Grilled Potato Pesto Pizza & a Patio Reveal

Wow, that was a lot of “p’s” in the heading…alliteration much?

So remember when I said I was going to take care of the overgrown mess that our patio had become? Well, I ended up going hiking on Sunday, so that exhausted me for the rest of the day, but that was a good thing because on Monday it rained which made my job a lot easier.

I initially planned on weed-eating the weeds and being done with it, but, with the soft ground, it ended up being “easier” to pull out all the weeds. “Easier” being relative since it ended up taking two full evenings and a little bit of tonight to finish it all. But, ta-da, this is it! I pulled out all the rogue grass/giant & dead weeds, spread ant killer on the fire ant mounds I uncovered, swept, and then spread cypress mulch in the flower bed area. Now instead of wondering what creepy insect-y critters are crawling all around my feet, I can enjoy dinner and a drink in peace. Even the potted plants and herbs look a lot better now. Not to mention that apparently we have stones and bricks and lots of beautiful space I never knew existed! Will be perfect for the autumn weather that ushered itself in yesterday.

Speaking of the autumn weather, what better day to teach myself how to grill than on a windy, overcast, 50-something degree evening? Exactly. So I’ve never used a grill. Ever. Don’t get me wrong–I love love love grilling out, but that generally entails someone else doing the actual grilling part. I’ll prep and finish food till kingdom come, but when it comes to open flames, I’m a wuss. But, G gone, I decided to man up and give it a try.

Thus the grilled potato pesto pizza was born. We’ve been making quick weeknight meals out of naan bread pizzas cooked in the oven, but last night I decided to give the grill a try. The pesto was from a batch made last year and the potatoes from up the road. I grilled the potatoes too. The heat was a wee bit high so I lost a few, but holy heavens, grilled potatoes are the jam! I should do that more often. With a few dried cranberries on top, the pizza had a perfect sweet, savory, crunchy, basil garlic jive. Loved it. Would have loved it more with G, but Sunday night will come soon enough. (Seriously, how do any of you make it work with a partner who travels for their job? It’s killing me for just this one week.)

Grilled Potato Pesto Pizza for One

1 piece of naan bread (I used Kontos Roghani Naan)
1/4 c pesto
1 small-medium potato, sliced into even rounds
small handful dried cranberries
olive oil
salt
pepper
aleppo pepper

Toss the potato slices in a bowl with some olive oil, a dash of salt, fresh pepper, and a dash of aleppo pepper. Make sure the slices are covered well. Grill in a grill basket over medium flame for 10ish minutes, checking regularly to make sure they aren’t turning to burnt charcoal. Turn over half way through grilling. Remove from grill and set aside.

Place the naan on the grill. Grill for 1 minute until it starts to look slightly brown/black. Remove, spread pesto over the grilled side of the naan. Layer with the grilled potatoes. Sprinkle the dried cranberries on top.

Slide the assembled pizza back onto the grill, close the lid, and grill for 3-5 minutes over medium-low flame, until it looks done to you. I overdid mine a bit, so be sure to not let the bottom blacken. Just get some nice grill lines one it.

Plate, cut, and serve with a side salad (I made my dressing from the leftover olive oil & spices I tossed the potatoes in).

Comments
6 Responses to “Grilled Potato Pesto Pizza & a Patio Reveal”
  1. Potato pizza is a guilty pleasure of mine! Carbs to the 2nd power, mmm…
    I’m not nearly as brave as you to whip out the full-sized grill, but the indoor, stove-top griddle should work quite nicely, too. 🙂

  2. Looking good!

    Travel for work is evil. The few times I have to do it, T. comes with me and it becomes a bit of a holiday.

  3. chow vegan says:

    The patio looks awesome! Great job! Good for you to brave the grill on your own! The pizza looks delicious! Come to think of it, I don’t think I’ve ever grilled anything by myself. 🙂

  4. Renae says:

    This reminds me of the first time I ever used a grill, which was just last summer (and I’m a lot older than you so it’s a lot more surprising), and I was home alone at the time and kinda nervous too. I just grilled veggie hot dogs and some veggie kabobs my first time, though, whereas you break out some amazing potato pesto pizza?! Nice work!

    Your patio looks cute and relaxing!

  5. I love the patio! What a lovely little space!

  6. Monica says:

    Grilled pizza is so the bomb. but potato on pizza?! That’s a stroke of genius! Love your patio.

Leave a Reply

