Buckwheat Chocolate Chip Cookies & an Apple Cider Toddy

Greetings from a decidedly wintery Turkey Holler! This weekend the first snow of the season blew in and while I’d like to say that I tucked into the cabin & weathered a fun couple of days, the truth is that I pretty much flipped out and acted like an ostrich with my head in the sand. Snow. I just wasn’t ready for that yet.

But I survived and some might even say I thrived, the highlights being finally figuring out how to work my damn wood burning stove, starting the first successful fire in the fire place, and enjoying the mile tromp up the mountain from where I parked my car. The tromp was lovely–dusk turning quickly to night, all gray, all quiet.

Thankfully the storm wasn’t bad, and while a nice dusting is still up here at the cabin, all the roads are clear and business was usual today. Post-class, though, I needed a break (especially when I realized it was 46 degrees inside the cabin when I got home–eep!). Cookies fit the bill. Chocolate cookies. Chocolate whole-grain cookies. Chocolate whole grain gluten-free cookies? Sure, why not!

I’m happy with the cookies. They’re definitely a twist from the norm, much like my much-loved Rye Chocolate Chip Cookies, and the use of buckwheat & brown sugar gives a nice, nutty depth to the cookie. There’s even a hint of toffee, though I have no idea how it made it in there. Paired with a heartwarming cup of Apple Cider Toddy, I couldn’t ask for a better afternoon. Now if I can just finish that PhD application…

Gluten-Free Buckwheat Chocolate Chip Cookies & an Apple Cider Toddy

For the cookies:

1/2 c Earth Balance
3/4 c brown sugar
1 tbsp ground flax seeds + 3 tbsp hot water
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 c buckwheat flour
1/4 c quinoa flour
1/4 c potato starch
1/8 c sorghum flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp xanthum gum
1/2 tsp salt
1 c chocolate chips

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

In the bowl of an electric mixer, cream the Earth Balance and brown sugar. Add the ground flax seed and water and mix until well combined.

Add the flours, baking soda, xanthum gum, and salt. Mix to combine. Fold in the chocolate chips.

On an oiled baking sheet, scoop 1 tbsp of batter per cookie. Bake for 10-12 minutes, until golden brown on bottoms.

For the Apple Cider Toddy:

8 oz raw, unfiltered apple cider
1 oz whiskey

In a small saucepan, warm the apple cider over medium-high heat. Pour into cup. Add whiskey of choice. Stir. Enjoy!

Comments
13 Responses to “Buckwheat Chocolate Chip Cookies & an Apple Cider Toddy”
  1. Jojo says:

    Oh yum, your cookies look delicious.

  2. peggy says:

    that cabin looks so wonderful. i love hot cider toddy’s too!

  3. Renae says:

    Jes, I wish you’d posted this cookie recipe two weeks ago when Mark and I were baking GF cookies for his company’s Thanksgiving potluck and he wanted to make something for a GF co-worker – these look MUCH better than what we ended up with!

    Your cabin is so cute and even looks cozy surrounded by snow, but mostly I am disturbed that you live in the same state as me and have already seen that awful white stuff.

    PS Can you do a post on making the wood burning stove work?! We have one we don’t know how to use, although fortunately it’s not our only source of heat!

  4. JennShaggy says:

    Those cookies and cider sound amazing 🙂

    Thank you so much for the complements. It’s one hell of a repost…one of my favorite recipes.

  5. brandi says:

    i love the cabin. that’s one of our dreams – to have a cabin in the woods.

    And I actually have buckwheat flour! Do you think the cookies would work without the quinoa flour? I don’t have that.

    I love a good apple cider toddy. Had one over Thanksgiving 😉

    • Jes says:

      Brandi,

      I’d just sub regular flour for the non-buckwheat flour (and you’d obviously not need the xanthum gum in that case). Not gluten-free, but probably de-lish!

  6. Well, I’ve been in the midst of creating a christmas cookie list for quite a while now, and thanks to you, I’ve just added two more recipes to my list! I’d never have thought to use rye flour in chocolate chip cookies, but since I have a bag lying around, I’m definitely going to try it!

  7. Jessica says:

    I like buckwheat pancakes, so cookies sounds like the next logical step! Perfect with the snow and toddy cider.

  8. shellyfish says:

    holy shit girl heat yourself up! that is darn cold, I hope you have hot water bottles to stay warm in bed.
    Those cookies sound yummy. We use buckwheat flour so much in baking here & I just love it!

  9. BitterSweet says:

    Great timing, I was just puzzling over what to do with the rest of my buckwheat flour. This sounds like just the ticket! Great that they’re even gluten-free, too.

  10. I love that fireplace pic! Oh…and my new blender is a Vitamix. 🙂

  11. Beth says:

    Your little cabin looks absolutely enchanting, Jes, with that smoke curling from the chimney.

    The cookies sound lovely, but this morning, with the temps at 12 degrees and snow still on the ground, I am freezing, and that apple cider toddy sounds just right. If I had any whiskey, I’d make it right now. I don’t mean to complain, but, Lordy, I am already weary of winter.

  12. Charla wurster knapp says:

    Hello the cookies sound wonderful and apple cider is my favorite on a snowy day! However living in the deep south we rarely experience the peaceful shimmer of snowflakes unless it’s synthetic! Wanted to tell you Mrs Wurster of Jonesville LA is my mom and she is a graceful 88. Thanks for sharing her BBQ sauce recipe and the story !

Leave a Reply

