Spinach Soup for St. Paddy’s

Confession: I am wearing nothing green right now and I haven’t all day.

Now that’s out of the way, how about the recipe? It’s St. Patrick’s Day, which I could really care less about, but somehow the next recipe I had to post was an uber green one. So what better day to post it than the greenest day of the year? Running with Tweezers, a fabulous food stylist & blogger in Atlanta, posted her Silky Spinach Soup a few weeks ago, I immediately bookmarked it–if only because she posted it right when we received a shipment of local, fresh, organic spinach at the store, which I, of course, bought a bag of. Who can resist fresh, local spinach in February?

Silky and fresh and beautiful, this soup ate easily and disappeared quickly. It’s hard to resist and hard to not make, give the simplicity of it. Broth, potatoes, onion, spinach. Add whatever else suits your fancy. And if nothing else, it certainly put me in the mood for Spring!

Spinach Soup

adapted very slightly from Running with Tweezers

2 tbsp olive oil
1 onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 medium-large potato, peeled & chunked
4 c vegetable stock
8 oz fresh spinach
1 tsp aleppo pepper
1/2 tsp nutmeg
2 tbsp red wine
salt & fresh ground black pepper to taste

In a large stock pot, warm the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onions and saute until translucent, 3-4 minutes. Add the garlic and saute for another minute, until fragrant.

Add the peeled potatoes. Stir to coat and begin softening them for 2 to 3 minutes.

Add the vegetable broth, bring to a boil, then reduce heat to a simmer. Cover and cook the potatoes until fork tender–15 or 20 minutes.

Add in the spinach and cook until just wilted.

In a food processor, puree the soup to desired consistency. Return to the soup pot and stir in the red wine, aleppo pepper, nutmeg and salt & pepper to taste.

Serves 4-6

Comments
4 Responses to “Spinach Soup for St. Paddy’s”
  1. That’s some serious green!

    I asked, on the day, whether it was St. Patrick’s Day. Nobody over here seemed to know. One reply was, “we don’t care about that over here, nor do they care over in Ireland, either.”

    Go figure. It’s an American holiday.

  2. Renae says:

    I was embarrassed to realize when I got to work yesterday that I WAS wearing green, quite accidentally. Which is weird because 29 days out of 30, I’m wearing all black.

    Anyway, the soup looks great and I’ve never though to make pureed spinach soup.

  3. Kiersten says:

    I don’t care about St. Patrick’s Day either, I just used it (like Valentine’s Day) as an excuse to cook something festive. Your soup sounds yummy, I’m adding this to my bookmarked recipes.

  4. The Teenage Taste says:

    I almost forget it was St Patrick’s Day on St. Patrick’s Day! Oops! I guess it’s never too late to celebrate. The soup looks delicious – how festive! :]

Leave a Reply

