Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free Tagalong Pie

First off, thank you for all the birthday wishes! The bowling pieluck was a success with apple pie and raw berry pie and Russian Zebra Cake had by all! The bowling alley loses points from me for refusing to let us bring the pies into the bowling alley (who restricts food at a bowling alley? Seriously?), but we pie-d out before we bowled, and I think everyone’s combined scores were the lowest the US has ever seen. But it was fantastically good fun.

The next day, the equinox!, four of us tackled one of the taller mountains in Virginia, The Priest. We were given a beautiful day–mid 70s and sunny–and although we got a late start, the afternoon hike was just what I needed, something to clear my head and work my legs. With all of my energy focusing on the triathlon next month, I definitely need to remember to take a break and enjoy the mountains around me.

But I suppose I’ve kept you in suspense long enough–the pie. Like I said before, I like a challenge for my birthday, and this year I decided that I absolutely 100% needed to turn a Girl Scout cookie into a pie. Honestly, I have no idea how I came up with the goal, but somewhere in the back of my mind I was reliving my days of gorging on Girl Scout cookies, eating the whole box in one sitting, and loving every minute of it.

My favorite cookie was the Tagalong. I know, I know, everyone loves Thin Mints. And they are good–especially frozen–but nothing said love to me more than a cookie topped with peanut butter topped with chocolate. Thus was born the Tagalong Pie: a graham cracker crust filled with peanut butter filling, and topped with dark chocolate ganache.  Between the salty, sweet cookie crust, the creamy, just sweet enough peanut butter filling, and the dark dark chocolate on top, you can’t go wrong.  And the kicker? It’s gluten-free and sugar-free. And it tastes divine.

Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free Tagalong Pie

For the crust:
1 recipe gluten-free, sugar-free graham crackers
1/4 c vegetable oil
2-3 tbsp non-dairy milk

For the filling:
8 oz vegan cream cheese
8 oz/1 c firm aseptic tofu
1 c crunchy, all natural peanut butter
1/2 c agave nectar
1/4 c maple syrup
1 tbsp vegetable oil
1 tsp vanilla extract

For the ganache:
6 oz semi-sweet baking chocolate, chopped

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Place the graham crackers in a food processor and pulse until they are fine crumbs.

Place the graham cracker crumbs in a bowl and slowly drizzle in the vegetable oil and non dairy milk, mixing until the crumbs begin to clump together. You don’t want it to be too wet, just wet enough to clump.

Pat the crust mixture down into a pie dish and bake for 15 minutes until golden brown. Turn off the oven, remove the crust, and set aside to cool.

Meanwhile, in the food processor, place all of the ingredients for the filling and blend until completely mixed and smooth.

Once the pie crust has cooled, spoon the filling mixture into the crust. Cover and let cool in the fridge for at least 4 hours (I let mine sit overnight.)

After the filling has cooled, in a double boiler, melt the chocolate. Spread the chocolate on top of the filling and let cool for at least 1 hour.

Serves 8-10.

Comments
14 Responses to “Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free Tagalong Pie”
  1. Renae says:

    Okay, I don’t usually make desserts, but you got me with the peanut butter and chocolate – I’m all over it. Especially since seems like it won’t be overly sweet.

    I think I missed your birthday…please accept my belated Happy Birthday!

  2. Monica says:

    This graham cracker fest is making me jones for some s’mores. Happy belated birthday!

  3. JennShaggy says:

    Wow. That pie looks perfect 🙂

    As for the jackfruit, the cans I buy are green and actually say “Young Green Jackfruit Packed In Water” on the label. Keep hunting. You’ll find them. They’re usually at Asian Super Gigantic Grocery Stores. I find that the smaller ones don’t usually carry it. Also, try Indian grocers. I’ve had success there as well.

    Good luck 🙂

  4. Vegyogini says:

    What a fantastic idea to pie-ify a Girl Scout cookie! It looks amazing. My favorite GS cookies were the Tagalongs, PB cookie sandwiches, and Samoas.

    I couldn’t help but see what JennShaggy said above. I actually have found young green jackfruit in water at smaller Asian stores, so you might want to check those, too. Jackfruit rocks!

  5. jessy says:

    superhappyface for sweet birthday fun success! i’ve never heard of russian zebra cake, i need to do some research – and raw berry pie sounds stellar! i’ve never hiked The Priest before – it’s beautiful up there; what a perfect day for a hike, Jes. sometimes when i’m training for a race i forget to relax. it’s good to take a breather and do something different, fo ‘sho.

    personally, i think thin mints are overrated. i always thought they were alright, but tagalongs and trefoils were my favorites. your tagalong pie looks beyond awesome, Jes! i need to get on those gluten-free graham crackers and make your pie. oooooh, i can’t wait!

  6. Great idea! I can’t think of any girl scout cookie that would make a better pie! Boo thin mints.

  7. eatavegan says:

    Yummmmm! That pie looks delicious and not too difficult either — I think I am going to have to make this pronto!

  8. BitterSweet says:

    Happy belated birthday! But now, how does this work- I feel like you’re the one giving -us- a present with this recipe! 😉

  9. Mary says:

    Ooh, thank you for sharing this! It looks and sounds heavenly! I always liked samoas the best. Maybe I will pie those!

    Happy Birthday Jes!

  10. Happy belated birthday! I missed it! That’s what I get for not reading blogs for two weeks.

    Maybe the tastier the pie, the lower the bowling scores? Hee hee! Speaking of yummy pies… *drops dead* Wow! That thing looks so good! Who needs thin mints? Bring on the Tagalong pie! Thanks for the recipe! 🙂

  11. Ooohhhh….wow. This is too much, I’m going to have to make this soon, it is just irresistible. Thank you for another great recipe!

  12. shellyfish says:

    Sounds like you had a great birthday – and wow on the pie. Looks & sounds just wonderful!

  13. Barbara says:

    Wow, a Tagalong vegan pie! That looks too good to believe, Jes. I am definitely going to have to make this one.

Leave a Reply

