New Year's Brunch

Confession: I didn’t eat black eyed peas and collards yesterday.  (And my 1st picture of 2009 is blurry.  Drat.)  But I did have a damn good brunch!  I spent New Year’s Eve in Birmingham with the poet’s family (let me just say, wow, it was an interesting night in a weird southern town–I’m a city girl, I’ll admit) and on New Year’s morning (err…noonish) we cooked up a big family brunch.  The menu included eggs and grits and bacon, but I whipped up some vegan french toast (baked, not fried), hashbrowns, and soysage.  All-in-all, a great way to greet the New Year!  2009…I think I’m ready for you?

I’m going to post a Boston round-up next, so hold your hats for that!

Comments
17 Responses to “New Year's Brunch”
  1. VeggieGirl says:

    Confession: I didn’t either 😀

    Lovely celebration brunch!! Happy New Year!!

  2. Vegan_Noodle says:

    I’m going to eat my BEPs tomorrow.. hope that’s good enough.
    Your brunch looks delicious! A perfect start to the new year.

  3. gail says:

    Happy New Year!

  4. Leigh says:

    Happy New Year Jes! I like french toast better than black eyed peas, anyway.

  5. JessieG says:

    Looks like a great way to bring in the New Year!

  6. Hey, we didn’t do black eyed peas either! Who needs them anyway, bring on the hashbrowns instead!

  7. bex says:

    What a delicious looking brunch! Happy New Year!

  8. jessy says:

    i didn’t eat black eyed peas and collards yesterday either! it’s alllll good! your brunch looks like a damn fine way to bring in the new year! delicious!

    happy new year! and i can’t wait for the boston post! excitedface!

  9. BitterSweet says:

    Black eyed peas or not, that sounds like a delicious way to ring in the new year! 🙂

  10. allularpunk says:

    yummy brunch! good job on surviving family visits – i know those can be hard. my boy and his sister are super close and it’s hard to be the new girl on the block, yeah? you’ve had an eventful year, and it sounds like 2009 will be super awesome!

  11. Liz² says:

    blurry maybe, but delicious looking 110%! I love the idea of a new years brunch, that sounds so gosh-darned lovely I have to try it next year I think. 🙂

  12. Celine says:

    my hat is ready, waiting for the Boston round-up.

  13. shellyfish says:

    My mouth is just watering!! Brunchie foods are amongst my very favourites ever! Next time I’m heading to your place post-fête!

  14. Meg says:

    Happy new year, Jes! Thanks for all your bloggy support–it’s nice getting to know you and I’m excited to continue this coming year.

  15. Uh oh, no black-eyed peas? You’re doomed now!

    Just kidding, I’ve never had those on New Years and I’m still fine. The baked French toast looks delicious — what a great way to start the new year in a way that’s both healthy and yummy!

  16. Mihl says:

    Although the picture is a bit blurry, the brunch still looks great. I am sure first blurry pictures of a new year bring lots of luck!

  17. Sal says:

    french toast and hash browns – yum. I could totally do with that right now.

Leave a Reply

