Vegan MoFo Day 19: Maple Siracha Sweet Potatoes

Well, I definitely missed a few days around Thanksgiving.  Oops.  And I haven’t had the chance to keep up on blogs either–I’m terrified to look at my reader!  BUT I am excited to see what everyone whipped up for Thanksgiving and the days after; it’s always one of my favorite food blog times of the year.  And now into the rest of the holiday season for some of us?  Mmm should be delicious!

Things have been chilly & wonderful here in Pittsburgh, and G & I are about to drive south to Roanoke, but first I wanted to share my favorite part of our Thanksgiving meal (well, besides the pies–I so made that bourbon chocolate pecan pie, but with sorghum this time!). Sweet potatoes are an integral part of almost any meal for me (I just can’t get enough of them every winter), and this Thanksgiving I wanted to riff on my maple pecan roasted sweet potatoes. I also wanted all the side dishes to be super simple since I’d put in so many pre-Thanksgiving hours in the kitchen. These sweet potatoes pop with sweet & spicy goodness, for sure. And the great thing is that you can change the ratios to reflect how spicy or how sweet you want them. Plus, the crunch toasty pecans on top give a great texture contrast to the dish. I wasn’t sure how they’d go over with G’s family, but everyone seemed to dig them and G & I definitely thought they were the best side dish. Hooray!

Posts of MoFos Past:

October 2009: Apple Butter, Curried Winter Squash Soup,
October 2008: “Beef,” Leek, & Barley Soup, Herb Batter Bread

Maple Siracha Sweet Potatoes

2 lb sweet potatoes, peeled & sliced into 1/4 inch thick rounds
1 tbsp olive oil
3 tbsp pure maple syrup
1 tbsp Siracha sauce (more to taste)
1 c pecans, chopped

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.

On a parchment lined baking pan, arrange the sweet potato rounds in a single layer. With a pasty brush, brush the olive oil on them. Put in oven to begin roasting.

Immediately mix the maple syrup and siracha together. Taste and adjust as desired. Open the oven and brush most of the maple-Siracha mixture on top of the sweet potatoes. Close door and let roast for 20-30 minutes until soft when poked with a fork.

Open the oven again and brush the remaining maple-siracha mixture on the sweet potatoes. Sprinkle the pecans on top. Cook for an additional 5 minutes, then remove from oven and let cool.

Serves 6-8

Comments
8 Responses to “Vegan MoFo Day 19: Maple Siracha Sweet Potatoes”
  1. Holy yum! These look amazing!

  2. Ricki says:

    Holy yum is right! I, too, adore sweet potatoes. Hope you submit this to the SOS Challenge this month–the ingredient is sweet potatoes! 🙂

  3. Noelle says:

    Seriously! Submit then to the SOS Challenge. I am making these SUPER soon. I am making Swwet Potato Latkes tonight or tomorrow if your recipe does not get in the way, 😀

  4. Leinana says:

    YUM! These sound delicious, I absolutely love the maple & Sriracha combo. I have a brussels sprout recipe using both items on my blog, I think you might like it: http://vegangoodthings.blogspot.com/2010/03/eat-your-brussels-sprouts.html

  5. chow vegan says:

    Oh wow, those look so good! Interesting combo of the maple syrup and the siracha, I love how it’s so simple but different. 🙂

  6. Jessica says:

    Now that T-giving is over, I have so many new ideas for sweet potatoes! These sound great. By the way, I made your chocolate pecan pie for the holiday and it was delicious! I sent a quarter of it home with my mom and now I kind of wish I’d kept it all.

  7. feerlessfood says:

    Hmmm… Maple syrup and Siracha? This I may have to try…

  8. Kiersten says:

    I love sweet potatoes, sriracha, and maple syrup. This recipe was made for me! I am trying it out ASAP.

Leave a Reply

