Cinnamon Pluot Jam

***My RSS feed should be up and running, http://www.eatingappalachia.com!***

With all this change, how about a recipe?  I’m still the same me, you know.  The reason why I’ve been a bit MIA is due to my job, I have to admit.  I’ve stopped cooking for myself, a reason why I never wanted to go back into the food industry after my stint as an apprentice baker, and these days I’m working 9 or 10 hour days, taking no lunch breaks, and not sitting down until 10 or 11 pm.  It’s brutal and, to be honest, I’m burning out fast.  So this week, while I’m at the farm, I’m refocusing, centering on what’s important–my health, my happiness, and my sanity.  Mostly I’m sleeping and avoiding work I need to do (like writing the paper I’m presenting at a conference in Nova Scotia in just over a week), but I’m also cooking a little, or at least preserving some of the harvest for winter, because heaven knows I’m going to miss the cornucopia of tomatoes and squash we have right now.

Thus enters this cinnamon pluot jam.  Last week when I came up to the farm for the first run-through of chores, I was given a pound of plums & pluots to play with.  With my job (I worked 11 hours last Friday–ick) I didn’t get around to doing anything with them.  Luckily, though, after being in the fridge for a week they were still ok–ripe and delicious as ever.  But what to do with them?  Make a small batch of jam, of course!

Plums are extremely high in pectin, so none is needed for the jam, though getting the fruit to set is a bit tricky, and after 10 minutes and a rolling boil, mine is still a little syrupy, but that’s ok because plum syrup is still pretty darn good in January.  The addition of the cinnamon gives the jam a nice spice kick and, I think, will work nicely as a bridge between summer and autumn, autumn and winter.  This jam is definitely the jam–especially when slathered on a nice piece of rye.

Cinnamon Pluot Jam

adapted slightly from Jellies, Jams & Chutneys

1 lb ripe pluots
1 1/4 c sucanant/turbinado sugar
2 tsp cinnamon, ground

Cut the pluots into halves and quarters. Remove and discard the pit.

Place the pluots in a nonreactive pot and add 1/2 a cup of water. Add the sugar and cinnamon. Cook gently over medium heat for 15 minutes, until the sugar has dissolved and the jam is beginning to set.

Increase the heat to high and bring to a rolling obil for 5-10 minutes until the jam as reached the setting point.

If canning, ladle into hot, sterilized jars. Seal and place in a hot water bath. Process for 20 minutes.

Makes 1 pint.

Comments
10 Responses to “Cinnamon Pluot Jam”
  1. eric says:

    good to know about the pectin in plums. and cinnamon! I’ll have to try that. I tried making crabapple jam without store-bought pectin, but many jars were syrupy…maybe I needed to boil more of the water out?

  2. JennShaggy says:

    Thanks, Jes! I can’t wait to start gardening. I’m digging the new bloggy blog. That jam sounds fantastic.

  3. kim g. says:

    That looks so yummy! I love pluots, but I never think to make jam with them because I’m so intimated by that process. Knowing they don’t need pectin helps – I might actually get over my fear and try making this!

  4. Becky says:

    Oh yum! Sorry to hear you’re feeling a bit burnt out – I’m glad you got to take a break!

  5. feerlessfood says:

    That looks great- what kind of bread did you spread it on? Becuase it looks really hearty and delicious!

    Now the real question: what’s a pluot? A mix of plum and another fruit?

    Don’t get burned out and keep working hard. I know the feeling but you effort will pay off and you’ll be a stronger, better person becuase of it.

  6. I’ve been really into plums lately but I’ve yet to try a pluot. This seems like the perfect excuse, especially with that beautiful color!

  7. Barbara says:

    What a change you’re on, Jes, but life is one big ride, so hang on tight. Only you can tell what’s right for your diet and lifestyle. It sounds like you are on a great adventure. And with your cooking skills, I’m sure Appalachian food will get its just deserve.
    Have you checked out MaryJane’s Farm? She is a pioneer woman of sorts who also markets what she does (www.maryjanesfarm.org/).
    Unleash your inner wild! And good luck. I will still be popping by to see what you’re up to, vegan or not. 🙂

  8. Renee says:

    I love your new blog. And I’m sorry you’ve gotten nasty responses from your decision to make some changes, although I’m sure you expected it. I’ll be staying vegan since I came to this place as the result of a search for health, not from a moral, ethical, or even sustainability process. I will, however, continue to follow you because I like you and your writing. My husband and I have often wondered how we might have to deal with our diet if we were to find ourselves in the position of total self-sufficiency. It would be a challenge, no doubt. Best of luck in what you are doing!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] so the first “jam” out of the chute tastes amazing (check out the recipe:  http://eatingappalachia.com/2010/08/03/cinnamon-pluot-jam), but it is a little more “saucy” than I’d like.  The recipe didn’t […]



Leave a Reply

