Tomato & Kale Sandwich of Awesomeness

First of all, cute cat overload: Mistoffelees on laundry day, happily ensconced in the clean sheets and pillows waiting to be be put on my bed.  Sure, a tad bit cross-eyed, but he’s a looker.

Ok, now onto the food.  I’m just going to say it, this sandwich is orgasmic.  I kid you not.  It’s so simple, so deceiving in its simplicity, really, but when you take the first bite it whomps you over the head.  So you ask, what just happened?  Then you take another bite.  Then it sinks in: you’re eating the best damn sandwich of your life.  Is it like the Trifecta?  No, not really.  I think it’s the simplicity that gives it the kick–local, fresh, and homemade–I pretty much cried when I’d finished it.  So beautiful, yet so fleeting.  So thank you, dear folks with Good Food-Good People for talking me into buying one of the last heirloom tomatoes of the season; thank you Beth, the gardening half of my dear land-couple, for planting tons of kale in your backyard, kale which I can now eat; and thank you, Luisa, for posting a recipe for bread that would make my house smell like Christmas because, darn, after that review I knew I had to make it.

Tomato & Kale Sandwich of Awesomeness

1 heirloom tomato, thinly sliced
6 kale leaves, cleaned, deribbed, and chopped
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1 tsp olive oil
1-2 tbsp water
Veganaise
Spicy brown mustard
four slices of Ethiopian Honey-Spice Bread

Warm the olive oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add the garlic and saute for 1 minute. Add the kale, cook for 1 more minute, stirring constantly. Add the water and cover the skillet, letting the water steam the kale for 3-4 minutes. Once the kale is wilted, set aside.

Take two slices of the bread and slather Veganaise on both slices. Spread the spicy brown mustard on one slice. Sandwich together half of the tomato slices and half of the garlicky kale. Repeat with the other two slices of bread.

Serves 2.

Comments
11 Responses to “Tomato & Kale Sandwich of Awesomeness”
  1. VeggieGirl says:

    Cuuuute cat!!

    That sandwich looks comforting – yum!

  2. Sophie says:

    woah. awesomness indeed. i don’t think i’ve ever put kale on a sandwich but better late than never i suppose. i’m pretty sure the bread makes it orgasmic here though. i need some of that!!

  3. lazysmurf says:

    YUM! I want it!! That bread looks so good. I was at the co-op today and I saw the heirloom tomatoes and I grabbed one, totally panicked that this would be the end. Then I realized it would have to sit in my car the rest of the day and I sadly put it back.

    I love your cat too!

  4. jessy says:

    Mistoffelees is one handsome man! aw, hooray for kittehs! don’t ‘cha just love how they know it’s clean sheets day?! mine do the same thing – or get up on the dryer where i’ve stacked all the clean clothes. **sigh**

    i’m gonna pick up an heirloom this weekend in bluemont after the run, if i can – oh, and some kale as well. too awesome on you having lots of kale growing in the back yard – and i’ve got some millet-flax bread that would be perfect. ooooh, i can’t wait!

  5. jessy says:

    did i mention that the sammie sounds gloriously good as has my mouth watering?! yeah, that too! w00t!

  6. Hmm…I did have a whole bunch of kale waiting to be used up, and I think I know what I’ll try it in next 😀

  7. Renae says:

    I have a weakness for Siamese cats and Mistoffelees is super cute! Also, I’ve never put kale on a sandwich either but I’m liking the idea. Mark may even be fooled by it, thinking he’s getting a delicious tomato sandwich, which he will be, but with kale. Hahaha!

  8. Now that is a sandwich! I love a good sandwich and this one looks and sounds AMAZING! And what a sweet kitty!

  9. Kristen says:

    I do mashed chickpea “egg salad” to take this to the next level.

    Can chickpeas
    Veganaise
    Smidge of Spicy Mustard
    Salt
    Pepper

    Smoosh all together and layer between the tomato and kale. YUM!

  10. Barbara says:

    Oh, what a handsome boy your kitty is, Jes. He’s like my Giacomo, who only sleeps in the clean laundry; Carlos prefers the laundry in the basket to be washed. Such kitty antics.
    Oh, and I will have to try that kale and tomato sandwich. I think sauteed kale with garlic would be good on just about anything, but your sandwich looks divine.

  11. glutenfreebaby says:

    Cute picture of your kitty 🙂

Leave a Reply

