Roasted Delicata Squash

The weather seems to be conflicted here lately.  We’ve been swinging from lows in the low 50s and high 40s to highs in the 70s, and it doesn’t look like anything is going to change.  I don’t mind it, but after the freeze we had a few weeks ago, I figured things out to cool down.  Maybe by Thanksgiving?

Speaking of Thanksgiving, don’t forget, if you’re looking for quick and easy vegan and mostly gluten-free recipes, check out my Thanksgiving tutorials! I have a few pie recipes forthcoming–pumpkin (gluten free!) and chocolate bourbon pecan (also gluten-free!)–but already stashed are the side and main dish recipes. If you have any suggestions for pies or bread, let me know–I’m always on the lookout for tried and true dishes to veganize.

Well, today’s been one of those days–I’ve been a bit under the weather lately, drinking lots of green tea, taking echinacea, eating whole veggies and grains, drinking water, etc, and while I haven’t gotten full-on sick, I’m a bit terrified of it turning against me. I’m not sure what brought it on, but I’d like to keep it at bay. Then I got some bad car news this morning–someone tell me how a car can pass a 4 point emissions inspection in Georgia and then not pass the simple, non-emissions inspection in Virginia???–, and, well, the rain just made me throw up my hands and sit on the couch with the cats for a bit. The cats, by the way, were more than happy with that arrangement. With a paper looming over my head though, I knew I needed to get to work. So, naturally, I caramelized onions. I mean, what else is there to do when you’re having a crappy day?

The caramelized onions were added to some tatsoi mustard greens, some more hen of the woods mushrooms were pan roasted with garlic, salt, and pepper, and then, in the oven, I roasted some delicata squash wedges with thyme, sage, and paprika. While the dish could have used a nice bed of polenta, I was out of soy milk (and no money to buy anything for the next month, apparently, since I have to “fix” the car to standards), and the three components stood fabulously on their own. This was my first time playing with delicata and I’m super happy with the results. The thyme, sage, and paprika added a nice savory and slightly spicy element, which the semi-sweet squash complimented well. One squash would feed two people in this manner, so keep that in mind when meal planning. For a family of four, I’d recommend roasting up at least three squashes to be on the safe side.  Oh, and the best part is, you don’t need to peel the skin off of the squash!  It’s so delicate (maybe hence the name “delicata”) that it’s pleasant to eat on the squash.  The quicker and easier the better, in my book.

Roasted Delicata Squash

1 delicata squash
1/2 tbsp olive oil
1/2 tsp dried sage
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1/2 tsp paprika
1/4 tsp salt
fresh pepper to taste

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

Cut the squash lengthwise and scoop out the seeds. Cut the halves in half widthwise, and then cut into 2 or 3 wedges per half.

Place the wedges on a baking tray or in a casserole dish and coat with olive oil. Sprinkle the salt, thyme, sage, paprika, and pepper on top.

Roast for 30-45 minutes, or until tender with a fork.

Comments
11 Responses to “Roasted Delicata Squash”
  1. Hope you start to feel better. Wonderful recipe and your pic is beautiful, as usual.

  2. jessy says:

    i’m sorry you’re under the weather, Jes. if you have a natural food store near ya you should pick up some umcka. i swear by the stuff. i get the alcohol free original drops – they save my ass from getting a cold all the time. if you can’t get your hands on some umcka – let me know. i will go out, get you some & send it your way. i’m serious. it’s that darn good.

    that stinks on your car not passing virginia’s state inspection (especially with tougher regulations in georgia). my car isn’t too old, but every darn year they find **something** going on with it. last year it was wiper blades. they charged me $49 for wiper blades (they didn’t bother to call because the cost was under $50) that were cheap & busted a mere 2 months later. grrrrrrrrr…..

    delicata squash is my favorite squash (although i just discovered kobucha and it’s a close one!) – but i never thought to dress it up. totally gonna have to try this. caramelized onions & kitteh time does make things a bit better. i had no idea you could eat the skin. awesomesauce!

  3. Becky says:

    I’m in that same place…sort of a limbo between sick and well where it feels like I’ve been fighting something for ages. I hope you feel better soooon!

  4. Sophie says:

    yummm. i <33 roasted squash.

    feel better soon!

  5. Barbara says:

    Delicata is one of my favorite squashes, Jes. It almost has a bit of sweet potato flavor to it. The way you dressed it up is fabulous!
    And that all sounds like the best thing you could do if you’re not feeling well. Kitty therapy also works. Feel better.

  6. tricia says:

    this recipe sounds yummy. i’ve never tried this type of squash but i am liking the eating the skin part.
    sending healing vibes your way.
    🙂

  7. Nina says:

    This sounds delicious! I think it just might make an appearance on my Thanksgiving dinner table 🙂

  8. BitterSweet says:

    Roasting is by far my favorite thing to do with delicatas, and I do love them so! In fact, I’ll be posting a recipe with them in it soon, too… As soon as I can make it, that is.

  9. Melisser says:

    We’re having crazy weather too! I am ready for squash, but not the cold weather.

  10. The weather has been pretty odd here too. We know winter is finally here when we start to see little Juncos hopping around the yard!

    Aww, I’m sorry you’re not feeling well, Jes! Hopefully the cat-therapy will help you feel better, I’m sure those kitties are very good at that! 🙂

    I’m sorry about the car emissions inspection too! Yikes! Definitely a caramelized onions day!

    We must have the same book! The quicker and easier the better in my book too! 😀

  11. mihl says:

    Easy and delicious! I love roasted squash.
    Sorry both about you feeling not well and the car 😦 Feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

