Vegan MoFo Day 20: Mad Mex–Pittsburgh

Wait, what?  It’s the end of Vegan MoFo 2010?!  Already?!  Aren’t we just getting going?

I have to admit, though, I’m a bit whipped.  My goal was to post every weekday, which I missed two of due to Thanksgiving/G’s birthday, but I still made 20 posts.  I’m pleased with that!  I’m still annoyed that I have so much to catch up on on you all’s blogs, but I’ll get there soon enough.

In the meantime, how about another Pittsburgh vegan yumminess post?  Seriously, this town is great to visit as a vegan!  I even found some vegan, gluten-free goodness that I’ll post about later this week.  This one was almost gluten-free and could be made so if you requested crunchy corn tortillas or just ate the plate sans-tortilla.  Yup, Mad Mex!

Mad Mex originated in Oakland–Oakland, the area of Pittsburgh that is, and the one we went to was in the Monroeville suburb. I had a confusing time of that, thinking G meant Oakland, California, not Pittsburgh, and then why the heck would it make its way out to the other side of the nation without chains anywhere else? I figured I would have heard of it otherwise. But I digress. Mad Mex is a typical Tex-Mexy joint, but with a California/fresh flair. They also have a number of vegan and veggie options, something I really don’t expect outside of a major east coast city like Boston, Philly, DC, or NYC.

I had hard time deciding, but finally went with the “Overtly Masculine Grilled Portabello with foo-foo Tofu Fajita.”‘ Comeon, with an awesomely long veg-tastic name like that, how could you not? True to promise, the fajitas mix was loaded with marinated portabellos, tofu, onions, red and green bell peppers, etc. I also got vegan cheese and vegan sour cream for extra. And guess what! The vegan sour cream is made in-house! It’s not even purchased, but made in the restaurant. Super extra points for that.

While the food at Mad Mex isn’t blow-your-mind good, it’s incredible for a chain restaurant in a strip mall infested suburb. Fresh ingredients, vegan options, a decent margarita: I couldn’t have asked for anything more. Plus it was a crowd pleaser for everyone from the 12 year old to the eighty-four year old. If you’re in Pittsburgh, or apparently Columbus, you should hit Mad Mex up. Get some vegan sour cream!

Mad Mex (Monroeville)
4055 Monroeville Boulevard
Monroeville, PA 15146-2522
(412) 349-6767

Posts of MoFos Past:

October 2009: Dark Wholemeal Break with Flax Seeds
October 2008: Perfect Split Pea Soup, Pumpkin Swirl Brownies

Leave a Reply

