Ginger Chocolate Chip Cookies

Oops, I disappeared for a bit, didn’t I? Sorry about that! I forgot to mention last week that I was going to be in Roanoke for a few days last week visiting my soon-to-be grad school. I was able to hear the graduating students read, meet some faculty members I hadn’t met yet (Richard Dillard is a hoot!), hang out with the current students, and check out the town. Thankfully, finding vegan meals wasn’t too hard, and the town is big enough to have a Kroger, a Fresh Market, and a whole foods coop (comparable to the one we have here in Atlanta!). I’m very stoked to move there in August–seems like I started a new life up there and now it’s on hold for the next three months. But! This too shall pass, or so they say. (smile)

In other news, I started teacher training today for my summer teaching job with the Institute for Reading Development (aka bootcamp for reading teachers). It’s…long. And redundant. But pays well. And I think the actual classroom experience will be great in the long run.

Needless to say, with life being so busy, I haven’t had much time to cook anything interesting, but last week before I left (because one needs sustenance for the road!) I whipped up some of Bee’s Ginger Chocolate Chip Cookies. I made a few changes, but not many, and oh my goodness can I say that these cookies are awesome?! On a first thought, ginger and chocolate don’t seem like the best pair–two very strong flavors. But the end result was perfectly spicy and sweet, rich but not too rich. Plus they’re so wholesome that it feels wrong not to include them as part of my regular diet. 😀

Ginger Chocolate Chip Cookies

From Jugalbandi

1 c whole wheat flour
1 c all purpose flour
1/2 c wheat germ
1/3 c sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1.5 tsps baking soda
1/4 tsp each ground cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves
2.5 tsps ground ginger
1/3 cup oil
1/2 cup + one tbsp molasses
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 .5 tsps fresh ginger chopped and ground to a paste in a mortar and pestle
1/2 c chocolate chips.

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Mix together in a large bowl the dry ingredients. Pour in the oil, then using the same measuring cup pour in the molasses (this way the molasses won’t stick to the measuring cup). Add the vanilla and fresh ginger and chocolate chips. Mix everything together with your fingers and slowly add water until the dough forms a ball.

Roll a tablespoon or so of the dough into a ball, place on cookie sheet and flatten slightly. Bake for 12-15 minutes, or until golden brown on the bottom. Let cool as long as you can wait!

Comments
14 Responses to “Ginger Chocolate Chip Cookies”
  1. Shelby says:

    Ginger and Chocolate go so well together. Cookies rock altogether…so this recipe is amazing!!! 😉

  2. tahinitoo says:

    I love ginger and I love chocolate and I love cookies!

    Best of luck to you in grad school!!!! Before you know it, August will be whizzing past us…

  3. jai says:

    glad you liked them. all the best with the grad school.

  4. jessy says:

    sweet awesomeness i need those cookies, Jess! i think the combination of ginger and chocolate has me so curious i may have to make a batch this weekend! mmmmmm! i’m sorry the teacher training is long and kinda redundant – but that’s pretty sweet that it pays well.

    very cool on “the ‘noke” having some vegan options – i didn’t know they had a fresh market there! yay! i’m gonna tell my parents ’cause they live in goode and it’s just 25 minutes from roanoke! w00t!

  5. Going to give these a try for mother’s day baking treats- though will work it out with a mix of gluten free flours and natural sweeteners instead of the sugar. Yummy!

  6. Barbara says:

    Yum, I love anything with ginger, so these cookies are a must-bake. 🙂

  7. Sylvia says:

    Those cookies looks delicious

  8. Diann says:

    Yum, chocolate and ginger – these look so good!

  9. RJane says:

    If you ever feel the need to travel ~45 minutes further south from Roanoke, Blacksburg (home of Virginia Tech) has an excellent vegetarian (vegan options) restaurant with the best “tofu scrambled” in the state. They also have a sister coffee-house (Bollos) that offers excellent vegan baked goods. Best of luck in Roanoke!

  10. BitterSweet says:

    Ginger and chocolate go so well together, I can only imagine how great these cookies must have been… Sounds like a perfect recipe to save for holiday cookie platters, too!

  11. shellyfish says:

    Well, I love chocolate chip cookies, and I love ginger cookies…so I’m thinking these will be right up my alley!

  12. Sal says:

    those cookies sound great, i love the combination of chocolate and ginger!

  13. Virginia says:

    ginger and chocolate…i never thought of that combo before but i think chocolate goes with anything!

Leave a Reply

