Magical Mister Mistoffelees

This is one of the hardest posts I’m going to have to write. On Sunday morning at 4:30 am, I lost my Siamese boy, Mistoffelees, to congenitive heart failure–something I never knew he had. He was only 9 years old.

On Friday afternoon at 5 pm, he was normal–healthy, eating a mid-day snack, snugging with me when I picked him up–but at 10 pm that evening when I returned home, he was sick, uninterested in food, curled up in a corner, and extremely unresponsive. We took him to G’s house to spend the night with us, and the AC seemed to help him relax and breath better. But after a futile visit to the vet where he was misdiagnosed, he plummeted downhill. By 2 am, we knew we had to take him to the emergency vet, and while there found out it was the end. Out of nowhere, he’s gone.

He was an amazing cat and by far the finest feline I’ve ever encountered in my life. As a Siamese, he was talkative and would carry on entire conversations with me with his strangle little meow-yawps. He was an excellent birder, mouser, and bugger, as evidenced mostly by my time in Virginia. That bird that flew in the house Thanksgiving weekend 2009? While I tried in vain to catch it before it died of its heart beating too fast, Mistoffelees bounded across the room, jumped on the dresser, into the air, and snatched the poor thing in its mouth. I’m certain it died of fright. Afterward, though, he ran into the other room, hid under the bed with the sparrow in his mouth, and growled all while looking super confused and seeming to ask me “what the hell is this thing in my mouth and what do I do with it???” At the cabin, he found mice I never knew I had. Not that I like cats killing other animals, but for a Siamese cat who lived indoors his whole life and was pretty much a lush, his skill was impressive.

But his main hunt was food: bread, muffins, coconut oil, fried eggplant, brownies, chips, salsa, pizza–you name it, I’m sure he ate it. He could rip through plastic wrap, Ziploc bags, and tin foil like no one’s business and scarf down whatever food was inside it. His greatest feat was dragging my roommate’s jar of bacon oil out from under the sink and twisting the lid off it. Yes, the lid. It’s a good thing he didn’t have any extra toes…who knows what he would have done then… Food wasn’t safe around him and with him I learned to hide everything away in the fridge or oven or cabinets.

Laid-back and an ultimate snuggler, I’ll remember sleeping in with him the most, him squished next to me, arms out-stretched, and the content look on his face. I’ll remember how well he put up with all my moves and grieve that, now, I’m probably coming to the end of them and settling down in a place he would have loved so much. He loved sleeping in the sun in windows, he loved sleeping with me. He was a lover, not a hater, and this weekend when the vets asked if he was always this gentle and sweet, the honest truth was “yes.”

He died years before I thought he would and it’s a shock to me and to everyone who knew and loved him that he’s gone. I moved to Roanoke a woman bordering on crazy-cat-lady. Two years ago, there were three. Now there’s one. And Dorian wants to know where the hell he went. It’s quiet around here, too quiet, but I’m glad I had the years with such an amazing companion. He stuck through the worst with me, I just wish he could have had more of the best.

Comments
13 Responses to “Magical Mister Mistoffelees”
  1. Awww! Too cute! I love the one in the blinds!

  2. Renae says:

    Oh, Jes, I am so sorry. That must have been such a shock. I love Siamese cats and Mistoffelees was very beautiful. I know there are many cats and they are all great in their own ways, but sometimes you meet a cat that is just extra, extra special – extra personable, extra loving, extra everything – and it sounds like Mistoffelees was one of those. I especially love mischievous cats, so I particularly loved the stories about his attacks on your food. You’re making me cry at work – ‘m so sorry you lost him so soon.

  3. Jes, I am so sorry for your loss! I know how important animals are – they’re truly part of our families and the love we share with them is deep and sacred. I hope you can find comfort in the fact that Mistoffelees had a great nine years at your side. Lots of love to you.

  4. Oh, Jes, I am so sorry! He sounds like he was a good friend, and those photos really show off his beautiful blue eyes. My heart goes out to you and Mister Mistoffelees.

  5. Drew says:

    It is the hardest thing, ever. Losing a dear pet wrenches like nothing else does. My heart goes out to you.

  6. eileen says:

    Oh, no! I am so sorry for your loss. Poor kitty.

  7. Beth says:

    You’ve written a wonderful tribute to Mister Mistoffelees, Jes. I’m so sorry to hear of your loss—I know from experience how much it hurts to lose such a dear friend. I’m sorry he was here for such a short time, but it sounds like he had a full and happy life. What a lovely kitty he was…

  8. Jac says:

    I am so sorry to hear this. My partner and I had a blended kitty family of three and we lost our Princess boy a few months ago. He was the first pet I’d ever lost, and I miss him terribly still. Hugs to your furry family. ❤

  9. veggienetters says:

    We lost our sweet 16 year old Chanel a month ago today. 2 of our other 7 furbabies are 8 years old right now, and I can’t image what it would feel like to lose them. I’m so sorry for your loss. He was a lucky kitty to have you to spoil him rotten. Since her passing, the other cats won’t leave our sides and all of them pile up in the bed with us everynight. My husband and I wake every morning a furry butt in our face. I don’t know know why they think we love the business end as much as they do.

    My black kitty Minnie will eat ANYTHING– salsa, french onion soup, sour cream, even jalapenos! She was fighting me for the Spinning Spider Creamery Chevre last night! No way she’s getting my $10 goat cheese!

  10. rebecca says:

    So, so sorry to hear about your sweet kitty. Brings me back to when I lost my Bagheera too soon a few years ago…those special ones always have a piece of your heart.

  11. Jessica says:

    So sorry Jes – he sounds like a really special cat. What a surprise, and how frustrating with the vet trouble. I’m glad to see you pull together so many sweet memories.

  12. I’m so sorry to hear this… What a terrible thing to have to endure. My heart goes out to you and everyone else in Mistoffelee’s family.

  13. Gina says:

    I truly believe that our pets are God’s gift. He intends for us to watch and learn from His creations. How they give so much to us without asking anything in return. Although, it sounded like Mister Missoffelees found ways of getting what he wanted, as cats often do. He will be missed but always remembered.

Leave a Reply

