Soybean Paste Stew

Greetings from Roanoke everyone! Yep, I moved this past weekend (which explains the lack of posts). It was long and stressful and my back, arms, and legs are all moaning “what the crap did you do to me,” but I’m here, sitting in my bed, with only one more box to unpack tomorrow morning. I think I’ll celebrate with some french toast. (smile)

But what did I cook before I left? Just a little Doen-Jang-Jji-Gye, or, as is easier to remember and pronounce, Soybean Paste Stew. It was the perfect meal for a week marked by packing all my pots, books, spices, and dishes into boxes since it requires only one pot, very little knifework, and simple yet flavorful ingredients. Like the Korean Tofu Soup I made back in April, the Soybean Past Stew relies on Asian pastes, fresh vegetables, and tofu. All in all, the soup took about 20 minutes to make and fed me for four meals–just what I needed before I hit the road and headed north!

Soybean Paste Stew

adapted from Migi’s Kitchen

1 sheet Nori
3 tbsp soybean paste
1 tsp red pepper paste
3 c water
1 small onion, sliced
1/2 zucchini, sliced into half moons
2 handfuls of shitake mushrooms (I used 9 small ones)
1 pack of enoki mushrooms (separated)
1/2 lb of firm tofu, diced in 1/2″ blocks
1 jalapeno pepper (garnish)

Make the soup base by bringing the nori and water to a boil. Add the soybean paste and pepper paste, stir to incorporate, and lower the heat to a simmer.

Add the onion, cover the pot, and cook for 5 minutes. Add the zucchini and mushrooms, cover, and simmer for 10 minutes. Add the enoki mushrooms and tofu and simmer for 2 minutes.

Garnish and serve!

Comments
13 Responses to “Soybean Paste Stew”
  1. Tara says:

    Holy shiitake, that looks good! I would just leave the jalapeno out for myself, but it seems like a perfect meal!
    Congrats on your move!

  2. DaviMack says:

    Looks and sounds delicious! Me, I’d add in some more peppers, and some ginger. 🙂

    You moved, and are already almost unpacked? Amazing!

  3. Becky says:

    Oooh I just love a simple soup!! Do you think miso would work in place of the soybean paste? Or are they the same thing?

    Congratulations on surviving the move!

  4. Leigh says:

    And Atlanta loses another vegan. 😦

    Glad the move went well!

  5. BitterSweet says:

    Welcome home! Hopefully you’ll be feeling rested and ready to break in the new kitchen in no time. 🙂

    I love the sound of this… Exactly my style! And how did you know that enoki are my all-time favorite fungus? 😉

  6. fortheloveofguava says:

    Congrats on the move! **Massages shoulders**

    This soup looks killer! I have to say for being asian my simple asian soup skills are seriously lacking… I’ve never even messed with any of these pastes before… must try… mmm… shiitake… can think of nothing else now!

  7. Anna says:

    That looks SO delicious!

    I’ve been craving soups too… what is it about heat waves that makes me want to eat hot things?

    Thanks for sharing!

    Anna
    http://www.TwoBlueLemons.com

  8. Sophie says:

    woah, that is such a beautiful photo!! the one thing i have yet to master is asian cooking. i will definitely give this a try!

  9. renae says:

    Welcome to Virginia! The stew looks great and perfect for a quick meal.

  10. Diann says:

    How interesting! I love mushroom soups.

  11. shellyfish says:

    Enoki!!! So hard to find here, but so yum! I hope your muscles are feeling better, with that delicious soup I’m sure you’re feeling better already!

  12. Jojo says:

    That looks great, I’ll have to try it sometime.

  13. JennShaggy says:

    Hot damn that stew looks great! I may make that for us tonight instead of Jewish penicillin for the soul 🙂

    And thank you for your kind words. We’re hoping karma will help us bite her in the butt!

Leave a Reply

