Red, Green and Blue Quinoa

I’m hoping that this delicious, quick, and easy dinner will pardon the sin of what’s to come on Saturday. Currently I’m baking the most unhealthy cookies in the world. Maybe not the world, but close. I can see all my healthy, fit, vegans shaking their heads at me…I’ll have hell to pay for this goodness.

But for the present time, I give you a super healthy, antioxidant rich, protein laden made in under 20 minutes dinner: Red, Green and Blue Quinoa. It’s simply delicious.

Red, Green and Blue Quinoa

1/2 c quinoa
1 tsp olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 bunch spinach, rinsed
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
salt & pepper to taste
1/2 c blueberries, rinsed
1/2 c cherry tomatoes, halved

Soak the quinoa in hot water for five minutes.

While the quinoa is soaking, rinse the spinach of any dirt.

Bring the quinoa and 3/4 cup water to a boil in a pot. Once it begins to boil, lower to a simmer and let cook for 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, warm the olive oil over medium heat. Add the garlic and saute for 1-2 minutes until fragrant (don’t let the garlic brown). Add the spinach. Saute for 3-5 minutes until just wilted. Add the balsamic vinegar and salt and pepper. Cook for 30 more seconds. Remove from heat.

Once the quinoa is cooked, plate with the garlicy spinach and a mixture of the blueberries and cherry tomatoes.

Serves 2.

Comments
14 Responses to “Red, Green and Blue Quinoa”
  1. Using blueberries as a savory meal is something new for me – but it seems to be a good idea, I will try it!
    If is tastes as delicious as it looks like, I will love it 😉

  2. DaviMack says:

    Blueberries? Wow, that’s an interesting dish! How’s it work? Sounds quite exotic!

  3. Becky says:

    Oooo I wonder if this would work with the rainbow Swiss chard that came in this week’s VegHub! Maybe with a slightly longer cooking time?

  4. Leigh says:

    Beautiful! I’m all over this one.

  5. Vic says:

    This looks so cute! I love quinoa! Such a great grain!

  6. Barbara says:

    Beautiful dish, Jen. I just restocked my quinoa supply and I LOVE blueberries in salads, so that sounds like a perfect mix.
    Very pretty photo, too!

  7. Great Colors! I rarely combine savory and sweet, but this looks tasty.

  8. BitterSweet says:

    The colors alone would make this dish worth preparing- Gorgeous!

  9. Mihl says:

    How beautiful!

  10. Diann says:

    It looks wonderful! And a decadent treat on occasion is a good thing.

  11. fortheloveofguava says:

    ooh… what an interesting mix of sweet and savory… and it plate’s gorgeous!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] 6, 2009 Oreo Cookie Cookies Posted by Jes under Food Leave a Comment  Remember those sinful cookies I mentioned last week? Well, I think I’ve had enough “healthy” meals (read: 2) to […]

  2. […] rare amount of extra time to go to the grocery store and try a new quinoa recipe I had found on Cupcake Punk. Upon returning to my home, armed with bags of blueberries, tomatoes, garlic and spinach, I was in […]



Leave a Reply

