Sriracha Cheesecake For My Birthday (and a race!)

It’s my birthday today!  Which means I get the excuse to laze around on a in bed with the window open, the breeze filtering in, a Belgian brew in hand.  (Ignoring responsibilities is just too good.)

But the day wasn’t all lazy & lush & spring-tastic (sunny & 65 degrees!), I swear! I started it off by running in the Mountain Junkies Montvale 5 Mile trail race. It’s my second race in the series (ran a 5K two weekends ago) and only my second trail race AND the longest I’ve ever run, which is kind of ridiculous, but I’m not much of a runner, so five miles is a lot to me. The trails were really fun, a mix of mountain biking trails which went up and down (of course), but with a lot of switchbacks and gradual climbs and easy cross sections of the mountain itself.  But beyond the trails, the race organization was fantastic, as always.  I’ve had some “meh” moments with races before, but both Mountain Junkies races have been fantastic with plenty of encouraging folks on the trails, tons of pre-race info, and some fantastic post-race snacks (note: always eat the banana with bites of salted chocolate in between–mmm).

Though the first half was killer, by mile 2.5 I’d found my legs and was able to plod fairly evenly towards the finish. Slow & sure was my motto. But, hey, for being sick all week I was proud of my 1 hour and 10 minute finish. For the last two miles I was able to chat with and run with two awesome ladies–no idea who they were, but the talk and encouragement was helpful–definitely got me through the end.  And, during the raffle time, I even won a gift certificate for a RoadID which is something I really need if I keep up my running & biking. Awesomeness!

Last week, though, I made my birthday cake for the Feisty Piscies Potluck G & I hosted. A bunch of us are Piscies, so it was fun to get together, eat some awesome vegan and non-vegan food, drink, and play Apples to Apples. My cake was fairly simple and based off my mom’s winning combo–dark chocolate cake with a cheesecake layer in the middle and dark chocolate frosting–but I added a little something feisty to it (well, beyond it being kick-ass vegan). Sriracha! The chocolate layers were from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World and the cheesecake was a riff off my cheesecake bites, but the little sumpin’sumpin’ made it shine. Slightly spicy, very creamy and vanilla-y, with even a smoky hint, the siracha cheesecake proved that, yes, sriracha does go in everything.

Sriracha Swirled Cheesecake

1 14 oz package firm silken tofu (NoriMu)
12 oz Tofutti cream cheese
1 1/3 cup sugar
1/2 cup soy milk
3 tsp vanilla extract
4 tbsp arrowroot powder
Sriracha

Preheat oven to 350F.

Place silken tofu and vegan cream cheese in the food processor. Process for 1 minute, then add sugar. Process until smooth and no sugar granules remain, 3-5 minutes.

In a small bowl, whisk the cornstarch into the soy milk and vanilla and almond extracts. Pour mixture into the food processor and process until very smooth.

Pour into a foil lined 9″ springform pan. Squeeze siracha in lines across cheesecake batter. With a knife, swirl the siracha into the cheesecake batter.

Bake for an hour and a half. Refrigerate for at least 4 hours before serving (best overnight).

Comments
15 Responses to “Sriracha Cheesecake For My Birthday (and a race!)”
  1. eileen says:

    Sriracha cheesecake? I MUST HAVE IT.

  2. Josh Gilbert says:

    Great job out there today Jessica. Way to end a week of being run down with a fantastic effort. Thanks for playing with us.

  3. Kiersten says:

    Happy Birthday! And all I can say about that cake is…WOW. Nice job on the race. I wish I could run that far.

  4. rebecca says:

    Happy Birthday! And what a fantastic way to celebrate it. I am inspired to follow your lead with running and biking as I am trying to get myself back to pre-Arkansas shape (this place hasn’t been good for any part of me – physically or psychologically). And siracha cheesecake???!!! You’re talking to a woman who has chili peppers etched on her wedding ring – I must try that!

  5. Chuck says:

    Congrats on the race! That looks like a blast- I almost did a couple races this year but it didn’t work out! Glad you had fun

  6. Monica says:

    When I first saw this, I read “Sriracha Cheesecake” – now that would be something! A very happy birthday to you. It’s so refreshing to read about running from a down-to-earth normal person (vs some super-trainer extraordinaire). You look great, by the way!

  7. Becky says:

    Happy birthday, fellow Pisces! That cake sounds a.maz.ING!!

  8. chow vegan says:

    Happy Birthday! Sounds like you had a great day! Wow, your birthday cheesecake looks beautiful! and with sriracha? Awesome! 🙂

  9. James I says:

    Thanks for the race report!

    I linked your blog from the Mountain Junkies FB page.

    I’d love to see more race reports of local races, I’m tempted to do one myself, as I enjoy reading those from others (deterred by the concern of time commitment), but I dont know of anyone blogging about Roanoke area races, I hope to see you keep running and typing.

    Me too mostly vegetarian 🙂
    See you at the races!

  10. Renae says:

    Happy birthday (a couple of days late)! That cake looks AMAZING. I know what kind of cake Mark is getting for his birthday… And congratulations on the race!

  11. Sriracha in a cheese cake?! Would have never thought of that. Guess it’s kinda like the catanne kick in Mexican hot chocolate, huh?

  12. Barbara says:

    OMG, Jes, you have combined two of my favorite things: chocolate and Sriracha! What a cool combination – I am going to have to try this recipe for sure, especially when my vegan friends come to visit.

  13. Jessica says:

    Happy birthday (late!) – sounds like a good day.

    That cheesecake sounds good, as does banana and salted chocolate.

  14. Happy (super belated) birthday!! What a cake! I love the stringy chocolate on top. The sriracha makes it sound so exotic and gourmet. Interesting!

    Congrats on finishing the race! You look so proud of yourself! 🙂

  15. Mary Bebu says:

    This sounds delicious! I only wish I had known about it for my Pisces husband’s birthday-guess I’ll have to make it for my own in June! 🙂 This is a very interesting blog. I was born in Roanoke and lived there until 2000. I didn’t even know what a vegan was back then! Now I am vegan (about 5 yrs) and living in the Lowcountry of SC-talk about a challenge. I’m excited to try your place (Big Pine) for lunch when I go home to visit the folks.

Leave a Reply

