Thankful


Thankful: 1. (a) “Feeling or expressing thanks or gratitude; prompted by feelings of gratitude; grateful.” –The Oxford English Dictionary

Today I woke up with an intense feeling thankfulness–for Roanoke, for my friends & family, and, most of all, for G.  I’m not a big Valentine’s Day fan, but I don’t mind the reminder to consciously acknowledge love (and my love).  Life is so short, as I’ve been painfully reminded over and over and over again–relationships count.  So, though it may seem more fitting for a holiday we Americans celebrate in November, I am thankful. I would be nowhere without my mother or the friends who have supported me over the years, or the relationships I’ve cultivated (even the ones that ended, and ended badly).  And G.?  Good god, I’m thankful for G.

Comments
7 Responses to “Thankful”
  1. Meri says:

    I think its a nice idea to think of gratitude on valentines day!
    What a nice sentiment
    Meri
    merigoesround.blogspot.com

  2. Happy Valentine’s Day to you! I used to dislike V-Day but the older I get the more excited I am for any excuse to celebrate, eat candy, and wear a festive color. Sounds like you have a lot to celebrate! 🙂

  3. Sara says:

    Hello…I’m not a fan of Valentine’s Day … but every single day is an opportunity to celebrate love!

  4. eileen says:

    Aw, cute! Happy v-day!

  5. Bruce says:

    I knew you were a softy. Don’t worry that’s a GOOD thing!By the way,great picture. 😉

  6. Beth says:

    What a lovely idea to see Valentine’s Day as a time to be thankful for the love we have! I thank you for reminding me of that, Jes.

Leave a Reply

