Farmcation, Day 5

Yes! I have survived five days thus far on the farm. And I really don’t want to return to real life tomorrow evening. I mean, it’s not like it’s easy–trust me, it’s not–, and I am aware that I still have a rather romantic view of the whole situation (I’m not having to drive to the feed & seed to get feed, I’m not having to deal with medical issues, no one is giving birth), but I really really really love it here. And, more than anything, I know that I really want a homestead after this week. I mean, you know, after I finish my MFA and my PhD and get a real job and all that jazz. Which will only take…oh…seven to eight more years. Long term planning, my friends, is the only way my life works.

First off, here’s the farmhouse. Gorgeous, isn’t it? You should see the inside! Part of it is built around a log cabin, drywalled off, though, and there’s a nice sized kitchen, one bathroom, a good-sized garage that’s used to house the washer and dryer and all the canning supplies and goods, an upstairs, attic-y bedroom, two bedrooms downstairs, and two main rooms that function as living rooms/study areas. Books and kitchen things all over. A huge wood stove to heat the place in winter. It’s perfect.

And if you’re a guest, how about a stay in the guest-cabin? Seriously, they have a cabin that functions as a guest bedroom. The best night of sleep I think I’ve ever had was the night I slept in it–sheep noises are utterly addiction. Who needs to count sheep if you can hear them?

Of course a farm needs a barn. And pastures.

And what better to find in a barn than a lady goat lounging on a haybale? She’s found quite the spot, I think.

Or how about a brooder who swears she’ll hatch that egg. After a long stare down, with me walking away (being chicken, I guess–whatever that means since obviously the chicken isn’t scared of me), and then coming back, I finally braced myself and covered her face with one hand and plunged my arm underneath her with the other to pick out the egg she was sitting on. It was a terrifying moment. And look at her, she looks so innocent sitting there.

There are also ducks which produce duck eggs which I’m quite addicted to. The eggs are much bigger than chicken eggs and have more fat so they’re creamier. Anyways, my favorite duck here is CD (chocolate drake) and he’s nicknamed the heroin model since he walks uprights, prancing around, and shakes all the time. There’s nothing wrong with him, he just shakes and wobbles. Sometimes so much that he just falls over. Which is hilarious to watch. But he picks himself up, prances some more, and shakes. He’s adorable.  Or aduckable, I should say.

The ducks hang out with the male goats. Look at this one’s beard? Isn’t he a cutie? Well, he is now until he gets horny, and then that’s another story, but luckily I’m not having to deal with that this week.

And here’s my favorite goat picture. He’s sticking his tongue out! Cheeky!

The chickens also hang out with the male goats. All the birds here are super free range, so much so that there are several chickens on the rogue who won’t go back into the chicken houses at night. But most of the chickens and ducks peck around in the grassy male-goat area, which is quite large, so they are able to eat a lot of bugs and things like that.

In another pasture you’ll find the sheep. They’re not as innocent as they look. One is addicted to the goat grain and broke into the goat pen when I was feeding the lady goats at night. It went on an eating rampage, knocking goats out the way with her horns, and it took me 45 minutes to round her out of the pen and back to her ewe in the sheep pasture. Sheep are devious. Cute, utterly cute, but devious.

No farm, of course, is complete without a garden. And while this year I’m sure the garden has taken the heat hard, there are still plenty of vegetables, flowers, and herbs to go around. It’s a beautiful, lush space, curvy with surprises around every bend.

Including this orb spider. I love a good, huge garden spider.

Bumble bees too. Lots of animals, from the bees to the butterflies to the yellow finches, adore these cone flowers. I can’t say I don’t too. Purple flowers are always my favorite.

And if I’m ever in need of a smile, I just look at these sunflowers and everything’s all good. Even the spilled milk and devious sheep and milk that won’t turn into butter even though the recipe said it would.

Really, this whole place gives me the grins. And I’m sad that tomorrow’s my last day. But instead of dwelling on that, I’m just going to enjoy every last second I have here!

Comments
12 Responses to “Farmcation, Day 5”
  1. amz says:

    After months of lurking, Jes, I wanted to tell you how much I enjoy your blog! These farmlife posts have been especially awesome and your photography is amazing! ❤

  2. Kiersten says:

    One glimpse of that spider and I would have been running as far away from the farm as possible. (Can you tell that I don’t like spiders? lol) Those are gorgeous photos. The farmhouse and guest cabin are so cute!

  3. I am with you! I want a farm! 🙂 I love the pictures as well.

    You have earned the Happy 101 award, stop by my page and claim it!

  4. What a beautiful place! Glad you’re enjoying yourself and sharing with us!

  5. karin griffiths says:

    I was so happy to see Arcadia Farm on your blog. We are Kirsten’s parents and have been doing farmcations there, too. But thanks for doing it because it is a bit hard for us. It is a magical place, though, and we love it. Your pictures are beautiful. Thanks Karin and Dave

  6. SueAnn says:

    What a delightful glimpse into farm life. What a sweet vacation you are on!
    Thanks for sharing and your pics are fabulous!
    Hugs
    SueAnn

  7. allularpunk says:

    suffice to say that i have been slacking in the blogworld and this is my first time over at your new blog. i also read the post that i obviously missed when you switched over to this new one. just wanted to say: i completely understand. after reading animal, vegetable, miracle, i came to the same sort of decision. if i were living in an area where i could sustainably and without cruelty eat meat or dairy, i most likely would. not as much as some people, just because i’m not a ‘meat person’, but if i could eat it with good conscience, then… that would be that. as it is, i still cannot where i am. which leads me to this post! i have been daydreaming like nobody’s business about having a little farm of my own. i want it so bad, my heart aches. it’s where i feel i belong, which is the vibe i’m getting from you in this post. i’m so happy you got to visit and check out what goes on at a farm where the animals are treated well and all the food is local. i hope that if/when i ever come the same point you’ve come to, we can chat about the logistics and whatnot.

  8. Wow….you are living my dream life. Every single picture is just too beautiful and, in the case of those sweet goats, too adorable! (Our ancient beagle Lobi looks just like a goat to me!)

    Cody and I talk frequently about how much we want our own little ranch house one of these days, with all sorts of critters running around, and a big rambling luscious garden.

    This post sent me into a long wistful daydream.

  9. Barbara says:

    What a lovely farm, Jes. Are those portulacas growing in a foil envelope on a fence? And I think that guest cottage is too cute. I would love to camp out for a visit there!

  10. Oh, this looks perfect! We have similar life plans – MFA, PhD, homestead. My partner is already collecting hand powered tools and plotting which trees to plant first. Long term planning FTW!

    Also, mad props on “aduckable.” That is my kind of pun!

  11. lazysmurf says:

    Those ducks are so freaking cute! The sunflowers made me sad though because mine died in the latest heat blast 😦

  12. shastadragon says:

    Love your goats and ducks and everything! Can’t wait till my homestead takes on some shape-just starting out: you’re inspiring me:

Leave a Reply

