Step Three: Soup!

How the heck is Christmas next week?  I’m flying to Boston (anyone have good vegan restaurant suggestions?) on Thursday, and somehow I have to be ready for everything by then!  Time flies a bit too fast for my taste.

Oh, and since I’m out of town for the holiday, my mom gave me my Christmas gift last night–a Black & Decker vacuum cleaner!  Yippee!!!  (No, seriously, it’s all I asked for this year–a vacuum cleaner, any vacuum cleaner).  Cats are messy bedfellows.  Well, dirty, at least.

And now the part you’ve all been waiting for, the soup recipe!  I mentioned in the first post that the recipe is from Leite’s Culinaria, so you can link over to the original site to view the recipe as well.  The soup is extremely easy to make and 100% satisfying.  I was unsure about pureeing the vegan sausages since I figured they wouldn’t add that much flavor to the soup, but I think they did give the broth a bit of a kick.  As for the kale, you can substitute collards or some other leafy green vegetable.  You could also make the soup sans sausage–it would just be a potato-kale soup then, and that’d be quite lovely too, I think!  Oh, and I browned the garnish sausage dice in a bit of olive oil to give the sausage more texture.  While I love the steaming method, the sausage isn’t texturally perfect for eating on its own.

Caldo Verde

1/4 cup olive oil
1 large onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
4 vegan chouriços, diced
6 medium potatoes, peeled and diced
8 cups vegetable broth
1 pound kale, cut into very fine julienne
Salt and pepper to taste

In a large pot, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onions and cook until they are translucent. Add the garlic and half the chouriço and cook for 2 minutes. Add the potatoes, cover everything with the water, bring to a boil and lower the heat, simmering until the potatoes are almost done, about 15 minutes.

When the soup is cool enough to handle, purée it in the food processor and return to the pot. Add the greens, bring everything back to a boil and simmer for 2 minutes. Season with salt and pepper, ladle into bowls and garnish with the remaining cubes of chouriço.

Comments
17 Responses to “Step Three: Soup!”
  1. VeggieGirl says:

    Amazingly-delicious soup – love spice!!

    **GO HERE IN BOSTON!!!! PLEASE!!!!

    http://www.grezzorestaurant.com/

  2. VeggieGirl says:

    It says that my comment is awaiting moderation, since I included a link to the restaurant – hope you got it!!

  3. allularpunk says:

    this looks SO GOOD! every component of this meal has had me drooling. seriously. i can’t wait to make it all! grocery store tonight, yay!

  4. mihl says:

    This soup is all I need right now. Yum!

  5. BitterSweet says:

    I can’t say I know too much about the restaurant scene in Boston, but I do know you MUST go to Wheeler’s (ice cream parlor)!

  6. leighcifer says:

    We had a really great Thai meal in Boston at a place called My Thai: http://www.mythaivegancafe.com

    Also, check out this site for more Boston food:
    http://www.veganboston.com/eateries.htm

  7. abracapocus says:

    i second the my thai suggestion….yummy! sadly, i can’t remember the name of the coffee shop that had a variety of tofu schmears for their bagels.

  8. sophia says:

    really good vegan pizza at tj scallywaggles: http://www.scallywaggles.com/

  9. Oh it’s so cold here and this soup looks so warming!

    Congrats on the vacuum cleaner! Take that hairy cats!

    Thank you for such nice comment on my blog, you’re so sweet! 🙂

  10. shellyfish says:

    And finally – the soup! Yum! I’ve never been to Boston, but I’m looking forward to a little write up when you get back!

  11. Amanda says:

    Yay! You’re coming to my neck of the woods. Here’s a link to some veggie restaurants in Boston/Cambridge:
    http://www.bostonveg.org/restaurants/

    I haven’t been to My Thai but I heard it’s great..Grasshopper is good..can be a tad greasy depending on what I’ve ordered.
    Veggie Planet in Harvard Square is fun.
    I’ve heard mixed things about Grezzo.

    And I second the comment about going to Wheeler’s..great ice cream!

    It was 61 degrees yesterday but it’s gonna be cold for the next few days so bundle up! Have a great flight!

  12. Amanda says:

    I almost forgot that Fiore’s bakery has vegan treats too (they are a standard bakery with lots of vegan stuff)..and if you get out to Davis Square, Diesel Cafe is a great place to go, again, not vegan but it has some great vegan options. I hope you have a great time in Beantown!
    http://vegchic2.blogspot.com/2008/08/fiores-bakery.html

  13. jessy says:

    i’ve never been to Boston so i’m not too sure where all the awesome veg places are! but have fun!

    also, that soup – OMG! awesome! it sounds amazing and looks sooooo super stellar! hot damn!

  14. Lauren says:

    Definitely stop by my lovely place of employment near Symphony Hall, Wheeler’s Cafe. We have vegan ice cream all over the place as well as sanwiches, salads and tea.

    http://wheelersblacklabelveganicecream.blogspot.com/

  15. Miss Marie says:

    I am SOOOOO excited to try this. It reminds me of Italian Wedding soup.

  16. NAOmni says:

    I just came across your blog and it seems really great! I’m super jealous about the Boston visiting. My boyfriend is up there and I’m moving there in May/June and I’m always jealous of of other people visiting the city. It’s amazing isn’t it?

    NAOmni

  17. NAOmni says:

    Additionally…soup looks great. I linked to you on my blog in order to highlight the kale in it. I hope it’s okay I took the pic, but let me know if it’s not!

    NAOmni

Leave a Reply

