Easy-Peasy Pot Pie

Going to a top-tier research school in the US has a few perks, especially when said medical-biological-anthropological-scienceological-school supports arts and humanities. Take for instance tonight’s entertainment: a free full-dress rehearsal of Philip Glass’ Akhnaten, performed by the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra and various crazy-awesome opera singers.

Fewer than twenty productions of thi s rare work, which premiered in 1984, have been presented worldwide. The opera follows the rise and fall of the man many scholars believe to be King Tutankhamun’s father, the ancient pharaoh Akhnaten (Amenhotep IV).

Celebrating its 25 th anniversary, “Akhnaten” remains a singular and daring production sung in four languages: ancient Hebrew, Akkadian (from Babylonia), English and ancient Egyptian (derived from hieroglyphs).

Pretty cool, no?  The performance was stunning, to say the least.  And even though it was  dress rehersal, everyone was in costume and there were very few glitches.  I’ve listened to the score several times, and loved it (Philip Glass is my all-time-hands-down favorite composer), so you can imagine how unbelievable it was to hear it live, resounding in the gorgeous acoustics of the Schwartz Center.

And in other rad news, I just heard that I’m a finalist for a state-wide writing competition.  The winner isn’t announced until late March, but I have a decent chance!

Lazy Day Pot Pie

As for the recipe, I’m going to keep it rather short.  Pot pie.  Yes, I’ve posted pot pie recipes before, but let me introduce you to the 15 minute easy-peasy pot pie.  Make one recipe of biscuits (I used VwaV’s baking powder biscuit recipe) and one recipe of pot pie filling (I used Choose Veg’s).  Add whatever veggies you feel like (peas, carrots, mushrooms, and rehydrated Soy Curls, in this case).  Ladle the pot pie filling on top of a halved biscuit and enjoy!

::Edit:: Ricki over at Diet, Dessert, Dogs, a blog you should really check out if you aren’t obsessed with already, is hosting a fun give-away in honor of the inauguration (even though she’s Canadian, hooray for great neighbors!): Yes We Candy!  You can win some absolutely mouthwatering-looking Ritter Sport still-vegan peppermint chocolates if you live in the U.S. or Canada, BUT if you live in Toronto you can win homemade baked goodness straight from her kitchen!  How yum is that?  For all of the Torontans out there, let me know how delicious it is!  I’m jealous.  (smile)  So go check it out!

Comments
16 Responses to “Easy-Peasy Pot Pie”
  1. DaviMack says:

    No WAY are you going to mock MY pot-pie and then come in with one of your own, but with no strange ingredients! 😉

  2. DaviMack says:

    And congrats on the writing thing, too – although I keep looking at the forlorn Writing The Water site, and wondering….

  3. Lindsay says:

    Wow this looks incredible!

  4. TadMack says:

    Mmm, biscuit on the bottom. That’s lovely, too! Flag-waving congratulations on being a finalist in the writing thingy! That’s really splendid!

  5. Virginia says:

    congrats on being a finalist! that’s a great idea for a quick pot pie!

  6. VeggieGirl says:

    FABULOUS!! Both on being a finalist and about that pot pie 😀

  7. Ricki says:

    My HH is a HUGE fan of Glass, so I must tell him about this (if he doesn’t know already). And CONGRATS on being a finalist!! Wish I could vote for you, too :).

    The pot pie looks yummy. I love pot pies but am usually too lazy to make pastry, so this sounds absolutely perfect for me.

    And thanks for the shout-out re: the contest! Wish I could send cookies your way!

  8. allularpunk says:

    how totally rad! that performance sounds amazing, you’re so lucky to have gotten to see it. also, congrats on being a finalist! that’s so exciting…

    pot pie is amazing too. yummmmmm.

  9. shellyfish says:

    How cool for you! I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you! Oh, and I love pot pie!!

  10. jessy says:

    hooray for tasty & quick pot pie! how come i never think of stuff like this!? brilliant! i’m gonna have to give it a whirl!

    totally jealousfaced that you got to see a free dress rehearsal of “Akhnaten” – that’s just too cool! and i just came from Ricki’s blog – so funny that you mentioned her super fun giveaway. i’m totally keeping my fingers crossed for the candy!

    congrats on being a finalist, too! that’s pretty bad ass, if ya don’t mind me say’n! superw00t!

  11. Tara says:

    Congratulations on being a finalist!! That pot pie looks tasty, and you’re so lucky to get to attend performances like that!

  12. Vegyogini says:

    Congratulations on your finalist status! Fingers crossed! Thanks for the great pot pie idea, too. 🙂

  13. Meg says:

    Oh, excellent–now I know what to make for dinner tonight. And congrats on the writing kudos!

  14. Celine says:

    you’ve got a lot of fingers crossed for you on that writing thing, and you can definitely add mine to the group.

  15. Huh, I could have sworn I had already commented on this post.

    We do this easy-peasy pot pie style thing about once a week, but it never looks as darn good and appetizing as yours!

    I’m glad you’re enjoying the English Muffiny Stove Top things! I’ve been making them often too, sometimes on the sauté pan and sometimes on a cast iron pan. The cast iron pan ones are way better, too bad we can’t bring one on the road (too heavy and bulky!)

  16. OMG how could I forget – best of luck with the writing competition!! You are an awesome writer, Jes!

Leave a Reply

