Vegan MoFo Day 11: Almost Thanksgiving? Really?

This weekend was amazing: blue skies, 60 degree (F) temps, good friends, good food (post-MoFo I’ll have a review of the brand spankin’ new Lucky Restaurant). I couldn’t have asked for more.

But then today the grey coldness blew back in. Looks like we really are heading for winter. The switch back to the late-fall season reminded me that, holy heck, Thanksgiving is just a little over a week away–how did that happen?! I’m sure by now that you’re getting over-Thanksgivinged, but I’ll add a few more recipes to the mix. You can never have too many choices for pecan pie, right (and by “pecan” I mean “chocolate maple bourbon pecan pie”)? So click away and let me know if you have any requests for Thanksgiving goodness!

Side Dishes

Better than Your Mamma’s Mashed Potatoes (Gluten-Free)
Good Ol’ Southern Collard Greens (Gluten-Free)
Garlicky Kale (Gluten-Free)
Green Bean Casserole Redux
Maple Pecan Roasted Sweet Potatoes (Gluten-Free)
Cranberry Orange Relish (Gluten-Free)
Cornbread Stuffing (Gluten-Free)
Turkey Stuffing, Turkey-Free
Vegan Gravy
Vegan Gluten-Free Gravy

Main Course

Maple Mustard Glazed Butternut Squash (Gluten-Free)
Stuffed Acorn Squash
Gluten-Free Stuffed Acorn Squash

Bread

Gluten-Free Cornbread
Gluten-Free Dinner Rolls
Sweet Potato Yeast Biscuits
Whole Wheat Rye Rolls

PIES!

Perfect Vegan Pie Crust
Perfect Vegan Gluten-Free Pie Crust
All-American Alternative Apple Pie
Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie
Vegan Pumpkin Pie

Posts of MoFos Past:

October 2009: Alternative Thanksgiving, Perfect Vegan Gluten-Free Pie Crust
October 2008: Brussels Sprouts, Pumpkin Pie Bites

Comments
7 Responses to “Vegan MoFo Day 11: Almost Thanksgiving? Really?”
  1. jessy says:

    we used your perfect gluten-free pie crust last year for VWAV’s chocolate pudding pie, Jes. it worked wonderfully – and we’ll be using it again this year, too. sadface for the grey and rain and cooler temperatures. i too was enjoying the 60’s – not too warm, not too cool….they were just right……maybe we’ll have them back for another run before winter gets going. i’m gonna keep my fingers crossed – and i’m gonna check out all your thanksgiving day eats, too! thanks for the links!

  2. chow vegan says:

    Awesome list of Thanksgiving goodness! You covered just about everything. 🙂

  3. All of these recipes sound divine, especially the squash and sweet potato ones!

  4. feerlessfood says:

    I can’t wait to try this butterut squash recipe. Tonight I roast butternut squash chunks with olive oil and maple syrup- was good but needed more maple syrup!

  5. Jessica says:

    I was just going to buy a pre-made pie this year (shame, I know) – but I might have to try the chocolate bourbon pecan pie. We used to call that derby pie.

  6. Kiersten says:

    I swear, I’ve saved so many Thanksgiving recipes lately that it will take me 3 Thanksgivings to get through them all! lol. I definitely want to make that chocolate bourbon pecan pie. I’m drooling just thinking about it.

  7. gail says:

    Jes, thank you for sharing so many wonderful ideas for Thanksgiving dinner! Just yesterday when looking at the calendar did I realize it is only 9 days away – it really snuck up on me this year! Having a list of possibilities of what to bring to T’giving dinner really helps cut down on the stress!

Leave a Reply

