GF Maple Cranberry Corn Muffins with Sweet Potato Cream Cheese Frosting

Thanks to the goodness of friends, I’m up and kicking and back in the kitchen. I’d planned on just giving you another condiment recipe, since I have a backlog (chipotle ketchup anyone?), but when I sent out the query for everyone’s dream coffee shop pastry/baked good, A-K gave me the best: “My dream pastry right now is a gf vegan maple cranberry cornmeal muffin with sweet potato frosting… it’s kinda intense!” Intense…but delicious.”

Of course I had to make it. Immediately. So after waking up and taking a shower and getting the right screws for my brand spankin’ new VA front license plate (we don’t have front plates in GA and my car didn’t have any screws on the front), I hit up Fresh Market and the Co-op for ingredients. Although I forgot to make the flour mixture exactly the way I wanted it (talking on the phone to my mother while baking is, perhaps, not the smartest idea ever), the muffins turned out gloriously corntastic and cranberry tart. The cream cheese frosting and I are not exactly at the place we’d like to be (a little liquidy), but it tastes sweet and sweet potatoey which is exactly what I was going for. Together? Well, A-K, it’s a match made in heaven. So thank you.

Oh, and for those of you who missed out: pretend you’re in a coffee shop chock full of vegan and gluten-free pastries and baked goods. What would you order?

Maple Cranberry Corn Muffins
with Sweet Potato Cream Cheese Frosting

For the muffins:
1 c corn flour
1/4 c sorghum flour
1/4 c rice flour
1 tsp guar gum
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 c soy yogurt
1/4 c brown sugar
1/6 c maple syrup
4 tbsp Earth Balance, melted
3/4 c soy milk
1/2 c fresh cranberries

Preheat the oven to 350 F.

In a medium size bowl, mix together the flours, guar gum, and salt.

In another bowl, whisk together the soy yogurt, brown sugar, maple syrup, and melted Earth Balance.

Whisk the dry ingredients into the wet to form a still batter. Slowly mix in the soy milk until well combined and smooth (add more soy milk if necessary to get the right consistency).

Mix in the cranberries, then spoon the batter into pre-oiled muffin tins (makes 24 mini muffins or 8 regular muffins).

Bake for 20-25 minutes until golden around the edges and top and an inserted knife comes out clean. Let cool to room temperature before frosting.

For the frosting:
1/4 c vegan cream cheese
1/4 c Earth Balance
1/4 c sweet potato puree
2 1/2 c powdered sugar (or more)
1/2 tsp vanilla

In a bowl and using a handheld mixer, beat together the cream cheese, Earth Balance, and sweet potato puree. Slowly add the powdered sugar until the right, stiff consistency is achieved. Add the vanilla.

Comments
10 Responses to “GF Maple Cranberry Corn Muffins with Sweet Potato Cream Cheese Frosting”
  1. Nora says:

    those look amazing, but with the frosting, aren’t they cupcakes? haha

  2. VeggieGirl says:

    The goodness of friends + those muffins = two of life’s greatest aspects 🙂

  3. Vic says:

    wow! i love that frosting!

  4. Becky says:

    Frosted muffins! You’re a genius.

  5. jessy says:

    corntastic & cranberrytastic = my kinda muffin! wahooooo & YUM!

    frosting a muffin is something i’ve gotta start doing, and did you say chipotle ketchup?! ooooh! i can’t wait for more of your condiment posts. i just printed off the bbq sauce recipe, and i still have your mayo ‘n mustard recipes from earlier this year. yay!

  6. a-k says:

    That frosting is really prettily-colored! I’m glad you had a successful creation of my intense pastry dream 🙂

  7. BitterSweet says:

    I think I may just need to whip up that frosting, if nothing else. I bet it would be lovely with pumpkin or maybe even apple butter as well!

  8. chow vegan says:

    Oh my! That looks amazing! Frosting a muffin is just plain genius. 🙂

  9. fortheloveofguava says:

    **drools**

  10. Barbara says:

    Sweet-potato cream cheese frosting? I am drooling! This combination sounds like it was made in heaven.

    And I love your snow pics, Jes! So pretty.

Leave a Reply

