Vegan MoFo Day 17: Nawab, Roanoke

Whew, I’ve made it out on the road finally! Yup, I’m blogging from the passenger’s seat again (technology is so crazy sometimes). G & I are Pittsburgh bound and I’m excited to get a few days off from cooking. Also, apparently they make refrigerated coolers–how awesome is that? Plug it into the cigarette lighter and you have a fridge in the car. You can also plug it into the wall. It’s making my life a breeze Thanksgiving transportation-wise.

But back to food. When I moved to Roanoke, one of the first restaurants I looked up was Nawab, an Indian restaurant in downtown Roanoke. While it’s taken awhile for it to grow on me, as of my last visit, I’m definitely a fan. It’s not the most authentic and I still miss my North Decatur Indian district in Atlanta, but it’s a good option for vegan eats in Roanoke. Last week G. & I used one of those Daily Deal coupons which gave us $30 of food & drink for $15. For a starter, we split the Dakshin Tamatar Shorba, a tomato and coconut soup. For some odd reason I never think about soup in Indian cuisine. I might now be addicted to this one though. The coconut gives a sharp tangy undertone to the tomatoes and some spices come through–mustard, curry, etc.

We then each ordered our own entrees: the Vegetable Korma for me and the Chicken Tikka Masala for G. The Vegetable Korma is one of the first things I ever noticed on the menu at Nawab, and a reason why I think it’s an excellent vegan-friendly restaurant in Roanoke. Instead of using cream, the korma uses cashew cream–100% vegan! Several other curries, besides the saag paneer are vegan as well. Which I haven’t really tried because I like the korma the best, but maybe I should branch out soon. The korma features a bunch of different vegetables–broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, peas, etc. and is delightfully creamy. And this time they actually made it with the right heat level for me–Indian hot, which translates to normal in Atlanta, but perfect and exactly what I wanted: the rush of hot peppers that mellows out with each bite.

While Nawab has room for improvement, I’m happy enough with it, especially if they can continue to make my order hot enough for me. (smile) What can I say, I like spicy food!

Nawab
118 Campbell Avenue Southeast
Roanoke, VA 24011
(540) 345-5150

Posts of MoFos Past:

October 2009: —
October 2008: Pumpkin Pie Muffins

Comments
5 Responses to “Vegan MoFo Day 17: Nawab, Roanoke”
  1. Looks great and it is very cool that they use cashew cream!

  2. The soup you ordered sounds wonderful. I don’t eat soup often, but when I’m at indian restaurants I always get sambar. I also always order baingan bharta for my entree which is the most delicious eggplant dish ever. I really need to branch out more but I can’t seem to make myself!

  3. Chuck says:

    I’ll be in Roanoke in a few weeks! Some how… Ever been to Starlight Bikes? I’ll be picking up my 2 new bikes!

  4. Looks quite tasty! Have a happy Thanksgiving!

  5. rebecca says:

    Thanks for the Nawab review! I’m thrilled at the idea of having a good Indian restaurant in town. Despite an Indian population here, and a really good Indian grocery, there are no good restaurants. I’ve taken to cooking it myself – which I enjoy – but it’s usually a 1-2 day project – not something I have time for very often.

Leave a Reply

