Southwestern Sweet Potato Shepherd's Pie for Pi Day

Here’s 3.14…reasons why I love you all:

1. You challenge me to make new and exciting things
2. You post amazing recipes on your own blogs
3. You help form one of the most vibrant blog communities on the web (go vegans!)
.14. You don’t care that I use sweet potatoes in every recipe.

So without further ado, Southwestern Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie for Pi Day on Sunday. I hope you enjoy pie in all it’s wonderful sweet and savory forms tomorrow, and I hope that you’re having a wonderful weekend!

Southwestern Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie

3 medium-large sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into equal sizes
3 tbsp Earth Balance
1/4 c soy milk (or any nondairy milk)

2 tbsp vegetable oil
1 onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 tsp cumin
1 1/2 tsp chipotle powder
1 tsp salt
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp coriander
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp black pepper
1 c carrots, peeled and chopped
2 large portobello caps, cleaned and cut into equal sizes, or 1.5 c chopped mushrooms
1 large tomato, chopped
1 c corn
1 15 oz can black beans, drained

In a saucepan, boil the sweet potatoes in water until tender. Remove from heat and mash with the Earth Balance and soy milk. Set aside.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

In a skillet (or dutch oven), saute the onions and carrots in the vegetable oil over medium heat for 5-7 minutes until tender. Add the garlic, saute for 1 minute until fragrant.

Add the spices and saute for 30 seconds, until fragrant. Deglaze the pan with a splash of water and the mushrooms and saute for another 5-7 minutes until they release their juices and begin to cook through. Add the tomato, corn, and beans and cook for 2 minutes more. Add more salt and pepper if necessary. Remove from heat.

If using a dutch oven, simply spread the mashed sweet potatoes on top. If using a casserole dish (8″x8″), transfer the vegetable mixture to the casserole, then spread the sweet potatoes on top.

Bake for 30 minutes, until bubbly. Remove from oven and let cool for 5 minutes before serving.

Serves 5-6.

Comments
22 Responses to “Southwestern Sweet Potato Shepherd's Pie for Pi Day”
  1. chow vegan says:

    Love shepherd’s pie, love sweet potatoes, never thought to put the two together. It looks awesome! 🙂

  2. shellyfish says:

    I was considering making a shepherds pie this weekend…yours looks delicious!

  3. welshsarah says:

    Wow, this looks awesome! I LOVE sweet potatoes. Can’t wait to try this one. x

  4. That is one bright and beautiful pie! I do not cook with sweet potatoes enough, that has got to change!

  5. Tara says:

    Shepherd’s pie with sweet potato…why didn’t I think of that? No matter, I’m glad that you did because this looks freaking awesome!

  6. jessy says:

    this looks fantastical, Jes. i can’t say that i would have thought to make a shepherd’s pie with sweet potato, and i love the southwestern kick you’ve got go’n on. i’ve gotta try this! hooray for pie day – i can’t believe i almost forgot about it!

  7. Becky says:

    Oh yum!! I love sweet potatoes with black beans. Also, I love Pi Day!!!

  8. Alyssa says:

    WOW! That looks incredibly yummy and easy-to-make! I am adding it to my recipes for this week!

  9. tricia says:

    sounds yummy!!! i am making your maple glazed/chipotle sweet potatoes right now. they are in the oven as i type…that recipe has become a favorite in our home. thank you!

  10. Shannon says:

    I love your blog. I added you to my blog roll!

  11. Vic says:

    Oh my god! That is all i can say. Why have I never thought of sweet potato on my shepherds pie? Who am i?

  12. Virginie P. says:

    Keep posting with sweet potatoes, I love them… And it gives such a nice colors on the pics.

  13. Alyssa says:

    AWESOME! I made it today and ate it for lunch and dinner!

  14. JennShaggy says:

    That pie looks so fantastic 🙂

    Thank you! No “shrimp” recipes in the works just yet, but I actually have been working on a “lobster” that looks super realistic.

  15. JENNA says:

    that looks amazing!

  16. Sweet potatoes and black beans are such a perfect combo! It looks delicious and very filling, in a really good way! 🙂

  17. Barbara says:

    What a wonderful twist to Shepherd’s Pie using sweet potatoes, Jes. This looks yummy!

  18. Kiersten says:

    That looks amazing! I am a huge sweet potato. I haven’t made shepherd’s pie with them yet though. This recipe is calling to me!

  19. Kiersten says:

    Um, I meant I’m a huge sweet potato FAN, not a huge sweet potato. lol.

  20. BitterSweet says:

    I’m bummed I missed out on Pi day this year, but I love your savory take on it! Looks so delicious (and colorful!)

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Cupcake Punk is rocking our socks with her sweet potato twist on the classic shepherd’s pie. […]

  2. […] Pi Day may be long past, but you can still enjoy this sweet potato shepherd’s pie […]



Leave a Reply

