Spicy Siracha Kohlrabi Slaw

One of the best things about local farmers markets is that there’s always strange and unusual vegetable that you’ve never cooked with.  This past week, for me, was the kohlrabi.  As I was browsing the baskets of potatoes and cabbage and corn and peaches I was looking for something different, something that would get me out of my pasta with olive oil, nutritional yeast, zucchini, and tomato rut (it’s true, I’ve eaten that almost every day for two weeks–it’s what happens when I’m too exhausted to cook, sigh).  And then it appeared: this weird round green tuber-looking thing with swooping nubs of appendages sticking out.  So I asked R. who runs the Good Food, Good People stand (they collectively sell for the farmers up the mountain in the Floyd area), what it was.  “Oh, a kohlrabi.”  Now, did I ask for any more of an explanation?  Nope.  Just bought a small one since they were $3 a pound and figured I’d find something to do with it eventually.

Later on in the week while talking with Tenley, one of the partners of GFGP, I asked what I could do with it since she gave me several more that she just had to get out of their cooler and couldn’t sell.  She told me that it was somewhat like a cabbage and somewhat like a turnip–i.e. not so delicious to cook with, but pretty darn good for a slaw.  Hmm.  I have to admit, I’m not the hugest fan of slaws.  Great picnic food, but not something I’d just grab out of the fridge to munch on.

Fast forward a few days: I make a slaw.  A really good slaw.  A slaw that I want to pull out of my fridge and munch on throughout the day (which is a good thing because lord knows I’m not eating enough anymore).  A slaw with some heat kicking through and acidity to balance it out.  A slaw that knows it’s a damn good slaw.  And did I mention that it’s ridiculously easy (as long as you have a food processor with a shredder attachment, that is)?  This slaw would be perfect at a cookout or picnic, but it’s just as good as a side dish to whatever you’re eating.  It’s crisp and spicy and smooth and citrusy all at once and I can’t put it down.

Spicy Siracha Kohlrabi Slaw

1 small kohlrabi, peeled and cut into wedges
1 small cabbage, cored and cut into wedges
2 carrots, peeled

1/2 c veganaise
1 tbsp siracha (more or less to taste)
1 tbsp rice vinegar
1 tbsp lime juice
1 tsp ginger, grated

white sesame seeds
mandarin oranges

In a food processor with the shredder attachment, shred the kohlrabi, cabbage, and carrots (or use a mandoline or finely chop with a knife). Place in a medium bowl.

In a small bowl, mix together the veganaise, siracha, rice vinegar, lime juice, and ginger.

Stir the dressing into the kohlrabi mixture and garnish with sesame seeds and mandarin oranges.

Serves 6

Comments
12 Responses to “Spicy Siracha Kohlrabi Slaw”
  1. Wow! Innovative and it looks great! I love find odd food and making fun things happen.

  2. Dawne says:

    That looks so refreshing – I love the idea of citrus in a slaw! AND now I have a recipe for kohlrabi – which I admit has confounded me up til now…

  3. LOVE this stuff!

    It’s particularly fabulous run through a mandolin / v-slicer (or a Benriner, as we have), so that you don’t break it up so much. We then usually just top it with Mae Ploy sauce and gobble it down.

    That said, it’s also wonderful cut into thin slices and used in place of crackers.

    Yum!

  4. Barbara says:

    What a zesty slaw you have here, Jes. I love the addition of the sriracha sauce – great idea – and the citrus would cool it off a bit. Must make soon!

  5. Becky says:

    You had me at Sriracha!

  6. feerlessfood says:

    Thats sounds great! The mandarin orange seals the deal though!

  7. I just started cooking with kohlrabi recently – isn’t it great!?! I love the texture and the subtle but tasty flavor. This dish looks like such an incredible way to use it, especially the orange slices. YUM!

  8. Kiersten says:

    I always look at kohlrabi in the grocery store but I never know what to do with it. Maybe I’ll finally get some and try this! I like slaws, but only if they are a little more interesting than the basic cabbage and mayo dressing. This one looks yummy.

  9. mihl says:

    I’ve had plenty of kohlrabi in my live and as a kid I hated it. Mind you, I loved to eat it raw, but cooked kohlrabi? I remember cooked kohlrabi as a part of Sunday lunches. I still don’t like it cooked. Which means, your slaw is perfect for me.

  10. This looks like some spicy deliciousness too!

  11. Monica says:

    Excellent! I’ve been getting kohlrabi in the organic box and have had NO idea what to do with it. This slaw sounds perfect. And looks so pretty, too. 🙂

  12. Monica says:

    Excellent! I’ve been getting kohlrabi in the organic box and have had NO idea what to do with it. I think I’m going to try this. And it looks so pretty, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

