Best Salad Ever

I’m a bad MoFoer, only a week in and I’ve already missed two days.  And I’m probably going to miss tomorrow too!  But, other than yesterday, the missed posts were/are due to traveling–first Houston, now Richmond this weekend.  So excited!  I’m going to meet up with my mom and her fiance who are going with my chef uncle to the Richmond Folk Festival.  While I’ll be hitting up a few stages with them, I’m really more interested in just spending some time with them and going to Trader Joe’s for a case of wine.  (smile)  As for yesterday, well, sometimes things go down and the only way to respond is to go to your favorite dive bar and drink one too many PBRs.  Those nights happen and then MoFo posts don’t happen.  But, on the bright side, since I’m feeling the need to detox my body a little, you guys get a super delicious I-wish-I-could-hand-you-a-plate-of-it salad!

Yup, you read right, a salad!  If you’ve been reading my blog for very long, you probably know that I’m not a big fan of salads.  It’s not that I don’t like salads–I think they’re great.  It’s just that I don’t tend to go to the market and buy up a ton of different veggies to throw together in a bowl and then smother with some dressing.  It all just seemed like too much work to me.  So when I do make a salad, it normally looks like this or this: romaine lettuce, croutons (lots and lots of croutons), and a tasty dressing.  Pretty uninspired, no?

Thankfully, I have friends who love the humble salad.  They love tossing together whatever fresh, local veggies they have on hand with nuts and seeds and other goodness and then topping it with the simplest “dressing” ever–nutritional yeast, salt, and olive oil.  And, working in my favor, they love spreading the love.  I think my life is officially changed thanks to this, R.’s, beautiful, local, delicious, simple salad.  I mean, I woke up this morning hung-over and miserable and instead of wanting a cup of coffee, I wanted a heaping plate of this salad.  To me, that’s revolutionary.  And also makes me wonder if I were abducted by aliens during the night and someone else, a salad lover, was dropped into my body…

R.’s Salad (aka the Best Salad Ever)

1 bunch of green kale (locally grown, if possible–mine’s from Waterbear Farm)
handful of arugula
1/2 yellow onion
4 small carrots or 1 large carrot
handful of cashews
handful of sunflower seeds
4 dried figs
salt
nutritional yeast
olive oil

Coarsely chop the kale into biteable pieces.  Finely chop the onion.  For the carrot, cut in half, flip 90 degrees and cut in half again (to quarter it).  Then chop into small squarish pieces.  Chop the dried figs into small squares.

In a large bowl, toss together the kale, arugula, onion, carrots, cashews, sunflower seeds, and figs.

Plate individual servings.  Then sprinkle a pinch or two of salt, some nutritional yeast (1/16 cup), and drizzle olive oil on top.  When you mix it together with your fork, the oil will bind the nutritional yeast to the salad.

Voila!

Serves 4.

Comments
11 Responses to “Best Salad Ever”
  1. tahinitoo says:

    I agree, salads are a lot of effort – but always worth it in the end! Minus the onion, I would certainly devour that gorgeous salad.

  2. That really does look like a great salad! I love figs so much, I don’t know why I’ve never included them in my salads before.

  3. fortheloveofguava says:

    ooh man… this is exactly what I need for my french fry & study cram hangover…

    a PBR might help too… 🙂

  4. That looks really good. I love salads and eat them everyday but sometimes I struggle with them being boring. But they are still good.

  5. JennShaggy says:

    OMG I’m a kale whore…that looks delicious.

    Thank you 🙂 I also happen to be a sandwich whore to boot. The one on my blog was much more massive than it looks in the photo. I couldn’t even get half down!

  6. laura says:

    i’d eat salads way more often if someone else would fix them. and fix yummy ones like that one. oh, and i want different ingredients in each salad. i don’t want much, right?

  7. jessy says:

    pbr will fo ‘sho make things better! no worries on the mofo’n posts, Jes – vegan mofo is all about having fun & writing when you can. it’s allllll goooooood! i love me a good salad – especially a tasty, simple one – those are the best! i’ve never put cashews in a salad before – actually, i haven’t thrown figs in their either. i’ve gotta try R.’s salad, fo ‘sho! have fun in rva and enjoy the folk festival! w00t!

  8. Diann says:

    I love making salads, and I hope you’ll continue to enjoy making more. I love to chop and dig in the fridge and see what I can add, and I love to make up dressings. Sometimes when I make a sweet dressing I have salad for dessert!

  9. Amanda says:

    Have a fun time this weekend..hope you will report back on the festival..sounds great! I am going to make this salad because I have been so lax on my greens lately. Unfortunately the goos’ love of greens hasn’t rubbed off on me yet but they are working on it!

  10. I think you’re right! I think that might be the best salad ever.

  11. lazysmurf says:

    I was just talking about how I never make salad and I wish I did. This recipe looks great, of course nooch would be great in a salad, why didn’t I think of that!

Leave a Reply

