Roasted Parsnip & Carrot Soup w/ Black Truffle

Post-sick and on my way to AWP, the annual writers conference, which is being held in Washington D.C. this year.  It should be a good time, and, of course, I’m on the lookout for suggestions on where to eat.  G & I have plans to hit up Meskerem, an Ethiopian restaurant for sure, and I’m jonesing on Birch & Barley, a gastropub with a delicious looking list of brews and some amazing eats. But there’s plenty of other meals to be eaten and I don’t have a good grasp on the DC scene–help!

Before I hit the road, though, I whipped up some kickin’ soup with a more gourmet-ish twist. One of my friends traveled to Spain last spring and brought me back a little jar of saffron and another one with a black truffle. I’ve been saving them since then (and still haven’t broken out the saffron yet), but after eating Lucky’s chestnut soup with black truffle, I knew I wanted to do something similar, but with whatever I had on hand. The soup is great without the truffle oil or black truffle shavings, but they definitely add that sumpin’sumpin’–an earthiness and depth that makes the dish shine, especially during these bleak winter days.

Roasted Parsnip & Carrot Soup w/ Black Truffle

5 medium parsnips, peeled
3 medium carrots, peeled
2 medium onions, peeled & quartered
olive oil
1 c coconut milk
2 c vegetable broth
salt & pepper to taste

black truffle oil
shaved black truffle for garnish

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

Chop the parsnips and carrots into even sized pieces. Place parsnips, carrots, and onions in a baking dish. Drizzle with olive oil & roast for 30-40 minutes, until tender. Remove from oven, let cool.

In a food processor, puree the vegetables with coconut milk and vegetable broth. Add salt & pepper to taste.

Serve with a drizzle of black truffle oil & shaved truffles.

Comments
10 Responses to “Roasted Parsnip & Carrot Soup w/ Black Truffle”
  1. jessy says:

    i don’t think i’ve ever had truffles before, Jes – and your roasted parsnip & carrot soup looks beautiful & ever-so comforting! i love the gourmet-ish touch!

    as for DC, i’ve only eaten at a handful of places, but i know that Sticky Fingers Bakery rocks (they have some g-f cuppies, too!). i hear Soul Veg is crazy yummy & Asylum has vegan brunch on sundays (i think it’s on sundays): http://www.asylumdc.com/?page_id=231

  2. I think I’d make it with chili-oil instead of truffle, but sounds yummy!

  3. Barbara says:

    What a gorgeous shot of that yummy soup, Jes, which would hit the spot right now in the midst of this “snowpocalypse” here in the Northeast.

  4. Jessica says:

    This looks like a great way to use a special ingredient!

    I have no advice for DC dining, but I’ll be eager to see what you find. I hope you are enjoying the conference!

  5. eileen says:

    Hey, now there are at least two food bloggers at AWP this year: you and Bronwen of Bread and Jam for Frances! YAY

    I have a bunch of parsnips and carrots in the veg drawer right now! Perhaps this will be their fate…(cue evil laughter).

  6. amandatrombley says:

    Yum…looks delicious. I have yet to buy truffle oil..must look into that soon. I hope you have a great time at the conference!

  7. THIS. Looks incredible. Super simple, but so rich and decadent… And check out those whole truffle bits! I’ve never had actual truffle, just truffle oil. Oh, the things I would do for a bowlful of this soup..

  8. rebecca says:

    I was hoping you’d post a recipe when you twittered about roasting vegetables…I love anything that involves roasted vegetables – especially in winter. Will definitely give this a whirl when I head back home (in boston right now to see my sister’s new baby). Can’t give any D.C. food advice but wish I could join you at the Ethiopian place. I haven’t had Ethiopian since I left NYC 20 years ago and still have fantasies about it. Another point for Roanoke – driving distance to Ethiopian.

  9. Rachel says:

    Oh yum. I don’t have truffles or truffle oil but the base of this soup alone looks fantastic. I am going to make this as soon as I can and I subscribed so I can keep the recipes coming =)

    Also, I adore the photo of your cabin. You are living one of my dream lives (I have several)

Leave a Reply

