Monday Archive–Mojito Eclairs (and a sold car!)

This weekend I had all the intentions of cooking up a big pot of soup for the week–Korean Vegetable & Dumpling Soup, to be exact–but, as it always seems to happen, life had other things in mind. But good other things! Saturday and Sunday saw me mostly helping out G with house renovation things (the electrician is coming tomorrow, yippee!) and washing, vacuuming, and cleaning my Honda Civic like it’d never been cleaned before. Why the mad cleaning spree? So that I could put it on the market! Which I did so at 7:20 pm on Sunday. And by 7:44 the car was sold. For only $100 less than the asking price. Holy bewillikers hot damn! I really thought the car would take forever to sell–I mean, who wants a 1993 Civic?–but apparently it was a hot item. I fielded four phone calls and multiple emails in the 30 minutes before the buyer got to look at, test drive, and make an offer on it. Little sea foam green Honda, you are dear to my heart, but I’m glad to see you find a new home!

But for the 2nd Monday Archive post, how about one of my most triumphant and delicious summer creations–Vegan Mojito Eclairs/Cream Puffs? When I made these back in July 2009, I didn’t know how amazing they would be. I was simply obsessed with mojitos (which my mint plant this year is helping facilitate the making of) and obsessed with making outrageous vegan sweets. The combo–mojito and eclair–ended up being perfect. Puffy choux pastry filled with fresh mint custard and drizzled with a lime-rum glaze–seriously, what could be better than that?

I don’t have a remake of this recipe (that damn pot of soup didn’t happen, so the eclairs definitely didn’t), but I’ll let you know if I give them a whirl again. But if you’re looking for the inspiration for the recipe, check out my mojito post too–nothing beats a simple, fresh mojito on a hot, steamy summer day!

Vegan Mojito Eclairs/Cream Puffs

For the choux pastry (from Musings from the Fishbowl):
1 c all-purpose flour
2 tsp sugar
1/4 tsp salt
3/4 tsp baking powder
2 tbsp margarine
2 tbsp Ener-G Egg Replacer whipped until stiff with 1/3 c water
1 c soy milk

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.

Prepare egg-replacer. Stir together flour, vegan sugar, salt, baking powder.

In a sauce pan (non-stick works well), bring the soy milk and margarine to a boil, stirring constantly. Add the flour all at once, and reduce heat to low. Stir constantly until the dough forms a ball that pulls away from the pan and the spoon and is glossy and smooth.

Working quickly, remove from heat and add the Ener-G Egg Replacer, about a third at a time, beating well after each addition until the dough is glossy, smooth, and pulls away from the pan.

Shape the puffs as desired–just make sure each puff/eclair is rounded enough to fill with custard. Bake at 400 degrees for 10 minutes, then lower heat to 350 for another 30-40 minutes (half way through, flip the puffs over so that they bake evenly). Once slightly golden on the bottom, turn off oven and allow the puffs to cool with the door slightly cracked for another 20 minutes. Take out of oven and set aside.

For the filling (adapted from Veg Source–link no longer vaild):
2 c soy milk
3/4 c sugar
3 tbsp cornstarch
1 tsp vanilla
4 springs fresh mint, chopped finely

Mix 1/4 cup soy milk with cornstarch. Set aside.

Bring 1 & 3/4 cups of soy milk and sugar to a boil in a saucepan. Once boiling, immediately remove from heat. Stir the cornstarch mixture into the boiling soy milk. Cook the mixture over low heat, stirring constantly, until thick like pudding.

Remove from heat. Stir in vanilla and mint. Set aside.

For the glaze:
3/4 c powdered sugar
1/2 oz light rum (I use Bacardi)
zest of one lime
juice of half a lime

In a small bowl, mix together all ingredients until a glaze forms. Add more sugar or rum until you achieve the consistency you want.

To assemble:
Cut the puffs/eclairs into two pieces (1/3 for the top, 2/3 for the bottom–not an exact half) with a serrated knife. Pick out the doughy insides to form cavities.

Scoop 1-2 tsp of the custard into the puffs then drizzle the glaze on top.

Let chill for at least 1 hour, then serve!

Comments
5 Responses to “Monday Archive–Mojito Eclairs (and a sold car!)”
  1. shellyfish says:

    I haven’t made those éclairs in so long…but now I am craving them – and mojito flavoured on top of it – yummy!

  2. Hot damn that was fast! Congratulations! And WOW, those eclairs are stunning!

  3. Beth says:

    Holy Moly…that’s the fastest car sale I’ve ever heard of! I can see why they wanted it, though…your Civic looks fantastic to be 18 years old.

    Your eclairs look fantastic, too!

  4. Jessica says:

    A chilled minty dessert sounds perfect, and mojito flavors sound great with eclairs. I wouldn’t have thought of that, but I rarely make desserts at home.

    Congrats on selling the car quickly! I hope to drive my 2003 Civic another 10 years, but maybe when I’m ready to let go, I’ll have similar luck.

  5. lazysmurf says:

    want! Can you just come over and make them for me?

Leave a Reply

