First Market of the Year & Spring Quiche

Spring has finally sprung here in southwestern Virginia, and while I have a love-hate relationship to the season thanks to pollen allergies, I love the fact that it’s officially farmers market season! Yesterday, in addition to the Earth Day celebration in Grandin Village, was the opening day for the Grandin Village Farmers Market, and it was oh-so-wonderful to see so many farmer-friends that I’ve missed all winter. I hauled away a bit too much–asparagus, chicory, radishes, spinach, oh my!–but I’m determined to put it to good use, which means, of course, some recipes!

Although I don’t celebrate the holiday, today is Easter and it seemed apt to make a spring quiche: buckwheat crust with buckwheat flour milled at Mabry Mills off the Blue Ridge Parkway, duck eggs from Arcadia Farm, fresh asparagus from Thistle Dew farms, potatoes from Giles county, half & half from the dairy down the road–it doesn’t get any better than this. So happy Easter, Pesach, Spring–whatever it is you’re celebrating–and I hope everyone’s having a beautiful weekend!

Comments
7 Responses to “First Market of the Year & Spring Quiche”
  1. Beautiful produce overload! I hope you rode your bike there and read some poems aloud! 😉

  2. rebecca says:

    Happy Spring Jes! It was so great to see my about to be neighborhood market kick off it’s new year – thanks for the photo tour! I”ll be there for the May 29th goodies… Good luck finishing up the last of your MFA work and celebrate big when you’re done!

  3. brandi says:

    I’m so happy to see the markets filling up again 🙂

  4. What a stunning quiche! Makes me want to replicate it in tofu and olive oil over here. 😉 I just love asparagus, so any new way to feature them certainly has my attention.

  5. Beautiful pictures of the Grandin Road Market and my art work! Thank you, Bridgetblocks

  6. Barbara says:

    You’re lucky your farmers markets are up and running in Virginia, Jes. That quiche says spring to me!

  7. Lisa Plummer says:

    Just happened across your blog and so happy I did. We walk to the market just about every Saturday and it’s wonderful to see these beautiful pics. Loving the rest of your blog, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

