Richmond & Staunton

Kyle & I in Richmond by Cafe 821

Roanoke isn’t exactly a food town.  We have restaurants.  We have places to eat.  They serve rather mediocre food and, as all of my friends will tell you, it really annoys me.  And beyond mediocre food, you have to really scrounge to find anything vegetarian, let alone vegan.  So while I love getting my cheese-less pizza fix at Grace’s (I’m too scared to ask if everything else in the pizza is vegan–don’t want to know!) and too-fancy-for-me-but-yes-tasty falafel at Isaac’s, I really love getting out of town and gnoshing on some good vegan food.

Working Man’s Classic (a bicycle criterium race)

Last month, my good friend from Atlanta, Kyle (one of the people who showed me that veganism isn’t that hard to do) came up and visited for 10 days or so.  While we hung around Roanoke most of the time, we did jet across the state to Richmond for an evening to watch the Workingman’s Classic & eat and drink some delicious food.

Oh, vegan brunch food, I miss you

While in Richmond we got drinks at Legend’s Brewery and brunched at Cafe 821. I can’t get over how much I love their brunch, and the new space is pretty rockin’. The aesthetic at the old one was a little grungy and dark–now they have a fun, retro diner look and lots of natural light. It’s still the old, delicious menu, but a little more friendly (in my opinion). I had the tofu scramble with the potatoes & an order of vegan sausage. nom!

Staunton, Virginia

The hightlight of the trip, though, was the lunch break on the drive home in Staunton, Virginia. Staunton’s this little town that I’d heard had good food. I’d never been and we couldn’t find too much online about it, but since we were starving and had no better ideas, we gave it a go. Oh dear heavens, I’m glad we did.

Shenandoah Pizza awesomeness

Officially, I’m in love with Shenandoah Pizza. Not only did they not bat an eye when we asked for a vegan pizza (cheeseless with roasted red peppers and portobello mushrooms), but their beer list is the longest I’ve seen on the western side of the state. Bell’s Oberon? In a Virginia restaurant? For only $3.75 a bottle?! I’m in heaven! I have plans to return and spend an entire evening eating pizza and drinking as many beers as possible.

My dreams may not be big, but I’m sated by a beer list that’s longer than the number of fingers on my right hand (which is 5, in case you were wondering).  One day Roanoke’s going to be a food town, and I’ll do my part to make it so (vegan zine, anyone?), but until then I’m glad I have family to stay with in Richmond and a list of places I’ve yet to try!

Comments
7 Responses to “Richmond & Staunton”
  1. Carrie says:

    Glad you got to have some delicious vegan food! The place I’m from is very vegan unfriendly so I understand the novelty of going to a good veg restaurant. Isn’t crit racing crazy? I always get scared watching it that they’re going to crash!

  2. Becky says:

    Bell’s Oberon! Dave has been keeping that in the house, and I love it! I’m also really into the 21st Century IPA…I think it only comes in cans, and it’s some of the best IPA I’ve had.

  3. Kiersten says:

    It’s really hard to find vegan food here too. It’s cool that you got to get out of town and enjoy some yummy meals.

  4. Shenandoah pizza? Ashley and I should have gone! 🙂 This is a great post.

  5. Jes! This is Catherine, from Atlanta. I’ve been following your blog through google reader. Your photo of Staunton made me so happy. I lived there for most of my teenage years. I went to the women’s college just up the hill from where you took that photo (Beverly St). Shenandoah Pizza opened when I was a senior, I think. If you’re ever back in the area, you should eat at the Pampered Pallette (across the street from Shenandoah Pizza). They’ve got amazing sandwiches and… uhm… tons of candy. Maybe get some coffee at Coffee on the Corner, too. You may run into some of my old professors– almost certainly you would see an old man with long grey hair and a long, straggly beard there during the day (Dr. J, biology prof).

  6. renae says:

    One of these days I’m really going to have to get down to Richmond; it seems ridiculous it’s only 2 hours away and I’ve never been there. Staunton looks like the cute, quaint little towns I love driving through but always figure there’s nothing to eat there; it’s reassuring to know there may be!

  7. chow vegan says:

    Yay for finding some awesome looking vegan food! 🙂

Leave a Reply

