Vegan MoFo Day 15: I <3 ATL, Green Sprout

I’ve been craving Green Sprout for weeks now. Since moving here I’ve stayed away from Chinese take-out-style food, simply because I know it isn’t and will never be what Green Sprout is. We’re talking the freshest of fresh vegetables; vegan chicken and beef that will blow you away with its authenticity (I couldn’t eat the beef at first because it was too real tasting & texture-wise). While the service can be glacial at times, and the decor definitely isn’t the coziest, the food is what brings me back again and again to Green Sprout.


Pictured here are the curry spring rolls: a spicy-sweet mixture of veggies, rolled up in spring roll wrappers, and fried to a crispy golden goodness. I remember the dipping sauce being a nice curry paste blend. Oh, and vegan boba? How great is that?! I used to be addicted to the drink when Teaspace was around back in the early 2000s in Little Five Points, but after going vegan, it was off limits. The folks at Green Sprout use all vegan ingredients though, so boba (bubble tea) can be back in the mix for Atlanta vegans.

My other favorite must-have dish is Empire Chicken: a mix of fried vegan chicken, broccoli, cauliflower, mushrooms, and bell peppers in a spicy-sweet die-for sauce. It’s take-out Chinese at it’s best. It’s what you see in the Portland vegan posts but in an unexpected shopping mall just outside of Midtown Atlanta. And it really has the taste and texture of chicken, which is crazy, but another good reason to go to Green Sprout. I love bringing my meat loving friends here and tricking them with the “meats.” This isn’t chicken, they always ask. Nope, it isn’t. It’s better!

Green Sprout
1529 Piedmont Avenue, Suite D
Atlanta, GA 30324
404-874-7373

Posts of MoFos Past:

October 2009: Alternative Thanksgiving Tonight!
October 2008: —

Comments
6 Responses to “Vegan MoFo Day 15: I <3 ATL, Green Sprout”
  1. Kiersten says:

    You just gave me a major craving for Chinese food!

  2. Jojo says:

    Woah, that empire chicken looks really amazing.

  3. Empire chicken is my fav! I love GS! I think I might go tomorrow! Rumor has it, they are struggling to stay open! 😦

  4. Yay Green Sprout! I’m with Vic – the Empire Chicken is the tops. I like it even more now that I learned you can ask them to skip the breading on the chicken!

  5. Mandee says:

    Wow, that looks like a great restaurant. The sauce with the spring rolls looks rich and delicious and the empire dish, amazing!

  6. chow vegan says:

    Yum, that empire chicken dish looks so good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

