’s a feature–app building in htlm and Java, too cool!). But, mostly, the excitement is over having G here. And getting to actually talk to him for longer than 15 minutes every couple of days, and touch him, and eat food with him. And watch Mad Men (seriously addicted) with him. Life, you’re so much better when G’s around!

And other excitement that I’m sure you’re all aware of is the fact that Vegan MoFo is just around the corner! It’s back in its October time slot this year and I couldn’t be happier. I wasn’t a fan of the November month (especially with the holiday and traveling and all that jazz) and I’ve the farmers market goes till Halloween, so I’m all set for a fresh, local, vegtastic FOURTH year of MoFo-ing! Four years, can you believe it?! My plan is to post 21 times (1 post for every weekday of the month, though they’ll probably space out some on the weekends) and to focus on cooking real food and on finding local vegan eats here in Roanoke. They’ve got to be hiding somewhere… Anyone else excited?

But to a recipe. Remember those guys up there? The crazy boon of cherry tomatoes I’ve had all summer? Well, after harvesting the last of them, I had to do something with them, though I wasn’t sure what. Right now, with the moving and renovating and such going on, freezer space is at a premium. So that left me with canning–an activity I really thought I’d not do this year (I got a little burned out doing it for my job last year).

But what could make cherry tomatoes unique and really shine out from the crowded cabinet shelves? I beautiful pickling job did the trick, complete with locally grown spicy garlic and my homegrown jalapenos in the mix. The tomatoes, of course, don’t stay crisp, but after letting them pickle a few weeks, they tasted delicious: tart and a week bit spicy with their sweet tomato flavor shining through. Can’t wait to open a jar deep in the heart of winter!

Pickled Cherry Tomatoes

adapted from Epicurious

1 1/2 c apple cider vinegar
1 1/2 water
8 tsp sea salt
4 tsp sugar
24 oz cherry tomatoes
1 bulb garlic
4 jalapeno peppers

Pour vinegar and water into small saucepan. Add salt and sugar. Bring to boil, stirring to dissolve sugar and salt. Remove from heat.

Meanwhile, slice the jalapenos into rounds and the garlic into slivers (I used 1 clove garlic per 1/2 pint jar). Set aside.

Fill sterilized canning jars with the cherry tomatoes. Place several rounds of jalapeno and several garlic slivers in the jars with the tomatoes. Fill with vinegar mixture, leaving 1/2 head space.

Process in a hot water bath or pressure canner per USDA guidelines (10 minutes +/- depending on elevation)

Comments
6 Responses to “Pickled Cherry Tomatoes”
  1. eileen says:

    Oh! Those look really exciting. I was planning to oven-dry my sungolds when they actually started to ripes more than one or two at a time, but this may need to go on the list as well. Can I assume it’s ok to can them in the hot water bath, since they’re pickled and thus vinegar vinegar vinegar? That’s pretty acidic.

    I never know what to do about MoFo. Hmm hmm hmm.

    • Jes says:

      I followed the USDA guidelines for pickled green tomatoes which used the same ratio of water/vinegar with the tomatoes, so I’m 99% sure that the hot water bath for 10 minutes at my elevation worked fine. Though I guess it’s always a gamble with canning to some degree…eep!

      You should feature cabbage & other farm/garden goodies during MoFo, you always have the most amazing ideas that want me to buy more cabbage than I should!

  2. Barbara says:

    These sound really good, Jes, and I still have plenty of cherry tomatoes left. Will have to give it a try. I don’t think I’ve ever had a pickled ripe tomato. They look great!

  3. Renae says:

    I love this! I’m a pickling fiend but have never pickled tomatoes. I’m definitely doing this; I’ll have to get cherry tomatoes at the farmer’s market this weekend. I’ve still never canned anything though. It’s one of those things I know I’ll end up doing someday but just haven’t tried yet.

  4. Alexander Fischer-Oelschlaeger says:

    I have one question. Do the cherry tomatoes still have their skins? Or, do I have to dip in boiling water, then cold water…then, remove the skins? I am already with my tomatoes, but I thought I better check before I got started.

    • Jes says:

      Leave the skins on, most definitely! Removing the skins of cherry tomatoes would be a horrible task. Mine have been great all winter long, down to my last two jars right now.

Leave a Reply

